We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

What a magnificent place. Beautiful lodge, fabulous rooms, great dining, and above all, a warm and friendly staff. The game viewing is wonderful. The drivers are knowledgeable and willing to answer any question, no matter how dumb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffreyColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience and thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor much appreciated.

Thank you for your lovely comments, we loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 248 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We spent two nights at this camp and could not have been happier. Our guide, Sky, was amazing and provided us with some once in a life time game viewing experiences. He managed to get us within a pride of lions and under neither a tree with a sleeping leopard and cub!
The camp itself was my favourite on our 10 day safari. The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxed and and the amazing staff made it unforgettable. The individual cabins were spacious and had a comfortable layout. The balcony was private and the outdoor shower was a fun addition. T
When we were the are area in front of the main patio was not yet flooded, and we were able to see herds of elephants, groups of warthogs along with a variety of birds, all while eating lunch! Unbelievable number of photo opportunities here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Mary,

Absolutely loved reading your review, thank you so much!!

"Chief's Camp was your favourite" WOW we are thrilled to hear that.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments especially about the staff, they loved your feedback and look forward to hosting you again one day soon.

In the meantime you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent 3 wonderful nights at this camp in May 2013,as part of a 2 weeks
safari to Botswana.We stayed at four camps on our trip,and I have to ay,this one was the best.
The tents are excellent,and the food was superb,from the breakfasts to the evening meals.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singhottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear you spent three wonderful nights with us and that Chief's Camp ranked the best for you!

We cannot wait to welcome you back, hopefully soon...

Until then it would be great if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Tusso, our guide, was amazing. Knowledgeable and accommodating. On our first afternoon in the bush we came upon a lion and a leopard. Close encounter with a white rhino named Sargent. Elephants, giraffes, jackals. Photo opportunities galore. Highly recommend the optional helicopter ride. Fabulous accommodations - we just didn't get to spend enough time there. Great food, including the best croissants ever!!!! No bakery in Paris could do better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear James,

We wish you could have stayed longer too..

Thank you for this lovely review and for all your wonderful comments, the staff loved your feeback and are eager to welcome you back again! We will have the croissants ready and waiting..

We would love for you to keep up to date with the latest latest from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was the last of the three Sanctuary properties that we were visiting and we had heard from other travelers that this was the place to be in the Okavango. The fact that it came with a price tag more than double their other properties, had us undoubtedly curious and maybe anticipating too much as well! We were certainly not disappointed with our experience here. The property is beautifully appointed and the service impeccable --- be it whipping up just the right drink at the right time or scouring far and wide for a substitute camera charger since we left ours at the earlier camp (they even arranged to have that one brought in by the next incoming flight!). However, the fact that the huts aren’t air cooled or conditioned didn’t exactly make it comfortable come the afternoon when temperatures hit 95F/35C! The premium tag, for those interested, comes primarily due to the exclusivity of the property and the amazing bush experience staying here allows you to have. And what an experience it is! Since you are allowed to off-road here, you really do get a true ‘safari with no holds barred’ as you track right into the bush on your 4 WD. Our driver-cum-guide, Kaya a.k.a. Sky, followed a white rhino and her calf through bramble, bush and rough terrain with gay abandon, albeit with awesome control and anticipation. There are only two camps on this island, each with limited accommodation, so you have the bush pretty much to yourself and can spend the morning without another vehicle in sight. We were there in Nov, just before the rains come and hence had vast expanses of land to drive on which is not the case from Feb-July/Aug though that is when you get the mkoro(dugout/canoe) experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drivingholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Three Sanctuary Retreats properties WOW that is wonderful!!

We are delighted that we lived up to your expectations and thank you for the lovely feedback.

We loved hosting you and hope you see you at one of our other properties soon, until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet ) and Instagram ( SanctuaryRetreats ) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Sanctuary Chiefs was the 3rd of 3 camps during our Winter sojourn in Southern Africa. It easily measured up. Our room was quite luxurious, given the remoteness of the location. The food and wine were excellent, and the wildlife proved to be abundant. The people of Botswana are welcoming, and it is a pleasure to fur the country. Our guide made every effort to bring us close to herds of zebra, towers of giraffes, a pack of hyenas and, the most elusive of all, a pride of lions. The staff make every effort to be accommodating, and our ranger was very professional, if a bit quiet. As part of a group of six, we created our own table every night, where we got to know our ranger as we relived the day's adventures. We left with fond memories, and thousands of stunning photos.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in the bush. All are similar. There is no view per se, as camps tend to be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to hear you had such a wonderful time and thank you for your kind comments.

Glad you left with fond memories, and thousands of stunning photos, we do hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

In the meantime you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief's Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had the great pleasure to spend 5 nights at this wonderful property. This was the conclusion of a two family {11 strong} trip to Zimbabwe and Botswana. What a finish! This property in managed with the utmost professionalism, outstanding staff, gifted guides and great food. We were up at 4:45 am every morning and the first vehicle was rolling at 5:40 am, just as the sun started to rise. Chief's Island was much bigger than we remembered from a trip to "Old" Mombo {a basic tented camp} back in the early 90's.

This island appears to be a stronghold for male lions. We saw 10 different male lions – two dominant males and a collection of 8 sub adults ranging from 2 to 4 years of age. At one point we saw all 8 sub adults fighting over the remains of a buffalo carcass with at least 30 hyenas sounding in the background. It was a surreal scene!

The management team of Evelyn and Simon assure that your every need is accounted for. The food was outstanding. Sanctuary Food and Wine director Don and Chef Freddy provided a series of excellent meals.

The guiding of Benson and Martin was amazing. Benson spotted a wildebeest in the early stages of giving birth. We were able to see the birth from start to finish. This is my 15th trip to Africa and my first birth. It was an inspiration!

One morning, I asked to stay out later than the rest of the group and Martin was able to locate 5 wild dogs. Unfortunately the dogs had moved on before we could gather the rest of the crew. Martin also spotted a Leopard on the hunt. We were able to follow her for quite a while as she was climbing trees to gain a better vantage point in search of prey.

The camp is well laid out and very comfortable. The kids loved playing in the pool between game drives. The fire pit was a nice place to gather before dinner. We even saw a leopard and a lion from camp as well as hyenas and elephant. The rooms had enjoyable outside showers and were very spacious.

We would highly recommend Chief's Camp to our friends. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Micheal.

What a lovely, detailed review thank you so much for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor.

We a very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your time with us and thank you for all your lovely comments especially about our staff. It was indeed a pleasure for them to host you and they are thrilled that you looking forward to returning and would like to thank you for your recommendation, which is much appreciated!


15th trip to Africa WOW, that is amazing..hopefully number 16 follows soon..our team at Chiefs are eager to welcome you and your family back..


Until then would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest from Sanctuary Retreats and Chief’s Camp by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
33.3 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
296 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
59.8 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#14 of 73 in Okavango Delta
158 reviews
42.9 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#27 of 73 in Okavango Delta
135 reviews
0 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chief's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chief's Camp

Address: Chief's Island | Maun, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,235 - $4,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Chief's Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chief’s Camp has twelve luxury bush pavilions, all with their own private decks as well as both indoor and outdoor showers. When visiting Sanctuary Chief’s Camp you’ll see why Conde Nast Traveler consistently rates it as one of the top safari destinations in Botswana. The camp is part of the magazine’s exclusive “Platinum Circle” in recognition of its inclusion in the prestigious Gold List for the last five consecutive years. The split-level main deck offers expansive views over the floodplain while the lower level of the deck houses an exquisite swimming pool to cool off after a day of exciting game viewing. The main area houses a bar, curio shop, library reception and dining area. For a rejuvenating pampering session, choose from a range of treatments at the camp’s treatment room. The twelve guest pavilions are nestled in a jackalberry and sausage tree woodland that is characteristic of the area. Each guest pavilion boasts an indoor and outdoor shower, a spacious seating area and a private game viewing deck overlooking the surrounding floodplains of the Okavango Delta. Sumptuous four poster beds with generously draped mosquito nets and traditional ceiling fans also feature and for your convenience, the rooms are equipped with a hairdryer, ceiling fan, room safe, emergency intercom and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Chief's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chief`s Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing