We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic! Outstading! Thrilling!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Chief's Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimack, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magic! Outstading! Thrilling!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I don’t know if words could capture truly how wonderful Chiefs Camp in Botswana is. It started with the excitement of the 45 minute (very small 4 seats) plane ride to the remote dirt landing strip. By the way the pilot was no older than 24 and did an excellent job of flying and landing. We were greeted at the air strip by Sky who would be our guide and tracker for the next 4 days. We reached the camp after a 40 minute or so jeep ride. As we pulled up there were 5 lovely ladies welcoming us with song. The manager was also there to introduce himself. We were given cool damp towels to wipe away the dirt and heat of the trip as well as cold bottled water. I can’t say enough about the staff. From the moment you arrive they do everything for you. I have to say my favorite thing was Maggie (the lady that was assigned to take care of our room and us) coming to our tent every morning by 6:00 a.m. singing softly and bringing us hot coffee. The game drives were unbelievable. The area was so calm and peaceful you felt like you were part of the landscape. One day we sat in the jeep for over an hour just watching a large group of Cape buffalo grazing in the tall grass. The beauty of the area and the animals was breathtaking. Sky (our guide) was the best, he could find anything. Sky knew every detail about every animal down to the smallest bird. We enjoyed sitting on the porch of our tent every afternoon after high tea watching to see what animal would walk by. We were like a couple of giddy school children. It was truly a gift to see animals in a natural setting (no fences). Every morning around 4:00 a.m. a couple of hyenas would walk by our tent making all sorts of noise. The 2nd day we were there I slept through Cape buffalo and roaring lions passing through camp. We saw elephant families, leopards, Cape buffalo, hippos, rhinos, impala, zebra, baboons, giraffe, wildebeest, hyenas, a lion, and even a badger (we saw too much to list). If you want to experience Africa in a peaceful and secluded setting where you can enjoy the wildlife without 6 jeeps surrounding one animal, I highly recommend Chiefs Camp in Botswana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about Sky and your unbelieveable game drives, Maggie as well as the rest of the team whom you "can't say enough about" Our constant aim is to provide a friendly and efficient service, to make each guest experience a special one, and it is always rewarding to hear when we have reached this aim.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    21
    1
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
99
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My friend and I had the best time. Our short breakaway in paradise. Chief's Camp is a must visit if it is peace and tranquility that you are seeking. The accommodation in solid sided tents tucked away in the botswana bush with views over open plains, it is a pleasure to wake up to. There is more than enough excitement on the early morning and late afternoon game drives. Our guide was very informed and had a great sense of humour (Benson) who was more than willing to stop at our request to just sit and listen to the bush life, full of birds and wild life. There is an abundance of wild game and we saw all of the big five mere metres away from us.
The food was excellent with a wide variety to choose from. The staff were friendly and very pleasant. The management (Kevin & Anneli) did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable and memorable and we thank them for a once in a life time experience never to be forgotten.
There are so many happy memories made at Chief's Camp we would recommend anyone to take a trip to Chief's Camp. Well worth a visit.........

Room Tip: All the rooms are situated with excellent views over the plains and are open with no fencing the cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It was nice to read your review, we are happy to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about Benson whom you felt was very informed and had a great sense of humour, the excellent food, the friendly and very pleasant staff and Kevin and Anneli who did everything in their power to make your stay comfortable and memorable.

We are delighted that you appreciated our services and had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

ok - you've see the reviews so you know chief's is really terrific: spacious rooms, great food, friendly staff, excellent guides (sky was the best)... the questions is - not should you go but when? we went in late november. officially its the beginning of the wet season, but it hadn't rained yet and thus it was really dry. the advantage here is that it is easy to get everywhere, the watering holes are few and animals congregate, no bugs, it's warm but not excessively so. we saw tons of animals, but you did have to drive a while to find them. but if you go thsi time of year be prepared - as there is little water, the delta is not much of a delta - you miss the water views, limited birding, no canoes from the lodge... in summary, it is great in novemeber but different - we are looking forward to returning when there's more water to see the difference.

Room Tip: all good and very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gngaulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank so much for taking the time to post this review your feedback and perspective on when to travel to Sanctuary Chiefs Camp is greatly appreciated and will no doubt be of great assistance to future travellers.

We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Staying at Cheif's Camp is like staying with good friends. If you like watching game come into the waterhole while you eat lunch on the verandah, following a pack of African Hunting Dogs as they track and kill a deer, watching leopards and hyenas fight over a kill and prides of lions wondering around, all in an open vehicle, with on one else around, then Chief's Camp is for you. The manager, house staff and guides are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble to ensure your stay is magical. Their singing and dancing made our stay memorable. Our stay exceeded our expections both in accommodation and game viewing. We were there in the dry which opened up more of the island to explore and certainly concentrated the wildlife around the remaining water but reduced the opportunities for canoe trips however, as we were there for the game this suited us. All the rooms are good we had the room furtherest away from the main area and had many animals visit at night. We would recommend to our friends and we will return. Marlene & Paul

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank map33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Marlene & Paul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and felt like you were "staying with good friends." Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff,guides,the singing and dancing, our constant aim is to provide a friendly and efficient service, to make each guest experience a special one, and it is always rewarding to hear when we have reached this aim.

We are delighted that you appreciated our services and had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon again!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We came to Chief's Camp via Stanley's Camp and Baines'Camp - both Sanctuary properties of such high quality that it was difficult to imagine anything better. Yet, we were ever so pleasantly surprised by this stunning property. From witnessing four lionesses stalking a warthog within five minutes of arrival to the outdoor shower with an elephant for company, we knew where we belonged. Throw in superb accommodation, excellent food, friendly and efficient staff, knowledgeable guides, a manager with a great sense of humour and you have the recipe for a very memorable experience. Lets not forget the stars of Chief's Camp - the wonderful and abundant wildlife. We were fortunate to see the big five plus so much more. For us, there were no negatives. We enjoyed every minute of our two night stay and we have no hesitation in recommending Chief's Camp and the other two Sanctuary properties. A hint - if the budget allows, take a 30 minute helicopter ride. You will get a totally different perspective of what you have witnessed on the ground. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Accommodation furthest from central communal area is likely to have greater wildlife visitation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValKaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Sanctuary Management at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you got to experience three of our camps.

We are very pleased about your positive remarks regarding the superb accommodation, the excellent food ,our friendly and efficient staff, our knowledgeable guides and our manager's great sense of humour, we will definitely pass these lovely comments onto our team.

Our constant aim is to provide friendly and efficient service, to make each guest experience a special one, and it is always rewarding to hear when we have reached this aim.

We would like to thank you for staying with Sanctuary Retreats and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have just returned from a "life changing" experience at Sanctuary Chief's Camp in the Delta. The outstanding service from Sanctuary Retreats staff started when we first booked our holiday and continued until we landed on Chief's Island. What really struck us was the cleanliness, absolute attention to detail, the aesthetics of the entire camp and more important the wonderful staff that greeted us on our arrival and attended to our every need for the next 5 days. Game was in abundance with sightings of Leopard, Lion, Rhino, Wild Dogs and a 4 metre Python to name but a few. Benson our Guide was exceptional and virtually tracked and found all the game we requested on each drive - Thank you Benson for all the effort you put into making this so special. The highlight was a 45 minute helicopter flip over the swamps which gave us a whole new perspective of game concentrations in the area. Thank you to Anton, Precious, Kevin, Anelie and their entire team for such an executive experience in the bush - I guarantee you we will be back.

Room Tip: All accommodation is very secluded and private with no one being better than the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Sanctuary Management at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review about your "life changing" experience at Sanctuary Chiefs Camp.

We are very pleased about your positive remarks regarding the service, the cleanliness of our camp, the "absolute attention to detail, the wonderful staff who attended to your every need and the abundant game viewing. We will definitely pass your comments onto Benson, Anton, Precious, Kevin, Anelie and the rest of the team who will be happy to learn that you appreciated their efforts.

We are delighted that your overall experience was such a postive one and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chief's Camp. The entire staff was warm, friendly and accomodating. We saw and spoke to the managers everyday and they were very attentive to our needs. We asked to dine alone at dinner every night except the Boma night and as a result we did not mind eating breakfast with our guide and drive mates. I have several food allergies and the chef was very accomodating and always made sure my food was fine. I truly appreciated the gluten free muffins that were baked daily and provided on our morning drive and high tea. We saw all animals that we wanted to see and more even though it was very hot and dry. Our guide, Sky, was fantastic. Loved waking every morning to the warthogs and impala dining off of our porch and the elephants rolling in the mud while we ate lunch. Everything about our stay was excellent. Highly recommended

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room since they all look out over the water but number 12 is the most p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebajane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chief's Camp, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one,positive feedback always encourages us to provide incomparable value and service to all our guests visiting us.

We would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post this review and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sanctuary Chiefs Camp in the future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
58.1 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Tuskers Wilderness Camp
#22 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Xobega Island Camp
Xobega Island Camp
#4 of 16 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chief's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chief's Camp

Property: Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Address: Chief's Island | Maun, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Chief's Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chief’s Camp has twelve luxury bush pavilions, all with their own private decks as well as both indoor and outdoor showers. When visiting Sanctuary Chief’s Camp you’ll see why Conde Nast Traveler consistently rates it as one of the top safari destinations in Botswana. The camp is part of the magazine’s exclusive “Platinum Circle” in recognition of its inclusion in the prestigious Gold List for the last five consecutive years. The split-level main deck offers expansive views over the floodplain while the lower level of the deck houses an exquisite swimming pool to cool off after a day of exciting game viewing. The main area houses a bar, curio shop, library reception and dining area. For a rejuvenating pampering session, choose from a range of treatments at the camp’s treatment room. The twelve guest pavilions are nestled in a jackalberry and sausage tree woodland that is characteristic of the area. Each guest pavilion boasts an indoor and outdoor shower, a spacious seating area and a private game viewing deck overlooking the surrounding floodplains of the Okavango Delta. Sumptuous four poster beds with generously draped mosquito nets and traditional ceiling fans also feature and for your convenience, the rooms are equipped with a hairdryer, ceiling fan, room safe, emergency intercom and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, South African Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Chief's Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chief`s Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing