We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
78
26
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
78
26
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water hole swimming pool game drives great sightings camp manager wild dogs waterhole elephants tents lodge safari amos guide antelope afternoon lion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 113 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2019

This is a small (8 tent) camp with the main attraction being the pool of water that brings in mainly elephants but we also saw a giraffe and hyena. It is very dry at the moment but a bore provides water for the pool so there are plenty of ellies.
The camp itself has a lovely public area including a small pool (that an ellie tried to drink from when I was there but snorted it back up as the water is salty!). The food is good and I especially liked that they have afternoon tea for everyone at 3:30 before we all head out on the game drives.
It is a long drive at the moment to reach the river and animals (about an hour) but the time seemed to go quickly. The guide was great and it was nice to be able to stop for a cup of tea/gin.
The tents were good. Spacious with good bathroom. Lots of animal noises at night - can be unnerving (my husband barely slept the first night!)

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really do appreciate it.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to be able to welcome you back into camp before too long.

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2019 via mobile

Hyena Pan was one of the most incredible experiences of our lives! My husband and I went here as our first stop in our honeymoon trip and we will never forget it.

The Hyena Pan Team goes above and beyond to be detail-oriented and provide the most authentic safari experience.

Everything always ran perfectly on schedule from meals to the safari activities and beyond.

In there camp, they also have a watering hole where the elephants come to drink fresh water and bath themselves to cool off in mud. Such a unique and romantic experience to watch these majestic beautiful creatures in their natural habitats.

Food: The food was exquisite. They would huddle us around campfire every morning to get warmed up and reflect on the experience thus far and talk about past safari experiences our guides have had. Lunch was always ready for us when we got back from our morning drive, and they put us in area of the deck with the most shade and cool air for the hot afternoons. And for dinner they did a perfect balance of grouping us with others and giving us one of the most romantic private dinners of our lives. One other thing to note the food is all SUPER HEALTHY and FULFILLING.

Safari: Cruise was our safari guide, with 19 years of experience, We highly highly highly recommend Cruise if you are staying at Hyena Pan. He is one of the kindest, smartest and philosophical humans we have ever met. Super knowledgable about all of the animals, their behaviors, where they come from, etc and always knew the answers to all of our questions. We got to see lion prides, 3 leopards, elephants, wilder beasts, antelope, impala, kudu, warthog, hippos, crocodiles, hyena and more! He always made us feel safe and brought a sense of adventure to all situations. Pro tip: Ask him about the books that he reads because it will open up your eyes to the unknown.

Cruise we miss you terribly already.

Accommodations: Raleigh, the management team and Hyena Pan staff created an amazing accommodation and 10 stars sense of hospitality to us. From the touch of cold towels in the morning after coming back from a game drive to hot towels in the evening after the afternoon drive, to the housekeeping team doing our daily laundry and getting our room ready for the day and tidied up for night time, to always asking what we would like to drink, giving us insulated water-bottles to stay cool that we refilled there to be environmentally friendly and avoiding plastic water bottles. Thank you for giving us a home away from home.

We highly recommend Hyena Pan to anyone looking for an unforgettable authentic safari experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank dayanafalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Hi there, and congratulations on your marriage.

We feel honoured that you chose our camp for your honeymoon.

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much, and wish you both a lifetime of happiness.

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile


Still not quite sure why they don’t provide some signage on the approach roads but once you are there it is all good.A wooden stockade and veranda looks over a waterhole with a plentiful supply of animals and yes,probably whilst you are in the pool,only a few feet away from the action
A great welcome and a discussion as to your activities awaits: frankly there is too much to do here rather than relaxing.We had a succession of memorable game drives and a peaceful pole around the delta by way of contrast.Jackson was a great guide and a considerate driver of the game truck
The food is of course international in character and very good; a special mention for the wines too,some thought has gone into their wine list.
Of course,dinner served whist you gaze at the game,mainly elephant but also hyena,giraffe and honey badger coming to drink at the waterhole,is a highlight.
A big thanks to “Bru “ ( which I am sure is misspelt) the mechanic who fixed the tent fitting on our land cruiser,hope you got our tip !.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank NicholasG342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate it.

Hyena Pan is in the very exclusive Khwai Private Reserve, and the reserve does not have any signage as most guests fly in.

Beyond the signage, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We agree that the camp's position is spectacular, and the constant presence of animals is a real treat.

Thank you too for your kind words about our staff, we've passed your feedback on to our team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

We loved the 3 other (expensive)camps we visited but Hyena Pan was the only one we would have liked to stay longer than our 3 nights! Spending the afternoon with a glass of wine looking at the elephants was so relaxing.In the pool the elephants are so close you can feel them breathing in your neck,being so close to this phenomanal animals made us so happy and left us with lifetime memories !! The tent was very nice with everything you need and nothing you don't.The female manager was always very friendly .Normally you have dinner with other people wich was fine by us ,you can hear a lot of good story's.The last night there was just the 2 of us and a large group so we got a romantic table for 2 at the pool,with a bonus of a hyena passing by .The skybeds were beyond expactations and we also liked the hide a lot ! People complaining by dust in the hide and chance of getting wet by an elephantsplash(see other review)perhaps should NOT go on a safari to Africa !! tip: maybe you can change the hide in an underground 5*hotel with shower an hairdryer , don't forgret a cleaning team to take care of the dust :.) Next year we go to Sable Alley and go back to the skybed and hide, maybe we are lucky enough to get a splash,we would really like that! Thanks to the whole Hyena Pan team (also the ones behind the scene).We had the time of our life and just love Africa and Hyena Pan. Please stay as you are wich is perfect !

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JOSANDYVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really do appreciate it.

It's wonderful to hear that you had such a happy stay at Hyena Pan, and that you were able to enjoy plenty of time with the elephants!

We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Skybeds as well, which is truly an 'out of this world' experience!

We also agree with you that the hide is one of the very best places to spend time - dust or no dust!

It's wonderful to hear that you'll be visiting Sable Alley next year - good choice!

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Truth be told upon arrival (100 yr. drought), we drove through vast mopane forests, and dried up pans....it was very dry....(our dry camp in Botswana). The camp was dry, but had ellies right at the water hole of the camp. Ruddie and Michael did a FANTASTIC job and OK the worker there was so very professional and welcoming and attentive! We were there for 3 nights. Sightings were the BEST WE HAD IN 18 DAYS ON SAFARI TO ZIMBABWE, AND BOTSWANA!!!!!!!! Saw 3 leopards, 2 huge lion kills, many ellies, and giraffes!! It was a truly amazing time! The camp is great, but the SKYBEDS were a luxury beyond belief! A real bed with frame, on top overlooking a watering hole...very quiet and beautiful! The cuisine was to die for at the skybeds as the female chef was INCREDIBLE!! Best in Africa thus far!!! Followed a couple of kills and had an encounter with 9 lions eating a carcass with 30+ hyena taking it away...WOW!!! Also, the two hides were incredible, would over to have slept there...so close to all the animals zebra, ellies, giraffe, antelope, and many birds....eagles. It was the BEST!!!! So glad that we went there!!! THANK YOU!!! No wild dogs but the drives were incredible...and the guides were amazing! Thank you AMOS!!!!!!!! The pool and the grounds were lovely, great mid range safari feel in the bush!!!!

Room tip: Rooms are a bit of a walk, but wonderful! Room #4 had great bird sightings....
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi Kristin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really do appreciate it.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed such fantastic sightings. The wildlife is certainly plentiful in the area, and the elephants in front of camp make things extra special!

Thank you also for your kind words about our staff. We've passed your lovely feedback on to them.

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews