We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
259
23
3
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
23
3
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chief's island game viewing chobe chilwero okavango delta rooms are gorgeous superb location sussi chuma private pool black rhino indoor outdoor shower wild dogs main area helicopter ride off road natural environment game drives were amazing wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 293 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2015

Loved this camp. Amazing rooms , huge , comfortable , choice of inside and outside shower was lovely.
The staff were lovely . I had a bit of an upset tummy, and Evelyn the manager , looked after me. Such a sweetie, brought me some medication and yoghurt with honey and banana, insisted I have it, and glad I did as fit to go on the drive in the afternoon.
Bar staff were great, making lovely water cocktails, and a honeymoon couple taught them to make a wicked espresso Martini.
Had a wonderful time here.
Our guide Martin was great , lots of knowledge, and managed to stop a rhino from charging the vehicle. Very exciting moment for sure.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2015

Dear Sarah,

Great to hear you enjoyed your time and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you again soon and until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2015

Chief's Camp has all the ammenities of a 5* hotel and then some. Everything here oozes luxury. The camp is located on Chief's Island in the Moremi game reserve right in the heart of the Okavango Delta. There are 12 tents situated on both sides of the lounge/dining area. The lounge area comprises multiple indoor/outdoor seating areas and a bar. To the left of the lounge area is a swimmingpool with lounger beds. To the right is the dining area, with a huge doma in front of it. The whole loung/ding area has a view of the water and it's very common to see all kinds of animals from the deck. Just in front of the lounge area you'll find a little giftshop.

The tents at Chief's Camp are very spacious. The bathroom has a his-&-her's sink and a rainshower. There is a seperate toilet, and there's also an outdoor shower. In front of the tent there is an outside patio deck with a nice view. Service throughout Chief's Camp is excellent and the food is outstanding. We especially enjoyed the traditional dance/singing followed by the BBQ in the doma.

Special thanks go out to Phoebe, the camp manager and Monks & Lecco, our bartenders. We had a briljant night at the bar with you during our stay. Eddie says hi and wants to know when he can start working there :).....

Room tip: If wifi is important to you, ask for room 7. Since room 7 is closest to the bar, your room wifi will also work in the lounge area.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Ruksma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2015

Dear Ruksma,

We are delighted you had a wonderful time at Chief's Camp.

Our team loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Would be great if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2015

Chief's Camp had wonderful game viewing right from your room, the restaurant or the deck. Very exciting to stay there! But the best part is the staff, they made us feel so comfortable. I celebrated my birthday there. They surprised me with a special table by the pool for dinner complete with candles around the pool, singing and a Birthday cake! The game drives were amazing, Martin was so patient. Basardi and Evelyn were terrific hosts, can't wait to go back!

Room tip: All rooms face the watering hole, the is both a tent and a fixed structure. and
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, much appreciated!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2015 via mobile

We spent some of our honeymoon there and it was the highlight of our trip.
We saw lions, elephants, hyenas, wild dogs to name a few. Superb location on the water, great food, lovely staff. Very luxurious, had electric blankets at night and a great setting.
It was perfect and we cannot wait to return.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank NatCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, much appreciated!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had such great sightings!

We really enjoyed hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2015

From your arrival at the airport to your departure, the level of service just does not stop.

The game drives are exceptional. A cheetah, with two cubs on a kill, a leopard with a kill she then has stolen by two hyaenas, elephants, buffalo, lions, giraffe, hippos, black and white rhino, its all here.

The accommodation and meals - all superb.

Room tip: Book early as there is only 16 rooms
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank colmck_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, much appreciated!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews