We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Game, Great Lodge, Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Game, Great Lodge, Fantastic Location”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

enjoyed my stay here! the staff are friendly especial Tsebo. food is lovely and the surrounding is fantastic - elephants are practically hanging out at our balconies. Love the night campfire which is perfect for stargazing. The game drive are superb with excellently maintained vehicles. I especially enjoyed Sello, my guide. His knowledge is impeccable and he is also extremely witty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
78
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I visit Game Lodges in SA and Africa three or four times a year. Khwai is by far the best. From the superior service, food and tents it excels in every way. The couple who run this lodge, Charlotte and Isbjorn should write a book on customer service as they combine faultless service without being intrusive. Our 25th Wedding anniversary was celebrated with candlelit meals, Champagne and not least, a pack of wild dogs and their puppies. We were privileged to have Onx as our guide who is a gentle giant who knows the bush intimately. Our game viewing experience over four days was amazing. Wild Dogs, Hyena puppies, Leopards and a cub, Lions chowing a Buffalo and so many birds to numerous to mention. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: The honeymoon tent is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

After spending 2 weeks in South Africa, Zambia, and Botswana, this lodge was by far my favorite! On our first game drive, we saw an active den of wild dogs, then a family of three leopards (who left their impala kill in the tree to walk around our vehicle), and finally a male lion marking his territory at night! Our guides were incredible at finding and explaining the wildlife, and the staff at the hotel were friendly, learning our names quickly and singing for us on at least three separate occasions.

One afternoon after lunch, I tried to catch up on my journaling while sitting in the hammock on my tent porch. But I was unable to do so because of the parade of animals just across the river--at least 8 elephants, 20 hippos, and two types of antelopes kept me busy watching instead. The elephants waded into the water and began crossing over to our side, so we headed to the dining area, but what an incredible afternoon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a jewel overlooking the Khwai River which has hippos, birds, elephants, antelopes, and many other animals which can be admired from the porch of your tented room or the main deck of the lodge. The stars cover the sky, and planets and nebula can be seen through the telescope. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. The meals are delicious and exciting. The game drives are thrilling, and we saw wild dogs, leopards, lions, elephants, various types of birds, and many many more animals. Celo, Moses, Ness, and Richard are excellent and knowledgeable guides. Charlotte and Ish do a fabulous job of running the camp and making one's stay a memorable experience. The lodge is a jewel of Africa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our stay at the Khwai River Lodge could not have been better. The "tents" are roomy and extremely comfortable with spectacular views of the river and it's wildlife. The game drives are each an adventure of their own never knowing what you will see and NEVER being disappointed in what appears. Don't miss doing a "night game drive". The stars are beyond belief and the wildlife seen at night rivals everything viewed in daylight. Wonderful. And if you are there on a Wednesday evening, the traditional Boma barbeque dinner is a special treat with entertainment provided by the very talented staff. An added note: As a Type 1 diabetic, lodge staff were most understanding of my dietary requirements being sure at every meal there were selections compatible with my diet and always having boxed fruit juice and fresh fruit on hand (including on game drives) should I need it for treating hypoglycemia. A very special place operated by Charlotte and her team of knowledgeable, talented and hospitable personnel. They all make you feel like a member of the Khwai River Lodge family. Truly Wonderful. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstuteTraveler33040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place is terrific. Rooms, food, personnel, game-drives, guides...........all were wonderful. This placeand the people here was the highlight of our trip to Africa. Highly, highly recommended!! Be sure to take a good camera with a telephoto lens and a pair of binoculars. Only saw one mosquito in mid-May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillDiane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place has ideal location, ideal facilities, wonderful guides, great tea time. Sitting on the front porch of my personal home away from home and watching about 15 elephants drink (including 3 babies) was a highlight. I highly recomment this place to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kseggert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
16.1 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
59.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
29.2 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
#17 of 44 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Khwai River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Khwai River Lodge

Property: Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Address: | Moremi Wildlife Reserve, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Khwai River Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sink into time-honoured indulgence as you overlook the vibrant floodplains and dramatic big game of the Moremi Wildlife Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond so you can book your Belmond Khwai River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khwai River Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing