We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise -exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2007

This was my first safari and Chiefs Camp exceeded any expectations. The Camp is well run by friendly, helpful staff. The location is superb, overlooking the flood plains, and on arrival I was greeted by a friendly elephant who came to munch on the jackelberry trees that shade the terrace - touching distance, what a welcome! The accomodation is excellent, with luxurious, comfortable, spacious 'tents' (you call that a tent? - a thatched cottage with canvas walls) that have all the facilities you need including both indoor & outdoor shower. At night you can lie in bed and listen to the animals - amazing, and you feel perfectly secure.
There is a small pool with sun loungers, and a pleasant terrace/lounge area to relax and maybe sip a drink between game drives. Breakfast, brunch and afternoon tea are in the dining terrace/loung area. Evening meals are at large communal tables either in the dining area or around the 'boma' (a sand pit with an open fire), so the atmosphere is very friendly. One evening the staff entertained us with african singing (it was a guest's birthday).
And you are pampered!: Wake up calls with a tray of tea/coffee & biscuits; staff see you off on game drives and greet you on return (after the evening drive they are waiting with a hot amarello (or two!)); hot water bottles on the truck seats for the early morning drives; electric blankets switched on when you return to yor room after dinner.
Did I mention the game drives? Fantastic!! We had an excellent driver/guide, Jonathan. High concentration of game, so animals at every turn and saw everything including the elusive Hippo. There are also mokoro (boat) trips from the camp during midday break periods.
I will definitely be on safari again, but only hope it can match this wonderful paradise

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PSLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2007

After reading about Chiefs Camp before our trip, we had high expectations for the first stop on our Botswana safari. Chiefs exceeded them. JB and Shara, the resident managers, were outstanding as hosts, and our "tents" were beautiful and well-equipped from a power strip for charging cameras, etc to the safes and mini-bar furnished with whatever we requested from the bar. Our group of four couples enjoyed every minute of our three night stay despite some of the coldest weather in recent memory in the Okavango Delta. Luckily, the Land Cruisers were equipped with hot water bottles and warm ponchos for the 7 AM game drive! The game viewing was amazing. A recently deceased giraffe brought three days of different scavengers - from male lions establising their territory to lionesses with their cubs, to hyenas and vultures. It was fascinating. We saw every possible animal except the elusive rhinos. Food was delicious and interesting and each game drive, we enjoyed a break with drinks we'd chosen and nice snacks. The shop has beautiful baskets made by Chiefs employees.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed at Chiefs Camp in March of 2007. When we arrived we were greeted by one of the managers Semma. We were given a tour of camp and went to our tent. The tent was nice and cozy. It was very spacious and was clean. The game drives were wonderful. We saw lots of the big groups of animals, excellent bird life, and a wonderful scenery. A nice thing they do is that they have cocktails in the bush at sunset. At night you have dinner with your tracker. They have a nice curio shop. Also they have a laptop you can use. This camp is very well managed. Staff was very nice and went out of their way to cater to us.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wrk1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2006

WOW, great game rides leopard, prides of lions, everything but a rhino.
The tents, if you can call them that were wonderful. Spacious, clean , 2 showers 1 in doors 1 outdoors, sitting area ,porch like I said what's not to love. Did I mention the pool!

The game rides exceeded expectations, as did the whole camp.

Other not not seeing a rhino , which was not the camps fault it was perfect, even internet access in the true middle of nowhere.
We got US election results as if we were in the states.

I'd like to go back for 1 more sundowner.
Cubs154

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cubs154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

This was our second safari in southern Africa, so my comparisons are few, but this was great trip. I hope this helps

Likes - Great game viewing; friendly office and foodservice staff; accomodating guides (Jonathan); very good food generally; big rooms; relaxing outdoor shower.

What could have been better - No walking / hiking allowed , even with an armed guide; no night drives; breakfast choices were sparse; wine selection just so-so, wakeup time was too early versus departure time for drives; lighting in the room was a bit dull for reading at night.

Safari is all about the game for us, and we got it all. We saw every animal you can imagine other than Rhinos. We watched the lions mating ritual several times. Tracked a cheetah stalking Impala. Saw a leopard and cub in a tree. Great birds. Herds of Buffalo annd hipo. You get the idea. We noticed the herds of giraffe and elephant to be smaller in number than the Sabi Sands area of South Africa and slightly more skittish.

Our guide Jonathan was very conscientious to ensure that we got close to the cats when we could, and he was sure to ask if we had captured the photos we wanted, etc. before driving off. He was very knowledgeable abut the flora and fauna, so we expanded our universe of knowledge too. The Mokoro guides were also knowledgable and were sure to point out the smallest interesting details that me would have missed on our own.

Every evening, the staff remembered what we liked for Sundownders and pre-dinner drinks at the bar. Little things added up.

Was it a good value? If you can get a spot, just go. It's spendy alright, and that's why I felt we were a little short changed on the breakfast and the wine, but everything else was a great relative value.

A comparison to the safari we took to the Sabi Sands area, South Africa:
1) Game viewing - Even. More or less equal game viewing, but far more birds at Chief's. The herds were generally less skittish at Sabi, and we went off road for anything , allowing us to get closer to animals more often. (is this good or bad for the animals? I'm not so sure)

2) Landscape - Edge to Chief's. The Sabi Sands area in October is dry, rolling Hills with brush and grass, while Botswana in October was more lush with much more water , flat, with dense grass, palms, and sausage trees.

3) Accomodations - Big edge to Sabi Sands trip( not really fair due to the "no permanent fixture" rule inBotswana) The rooms on our Sabi Sands trip had better sitting areas and individual plunge pools,

4) Food - Edge to Sabi. Better food, far better wine, but remember Sabi is more expensive, so perhaps you pay for what you get!

Agin - Both of these trips were great, so just go if you can get a spot!

Feel free to post a question. Cheers.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arnold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Don't fool yourself. It is hard travelling to get to this place, but Chief's Camp delivers.

From the deck of my bedroom and the main sitting area, I saw baby baboons, hyenas, giraffes, elephants, warthogs, zebras, impalas, grazing in the savannah grass. On my mokoro ride, an elephant appeared suddenly from the bush, staring at us from five feet away. Far more sightings on the morning and afternoon game drives. No other lodges have access to this area, so you get a private experience, often very close.

The food is often very good, spectacular on barbeque night.

The staff seems eager to please.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank babsorama6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Much has already been said about the excellence prevailing at this extraordinary safari lodge. Just wish to add that expectations were exceeded in terms of location, comfort, service and most importantly, the volume and variety of wildlife tracked and observed. This is a very special venue in pristine wilderness offering luxurious accomodation. Not only can one see the big five, but also a plethora of amazing birdlife and vermillion and turquoise skies at dusk which are quite stunning.
At the airstrip, waiting to depart, it was necessary to drive up and down the runway to stop a group of four giraffes from stepping onto the path of the incoming plane. Absolutely unmissable and symptomatic of the abundance of wildlife seen.
Highlights were the wild dogs, lions eating their kill with hyenas, jackals and vultures hovering in very close proximity, an enormous breeding herd of elephants and a migration of hundreds of buffalo. At camp, the food is delicious and plentiful, hospitality is of the highest order and massages overlooking the swamp quite sublime.
An experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FestTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
33.3 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
288 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#22 of 71 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
151 reviews
26.7 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#23 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chief's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chief's Camp

Address: Chief's Island | Maun, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Phone Number:
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,020 - $4,831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Chief's Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chief’s Camp has twelve luxury bush pavilions, all with their own private decks as well as both indoor and outdoor showers. When visiting Sanctuary Chief’s Camp you’ll see why Conde Nast Traveler consistently rates it as one of the top safari destinations in Botswana. The camp is part of the magazine’s exclusive “Platinum Circle” in recognition of its inclusion in the prestigious Gold List for the last five consecutive years. The split-level main deck offers expansive views over the floodplain while the lower level of the deck houses an exquisite swimming pool to cool off after a day of exciting game viewing. The main area houses a bar, curio shop, library reception and dining area. For a rejuvenating pampering session, choose from a range of treatments at the camp’s treatment room. The twelve guest pavilions are nestled in a jackalberry and sausage tree woodland that is characteristic of the area. Each guest pavilion boasts an indoor and outdoor shower, a spacious seating area and a private game viewing deck overlooking the surrounding floodplains of the Okavango Delta. Sumptuous four poster beds with generously draped mosquito nets and traditional ceiling fans also feature and for your convenience, the rooms are equipped with a hairdryer, ceiling fan, room safe, emergency intercom and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Chief's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chief`s Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing