We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic Botswana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Magic Botswana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The accommodation in this resort is very good.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and nicely furnished.
we had a fantastic experience the day of our arrival while we
were out on Safari. We had drinks down at the waterhole
and there were a hundred elephants and hippos going in and
out of the water. A truly amazing experience. I would like to
thank the staff for a memorable experience and in particular
our guide Johnson.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
78
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

the best place in which I was so far...
hard to imagine what you can still ask for more.
The unique atmosphere
comfortable conditions
perfect service

just WOW

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at all three of the Orient Express Camps and this one was the most beautiful. We had the suite and I would highly recommend it! The outdoor shower and plunge pool were so relaxing. It's hard to describe the view from the front porch. There is a constant parade of animals - baby elephants with their mothers, hippos, crocodiles, impalas - the list is endless and the view changes by the moment. It was beautiful. I do have to say that the food, while plentiful, was not outstanding, especially not for dinner. It's totally fine, just not great. However, you're in the bush and "great" may not be possible when you're this far from civilization. I'm mentioning this not as a true complaint but just to let others know that it was not really gourmet food.

One other tip for the women - take a sports bra! This was mentioned in our travel materials and I didn't understand why it was. Take my advice - it is highly recommended. You will spend 6 hours bumping along a dirt road. It's the equivalent to a 6 hour jog every day. In fact, it is incredibly bumpy - almost at times like a Disney ride. Our guide was terrific - we saw leopards and lions every day and got incredibly close to the animals - but he really flew along those roads. It was fun but you will be jostled around!

Overall, I couldn't recommend this property more strongly. We spent our 30th wedding anniversary there and the staff served us a private dinner on our porch. It couldn't have been more memorable.

Room Tip: Get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kippergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

At Khwai River Camp safari we saw over 200 elephants with Babies of all sizes come to the delta from the bush. even our guide was awed by the sight. It was the third most wonderful experience I had on safari in africa. Our guides at all camps were great, informative, well=- educated and interested in our having the best experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

From arrival to departure this was a fabulous experience. Our driver, Johnson, was with us the whole trip and was an excellent tracker, willing to go off-road as needed to find game. The setting on the Khwai River was a front row seat to elephants, hippos, and eagles. On elephant was leaning against our porch one afternoon. Our "tent" was luxurious with AC, twin sinks, indoor and outdoor shower, minibar, robes, flannel-lined ponchos (for cool morning drives). And amazingly--no bugs. The food was good--the breakfast and lunch better than most dinners. The entire experience was enhanced by very friendly and competant staff and managers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J-ZiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We had 26 in our group and this was the first stop after two nights at The Westcliff in Joburg. Khwai is absolutely terrific in every way and the guides are excellent. We saw countless animals on the game rides and got great photos. We had the suite and, as previously mentioned, it is quite a hike out to #1. But the extra amenities were super; loved the outdoor tub and the views from the deck of elephants and hippos were lovely. Be sure to schedule a spa treatment on your deck as it's a real treat and Lebo (Lemo?) is outstanding. Hippos munched away at night with lots of noise next to the deck and one night coming back from dinner, escorted of course, we had an ellie in camp right by all of our decks! A truly joyous stay for all of us with that superb O-E service and smiles.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecruiseladySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
328 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed at all three lodges owned and run by the Orient Express but this, the largest, was the best in that it had the biggest dining facilities and a lovely outdoor verandah for evening dining. Our welcome was friendly and informative and we were immediately introduced to our guide, Leopard, who took care of us by bringing us drinks, carrying our luggage etc as well as being our guide on game drives. We weren't allowed to walk to and from our rooms when it was dark as the hippos (which could be heard snorting away at night) could be troublesome and dangerous! The room was beautiful - large for a safari 'tent' (I've had luxury hotel rooms smaller!) well equipped and with a large shower room and separate vanity units. We seem to have been fed about 8 meals a day and we were particularly keen on the traditional 'boma' where we were served crocodile meat, goat and other Botswana delicacies. Not the fault of the hotel - just luck - but the game drives didn't provide the variety of wildlife found in, say, Savuti - but were well organised and conducted.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
16.1 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
59.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
27.0 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
#22 of 44 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Khwai River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Khwai River Lodge

Property: Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Address: | Moremi Wildlife Reserve, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Khwai River Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sink into time-honoured indulgence as you overlook the vibrant floodplains and dramatic big game of the Moremi Wildlife Reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khwai River Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing