We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at Chief's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Experience at Chief's”
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We visited Chief's Camp for three nights and it turned out to be the best part of our safari. Wildlife was in abundance. We saw lions, including a big male, lionesses, and cubs; leopard, zebra, giraffes, elephants, warthog, a rhino, wildebeast, impala, kudu, etc. In terms of getting up close to the game, this camp provided the best experience of the trip. We were concerned by a prior review of the camp but we found predators ever-present and we developed a great relationshship with our guide Rex as well as other guests. The accomodations were very nice as was the main lodge. The tents/structures in which we were accomodated were classic Africa but in a very luxurious sense. The food was a good as any we had on the trip, as was the service. The camp boasts a wonderful setting and many animals walked by the camp while we were there.

  • Liked — Clean, beautiful, and luxurious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    22
    1
    7
    1
See reviews for
55
109
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris / France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Although Chief''s camp is totally luxurious, it rather proved to be a 5-star "tourism factory" than a 5-star african lodge. There is absolutely no intimacy between the staff and the guests, and we never had the impression ot be treated personally. the food was good, but not extraordinary at all !
Moreover, it seems that the time has gone when Chief Island was the capital of the predators. During the dry season, it is almost impossible to see any cheetah or wild dog. Although we did have a fabulous game during our 2 days, no leopard had been seen during the previous week. Linyanti has now become the place to go !

  • Liked — Luxury of the place
  • Disliked — Lack of personalised service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CarnetDeVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2008

My husband and I went to two Sanctuary lodges in Botswana, and Chief's Camp was by far superior. Every detail of our stay was perfect. We loved that the tents were luxurious, but at the same time, you had the "feel" that you were on an African safari.

The customer service was unlike anything I have seen. There are 50 people on staff for only 24 guests, so everything is very personal. All of management made a point to know the guests' names and our preferences of beverages and foods. We were awakened every day with coffee and tea and greated in the evenings by our favorite cocktails.

The wildlife around Chief's Camp was very abundant, and our guide, Anthony, was a walking encyclopedia. We saw just about everything, including a pride of lions mauling a giraffe.

From great food, warm company, the wildlife, and the lodge itself, this was the perfect safari.

  • Liked — Wildlife and customer service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Totally disappointed. The management were all new. None of them seemed experienced. The staff (although nice) were absolutely useless. Food was totally unacceptable. I don't think that their is a chef. Thank goodness for the excellent game viewing. Its the best in the Okavango. Sanctuary Lodges (all over the Delta and Chobe Chilwero need to spend some money on their lodges - or stop charging as a luxury 5 star lodge).
I wouldn't use a Sanctuary Lodge again. They must have hired a good photographer for their web site.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I’ve stay in this lodge for two nights and simply loved it, It’s the best lodge I’ve ever stayed.

The room is very large and very well decorated, the facilities are outstanding, and the staff is very nice, specially the managers.

Game viewing is nothing less than spectacular, lots of lions, hyenas, giraffes, zebras, gnus and a large variety of antelopes, I’ve seen also seen rhino, leopard and elephant, although no buffalo.

The thing I’ve enjoyed less in the camp was dinner, although the lunch was very good, dinner couldn’t match it, in our first night, despite the dinner ambiance, served around the boma, the food wasn’t the kind of food expected in such a luxurious lodge.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank verbo_ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

This was my first safari and Chiefs Camp exceeded any expectations. The Camp is well run by friendly, helpful staff. The location is superb, overlooking the flood plains, and on arrival I was greeted by a friendly elephant who came to munch on the jackelberry trees that shade the terrace - touching distance, what a welcome! The accomodation is excellent, with luxurious, comfortable, spacious 'tents' (you call that a tent? - a thatched cottage with canvas walls) that have all the facilities you need including both indoor & outdoor shower. At night you can lie in bed and listen to the animals - amazing, and you feel perfectly secure.
There is a small pool with sun loungers, and a pleasant terrace/lounge area to relax and maybe sip a drink between game drives. Breakfast, brunch and afternoon tea are in the dining terrace/loung area. Evening meals are at large communal tables either in the dining area or around the 'boma' (a sand pit with an open fire), so the atmosphere is very friendly. One evening the staff entertained us with african singing (it was a guest's birthday).
And you are pampered!: Wake up calls with a tray of tea/coffee & biscuits; staff see you off on game drives and greet you on return (after the evening drive they are waiting with a hot amarello (or two!)); hot water bottles on the truck seats for the early morning drives; electric blankets switched on when you return to yor room after dinner.
Did I mention the game drives? Fantastic!! We had an excellent driver/guide, Jonathan. High concentration of game, so animals at every turn and saw everything including the elusive Hippo. There are also mokoro (boat) trips from the camp during midday break periods.
I will definitely be on safari again, but only hope it can match this wonderful paradise

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PSLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

After reading about Chiefs Camp before our trip, we had high expectations for the first stop on our Botswana safari. Chiefs exceeded them. JB and Shara, the resident managers, were outstanding as hosts, and our "tents" were beautiful and well-equipped from a power strip for charging cameras, etc to the safes and mini-bar furnished with whatever we requested from the bar. Our group of four couples enjoyed every minute of our three night stay despite some of the coldest weather in recent memory in the Okavango Delta. Luckily, the Land Cruisers were equipped with hot water bottles and warm ponchos for the 7 AM game drive! The game viewing was amazing. A recently deceased giraffe brought three days of different scavengers - from male lions establising their territory to lionesses with their cubs, to hyenas and vultures. It was fascinating. We saw every possible animal except the elusive rhinos. Food was delicious and interesting and each game drive, we enjoyed a break with drinks we'd chosen and nice snacks. The shop has beautiful baskets made by Chiefs employees.

  • Liked — the unique decorating reflecting southern Africa; beautfiul views over the Delta
  • Disliked — cold at night and in the morning (but we were there during a significant cold snap)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
33.3 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
276 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
59.0 mi away
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
84 reviews
23.6 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#28 of 71 in Okavango Delta
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chief's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chief's Camp

Property: Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Address: Chief's Island | Maun, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Chief's Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chief’s Camp has twelve luxury bush pavilions, all with their own private decks as well as both indoor and outdoor showers. When visiting Sanctuary Chief’s Camp you’ll see why Conde Nast Traveler consistently rates it as one of the top safari destinations in Botswana. The camp is part of the magazine’s exclusive “Platinum Circle” in recognition of its inclusion in the prestigious Gold List for the last five consecutive years. The split-level main deck offers expansive views over the floodplain while the lower level of the deck houses an exquisite swimming pool to cool off after a day of exciting game viewing. The main area houses a bar, curio shop, library reception and dining area. For a rejuvenating pampering session, choose from a range of treatments at the camp’s treatment room. The twelve guest pavilions are nestled in a jackalberry and sausage tree woodland that is characteristic of the area. Each guest pavilion boasts an indoor and outdoor shower, a spacious seating area and a private game viewing deck overlooking the surrounding floodplains of the Okavango Delta. Sumptuous four poster beds with generously draped mosquito nets and traditional ceiling fans also feature and for your convenience, the rooms are equipped with a hairdryer, ceiling fan, room safe, emergency intercom and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, South African Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Chief's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chief`s Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing