We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful memories of a special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful memories of a special place”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I dont think we'll ever be able to top this as our first safari experience. I cannot rate Khwai river lodge highly enough. From the beautiful surroundings, luxurious accommodation, wonderful, happy staff and knowledgeable guides - it doesnt get much better than this.
The safari lodge is situated on the banks of the river and everyday there is some sort of wildlife basking, eating, or drinking in the river. I came here to celebrate my mum's special birthday with my brother and on the day of her birthday we saw a leopard in the distance whilst having breakfast and we also had a wild elephant come and have a wonder round the camp whilst having afternoon tea! Whilst we are on the subject of food, can I just say that i've put on half a stone thanks to the wonderful meals and abundance of food at Khwai. My brother and I have decided that afternoon tea was our favourite meal of the day.
Our guide Johnson was full of knowledge, experience and wonderful stories and everyday we saw so much wildlife. The staff at Khwai are what make your stay extra special. Thank you everyone, we left very sad leaving a part of our heart with you all, with guaranteed promises to return to Botswana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickledonion81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
78
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at at Khwai River Lodge in January 2012.

We stayed at all the 3 Orient express camps in Botswana.

When we arrived at the camp we were greeted by the entire staff led my the manager Jeff. He was totally in control of the resort and we knew we were in great hands. This ended up being the case whilst we stayed there and he really knew how to run a game resort.

We had booked the luxury tent with own private plunge pool. The tent set up was incredible and felt like we were just at a 5 star resort but with a view to die for. Not many people can sit on their private balcony and look at hippo's grazing nearby.

The restaurant was incredible and the food was amazing and nothing was a problem for the staff.

Our guide Moses was the best we experienced, he was passionate about what he was doing and we always felt safe. It was pretty full on at times but all under control in the hands of Moses.

I have to make mention about Tsebo who was the manager in training and he has a massive future with Orient Express. Great attention to customer needs and never let us down.

Just an unforgettable stay in an amazing location and if Africa is on your bucket list to view game, Botswana is the place to do it. Definitely look at the Orient Express options.

Room Tip: Tent with private plunge pool was great and don't worry about going in off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We combined this with two camps on Chief's Island in the Okavango. The setting on a true river provided a nice contrast. Best hippo viewing in my many years of Botswana travel. Camp is fine, really liked the heated tents on cold mornings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had first been to this camp fourteen years ago before it was purchased by orient express. We loved the location so wanted to go back to check it out. It did not disappoint. The facility is fabulous as is the warm welcoming staff. The location outside of Moremi gives the guides a lot flexibility in game drives. We had a fabulous guide and so a large variety of game. Would go back in a second!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kqbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Having stayed at the other two Orient Express camps this one was dissapointing. We felt rushed, being told dinner will be served at 7 when one returns from a drive at 18.50. This happened twice in three days.

There seems to be no management structure to ensure the needs of guests were accommodated.

In fact we can say we felt un-welcome at 9 pm and ll the sfatt chatting and making us feel we should not be in the public areas where wifi is only available.

I understand the logistics but only offering Chenin Blanc as a white wine option is not good enough for a five star stay. All other camps offered a choice as you would expect.

We must say we had a fantastic guide, Sello knew his stuff. Great game and beautiful location.

Room Tip: Fortunately we were moved from room 8 as it was quite noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SotoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a 2 nights stay in this camp based on a 6 nights trip in the Okavango Delta, all in Orient Express camps.
Our experience in this camp was outstanding. The tranquility of the place, the very profund guides, excellent food and very very friendly staff.
The one's expecting all on a NYC level in the middle of the Okavango Delta will be disapointed, but these people should not go to any such place.
We experienced great game drives: Elephants, Leopard (chasing), Lions, Zebras, Giraffs, Hypos etc etc. Sitting in an open Land Rover 3m next to Lions for 20 minutes at dawn, Leopards crossing the way 5m ahead of the car …
We could also watch a Leopard walking around and see all the othe animals in panic, even the Elephant didn’t like the Leopard around and trometed and moved a cloud of dust against the predator. Very impressive.
Extra: we went out to the airfield (almost flat horizon) to watch the Southern Sky at a moonless night, totally black sky with the Southern milkyway and the Magellan clouds, planets etc, a great experience. No charge at all, we just compensated by an extra trip. The guide was also experienced in Astronomy!
We had our villa almost at the very end of the compound, which made it totally quiet: just the sound of the nature from your personal deck.
Moskitos are there, but with the normal care with long sleeves and trousers plus some repellent this is not an issue at all.
Summary: we strongly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airman_blue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a wonderful place to experience wildlife either right outside your room or on morning and evening safaris. Every comfort is provided, even a wake up tray of tea, coffee and fresh-baked muffin before the early morning excursion. The staff are very friendly and the level of service amazing. The guides are very skilled at finding the animals and know their behaviour and habits so that any risk is minimised. They give you a break on safari at just the right time: either with morning tea or very welcome drinks at sunset. There is nothing to match the experience of lounging in a hammock on your deck or having a refreshing dip in the pool while watching elephants and hippos doing their thing only a hundred metres away - magic! One of the most appealing things about it is the lack of commercialism, it all feels very natural.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 8 are closer to the river and the more active wildlife. We could hear lions roaring at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeddyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
16.1 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
45 reviews
59.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
213 reviews
25.8 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
222 reviews
66.3 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
220 reviews
29.2 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Khwai River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Khwai River Lodge

Property: Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Address: | Moremi Wildlife Reserve, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Khwai River Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sink into time-honoured indulgence as you overlook the vibrant floodplains and dramatic big game of the Moremi Wildlife Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond so you can book your Belmond Khwai River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khwai River Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing