We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, of course, but lacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sotogrande, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful, of course, but lacking.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Having stayed at the other two Orient Express camps this one was dissapointing. We felt rushed, being told dinner will be served at 7 when one returns from a drive at 18.50. This happened twice in three days.

There seems to be no management structure to ensure the needs of guests were accommodated.

In fact we can say we felt un-welcome at 9 pm and ll the sfatt chatting and making us feel we should not be in the public areas where wifi is only available.

I understand the logistics but only offering Chenin Blanc as a white wine option is not good enough for a five star stay. All other camps offered a choice as you would expect.

We must say we had a fantastic guide, Sello knew his stuff. Great game and beautiful location.

Room Tip: Fortunately we were moved from room 8 as it was quite noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SotoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    22
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
81
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a 2 nights stay in this camp based on a 6 nights trip in the Okavango Delta, all in Orient Express camps.
Our experience in this camp was outstanding. The tranquility of the place, the very profund guides, excellent food and very very friendly staff.
The one's expecting all on a NYC level in the middle of the Okavango Delta will be disapointed, but these people should not go to any such place.
We experienced great game drives: Elephants, Leopard (chasing), Lions, Zebras, Giraffs, Hypos etc etc. Sitting in an open Land Rover 3m next to Lions for 20 minutes at dawn, Leopards crossing the way 5m ahead of the car …
We could also watch a Leopard walking around and see all the othe animals in panic, even the Elephant didn’t like the Leopard around and trometed and moved a cloud of dust against the predator. Very impressive.
Extra: we went out to the airfield (almost flat horizon) to watch the Southern Sky at a moonless night, totally black sky with the Southern milkyway and the Magellan clouds, planets etc, a great experience. No charge at all, we just compensated by an extra trip. The guide was also experienced in Astronomy!
We had our villa almost at the very end of the compound, which made it totally quiet: just the sound of the nature from your personal deck.
Moskitos are there, but with the normal care with long sleeves and trousers plus some repellent this is not an issue at all.
Summary: we strongly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airman_blue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a wonderful place to experience wildlife either right outside your room or on morning and evening safaris. Every comfort is provided, even a wake up tray of tea, coffee and fresh-baked muffin before the early morning excursion. The staff are very friendly and the level of service amazing. The guides are very skilled at finding the animals and know their behaviour and habits so that any risk is minimised. They give you a break on safari at just the right time: either with morning tea or very welcome drinks at sunset. There is nothing to match the experience of lounging in a hammock on your deck or having a refreshing dip in the pool while watching elephants and hippos doing their thing only a hundred metres away - magic! One of the most appealing things about it is the lack of commercialism, it all feels very natural.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 8 are closer to the river and the more active wildlife. We could hear lions roaring at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeddyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Start to finish this was an amazing experience! Their staff are incredible - attentive, friendly, knew us and addressed us by name from the first moment - really just a top knotch experience. Our Guide, Leopard, was fantastic as well! He was so knowledgeable about the various areas to look for animals and we saw SO many! Elephants, Hippos, Giraffe, Wildabeast, Hyena, Lion, Leopard, Zebra, and the list goes on - really was incredible to see all of that in the span of 3 days. Rooms were super comfortable, great AC in the hot evenings, fantastic deck on each to enjoy the view and relax, the pool was great for relaxing as well. Overall a great experience and I will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nextadventure08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The accommodation in this resort is very good.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and nicely furnished.
we had a fantastic experience the day of our arrival while we
were out on Safari. We had drinks down at the waterhole
and there were a hundred elephants and hippos going in and
out of the water. A truly amazing experience. I would like to
thank the staff for a memorable experience and in particular
our guide Johnson.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

the best place in which I was so far...
hard to imagine what you can still ask for more.
The unique atmosphere
comfortable conditions
perfect service

just WOW

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at all three of the Orient Express Camps and this one was the most beautiful. We had the suite and I would highly recommend it! The outdoor shower and plunge pool were so relaxing. It's hard to describe the view from the front porch. There is a constant parade of animals - baby elephants with their mothers, hippos, crocodiles, impalas - the list is endless and the view changes by the moment. It was beautiful. I do have to say that the food, while plentiful, was not outstanding, especially not for dinner. It's totally fine, just not great. However, you're in the bush and "great" may not be possible when you're this far from civilization. I'm mentioning this not as a true complaint but just to let others know that it was not really gourmet food.

One other tip for the women - take a sports bra! This was mentioned in our travel materials and I didn't understand why it was. Take my advice - it is highly recommended. You will spend 6 hours bumping along a dirt road. It's the equivalent to a 6 hour jog every day. In fact, it is incredibly bumpy - almost at times like a Disney ride. Our guide was terrific - we saw leopards and lions every day and got incredibly close to the animals - but he really flew along those roads. It was fun but you will be jostled around!

Overall, I couldn't recommend this property more strongly. We spent our 30th wedding anniversary there and the staff served us a private dinner on our porch. It couldn't have been more memorable.

Room Tip: Get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kippergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
16.1 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
46 reviews
59.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
223 reviews
25.8 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.3 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
29.2 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
83 reviews
62.9 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Khwai River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Khwai River Lodge

Property: Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Address: | Moremi Wildlife Reserve, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Khwai River Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sink into time-honoured indulgence as you overlook the vibrant floodplains and dramatic big game of the Moremi Wildlife Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond so you can book your Belmond Khwai River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khwai River Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing