We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
167
31
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
31
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle island khwai river tauck tour game drives wild dogs unfenced camp travel arrangements huge closet various types private game air conditioning luxury hotel elephant dung classic safari dining area amazing location safari experience
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 209 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

We visited Khwai River Lodge for 4 days in July. What a wonderful experience! The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The food was five star. A special mention, Richard our guide, made our stay even more wonderful with his knowledge of the wildlife and plantlife and he went out of his way to show us and find us all the wildlife we wanted to see. We can really recommend a visit to the lodge and ask for Richard to be your guide.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ocean723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015

Every year or so I plan a father/daughter trip… this year’s destination was Africa. We had the pleasure of staying at Khwai River Lodge, which is located within Chobe National Park and borders with Moremi National Game Reserve. The lodge will blow you away… There are about a dozen “tent” suites at the lodge, and while they are in fact tents, they are huge and spacious timbered and vaulted and thatched roofs… the suites are very luxurious with hardwood floors, canopy netted beds, sitting area, in-suite dual vanity bathroom, shower, closet and huge porch overlooking a channel and the game reserve… I can assure you, you lack for nothing.

For breakfast, lunch and dinner enjoy the stunning views in a two story timbered dinning and sitting areas complete with bar and every amenity you can imagine, or enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail by the open fire pit. And the food, simply outstanding. But the real gem of Khwai are its people… the staff, who exhaust themselves to look after you, provide unparalleled service and make you feel welcome… Thank you Magda, Natie, Lolly and the entire five-star staff.

The game drives are amazing, abundant wildlife, stunning scenery and experiences that I will share and remember with my daughter for years to come (and the 3,000 pictures we took will help too). Lions, leopards, elephants, hyenas, zebras, buffalo, giraffes…were abundant and there wasn’t much that we missed… And of course the evening pre-return stop in the game reserve enjoying cocktails and hors-d’oeuvres served off the Land Cruiser and allowing us to enjoy the scenery and the moment… Just memorable. And then there was the helicopter safari, WOW… what an experience that was.

This is truly a remarkable place and one that will provide a memorable experience that will not be soon forgotten.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

Fabulous lodge with fabulous staff and great views with Hippos wallowing in the river beside the lodge and elephants grazing right outside the balcony. the guides were excellent in observing and educating us on everything from flowers and grasses to termites and lions. Food was great and service was excellent - really enjoyed the staff singing an African welcome!

Room tip: All lodges have views across the river providing great opportunities for animal viewing.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandra_pressley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2015

We recently stayed at the lodge for four nights with a group doing a photographic safari. Being fussy photographers, we had special needs like waking up earlier than normal to get the sunrise shots, staying out longer than usual etc and I need to say that the staff at the lodge were amazingly accommodating. Every aspect of our trip was a delight from the food to the great wines, teas and evening surprise at the Boma.

Room tip: All the rooms look over the river so each one is special!
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HelenIainG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2015

This hotel is absolutely fantastic, starting from the very nice managers to the kind employees. We had the most incredible experience in our lives thanks to Belmond Safari. Food and the delicious wines also added value to the great stay we has. Also the game drives and helicopter tour was amazing. Thanks for everything Magda, Natie and Rock!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews