We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property..Our least favorite”
Review of Jao Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jao Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2010

This was our second trip to Botswana. This trip included...Little Makalolo, Camp Amalinda,in Zimbabwe and Jao, Zarafa and Mombo in Botswana. We discussed each camp with all of its characteristics and narrowed down more what we prefer. We preferred Xigera camp (Wilderness classic camp, less money) we visited two years ago. (same water experiences) for its casual friendly atmosphere. It would be our preference not to have a group check in, it felt a little like a group tour. The feel was not the same as you get from a Wilderness Safari owned camp. The room was very nice and the food was very good. The camp had a more formal feel to it without the details of service. I know many have commented on the beauty and the architecture is gorgeous. We preferred the elegant/casual feel of Zarafa more. It felt like some of the staff were ready for a change. I guess we felt it was our least favorite camp for the value. The fact it is a premier camp sets certain standards of service. This camp is more spread out and if you are sitting at the pool you have to walk and then go up stairs for a drink. The staff at the camp have to be on top of your location and then the drinks could be ordered from them. I am giving those details to compare the service of Mombo and Zafara compared to the service at Jao that we experienced. We would have preferred a classic camp and skip the high end in this case.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 121 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2010

Seriously, who could have any issues with Jao? Right from the plane ride in from Maun to our plane ride out it was over the top! Every day was better than the last. Even the elephant knocking out the water for hours in the middle of the day was handled quickly and efficiently. Besides, how many people can come home from a trip to tell their friends they were without water because an elephant had pulled out a pipe? The rooms were unbelievable, every detail was attended to, nothing was forgotten. We saw all the Big Five but the rhino (Don't have them in the Delta). To celebrate my son's 15 birthday, David, our guide, slept out on platform in the middle of the bush with my husband and son. What a way to celebrate!

Final advice. if you ever get the chance, don't hesitate to go! You will never forget it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv2vaca627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights,and loved every second.Food,staff,surroundings were all super.We had a wonderful guide called Cedric and he found so many animals and birds. Have stayed in other camps before ,but this is the best.
Hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I agree, with much enthusiasm, that Jao was an amazing experience. It is physically beautiful with hardwoods and natural stones. The suites are gorgeous, comfortabe and romantic. An outdoor shower has sweeping views of the sun setting over the delta. The ability of the staff to produce the amount and quality of food here is awesome! I must commend the management and staff for over the top service! Our guide, T.J. was outstanding and went out of her way to create memorable experiences for our group. Since it is surrounded by water, there is an abundance of hippo, birds, and elephants. A trip to Honda island proved fruitful when a mother leopard and 2 cubs were spotted on the ground. Later, the leopard stalked a wart hog for some time trying to decide whether or not to try for a kill. Lion and rhino seekers should, alas, seek dryer ground.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Very little wild life to see. we could not see even one Lion in three days. good for waching birds and relaxing. if you want to see big 5 of africa this is not your camp.
Very nice people , Very nice food. as i said its food safari. They feed you too much.
very loving hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ram_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

This was our first camp on our trip, and what a treasure it is! The staff is incredibly friendly, the food gourmet, and the rooms might be some of the most beautiful in Africa. Our guide, Chief, was the most knowledgeable guide of our trip. We celebrated our wedding anniversary while we were at this camp and had a candlelight dinner in a private "boma." Everything about this camp is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We arrived at Jao Camp in the Okavango Delta by helicopter which was fast, comfortable, and a complete surprise arranged by our travel agent Mia Schoeman
with go2africa in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary! Travelling by helicopter
gave us a different perspective of the landscape below and we were able to take photos of the delta as well as some elephants.
Our experienced and humorous guide, Maipaa, transferred us from the landing strip across a wooden bridge into Jao Camp, which was beautiful. Hidden in a lush, tropical setting
alongside the lagoons and streams of the flooded delta. We were greeted by Tara,
Daiz, Kim, Chris, and Cathy (the owner) who assisted us in getting oriented and adjusted to our new surroundings after leaving wonderful Chief's Camp.
Our quarters were large and tastefully decorated in an African/Balinese style.
Two showers (inside and out), a great bathtub, super-comfortable bed, inside/outside lounging area, sala (outdoor futon with a roof on our deck)--all very clean and crisp.
The first night we had a group boma (campfire) barbeque dinner with a variety of meats, vegetables, rice, beans, salads, potatos, breads and assorted beverages and spirits.
All of our meals at Jao were bountiful and delicious!
Maipaa took us on several waterbased (by boat) and land safaris and we saw many
wildlife that we had not previously seen; hippos, crocodiles, and one big python coiled alongside a stream waiting for prey. We also saw many lions and leopards. Vervet Monkeys and baboons are frequent visitors in the camp as well, but we felt safe and secure throughout our all-too-short 2-night stay.
For our anniversary Tara and Pearl had a private dinner set-up for us on the deck boma below the dining area,
and we enjoyed a delicious filet mignon meal with a wonderful white sparkling wine and
special mousse dessert. When we got back to our tent, we found a gift bottle of "Amurula", a cream liquor and a tin of chocolates prepared on site by the chefs--it was quite a wonderful surprise.
The entire staff at Jao Camp is entirely "tuned-in" to your needs, desires, and special requests. There are two small, but beautiful pools as well as a spa on site for R&R if you find the time to enjoy them. We were on the go most of the time because we didn't want to miss anything, although we did get to relax each afternoon for a while--it was our choice to keep up the pace and one evening Maipaa took us on a night game drive to show us wildlife that is mostly nocturnal--that was great!
All in all Jao Camp is a beautiful, well-maintained property located in the heart of the delta. We would definately return should the opportunity arise in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#1 of 71 in Okavango Delta
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#13 of 71 in Okavango Delta
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jao Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jao Camp

Address: Moremi Game Reserve Border, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jao Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and hidden Okavango Delta retreat.Located on a large island in the heart of the Okavango, Jao Camp’s individually handcrafted and luxurious tents look out onto the essence of the Delta – swathes of water, swaying reeds, leaping lechwe and dancing cranes. The main area is an elaborate two-storey wooden structure with lounge and dining area, two plunge pools, a library, curio shop and boma for dining under the stars, complemented by an excellent wine cellar. An award-winning spa and gym epitomise luxury in the most remote, scenically splendid setting.HighlightsJao’s position – amongst waterways and lagoons, yet close to dry Kalahari woodland – means you can enjoy both land and water experiences, depending on the time of year and the level of the waters that move ceaselessly through the area. Here, spectacular herds of red lechwe are followed by lion and leopard, while other game includes tsessebe, giraffe, elephant, hippo and crocodile, occasional sitatunga and regular spotted-necked otter. Experiences: Mokoro • Boating (seasonal) • Seasonal catch-and-release fishing • Day and night game drives • Seasonal hide for sleep-outs or game viewing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jao Camp Hotel Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing