We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
78
26
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
78
26
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water hole swimming pool game drives great sightings camp manager wild dogs waterhole elephants tents lodge safari amos guide antelope afternoon lion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 113 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile


Still not quite sure why they don’t provide some signage on the approach roads but once you are there it is all good.A wooden stockade and veranda looks over a waterhole with a plentiful supply of animals and yes,probably whilst you are in the pool,only a few feet away from the action
A great welcome and a discussion as to your activities awaits: frankly there is too much to do here rather than relaxing.We had a succession of memorable game drives and a peaceful pole around the delta by way of contrast.Jackson was a great guide and a considerate driver of the game truck
The food is of course international in character and very good; a special mention for the wines too,some thought has gone into their wine list.
Of course,dinner served whist you gaze at the game,mainly elephant but also hyena,giraffe and honey badger coming to drink at the waterhole,is a highlight.
A big thanks to “Bru “ ( which I am sure is misspelt) the mechanic who fixed the tent fitting on our land cruiser,hope you got our tip !.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank NicholasG342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate it.

Hyena Pan is in the very exclusive Khwai Private Reserve, and the reserve does not have any signage as most guests fly in.

Beyond the signage, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We agree that the camp's position is spectacular, and the constant presence of animals is a real treat.

Thank you too for your kind words about our staff, we've passed your feedback on to our team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

We loved the 3 other (expensive)camps we visited but Hyena Pan was the only one we would have liked to stay longer than our 3 nights! Spending the afternoon with a glass of wine looking at the elephants was so relaxing.In the pool the elephants are so close you can feel them breathing in your neck,being so close to this phenomanal animals made us so happy and left us with lifetime memories !! The tent was very nice with everything you need and nothing you don't.The female manager was always very friendly .Normally you have dinner with other people wich was fine by us ,you can hear a lot of good story's.The last night there was just the 2 of us and a large group so we got a romantic table for 2 at the pool,with a bonus of a hyena passing by .The skybeds were beyond expactations and we also liked the hide a lot ! People complaining by dust in the hide and chance of getting wet by an elephantsplash(see other review)perhaps should NOT go on a safari to Africa !! tip: maybe you can change the hide in an underground 5*hotel with shower an hairdryer , don't forgret a cleaning team to take care of the dust :.) Next year we go to Sable Alley and go back to the skybed and hide, maybe we are lucky enough to get a splash,we would really like that! Thanks to the whole Hyena Pan team (also the ones behind the scene).We had the time of our life and just love Africa and Hyena Pan. Please stay as you are wich is perfect !

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JOSANDYVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really do appreciate it.

It's wonderful to hear that you had such a happy stay at Hyena Pan, and that you were able to enjoy plenty of time with the elephants!

We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Skybeds as well, which is truly an 'out of this world' experience!

We also agree with you that the hide is one of the very best places to spend time - dust or no dust!

It's wonderful to hear that you'll be visiting Sable Alley next year - good choice!

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Truth be told upon arrival (100 yr. drought), we drove through vast mopane forests, and dried up pans....it was very dry....(our dry camp in Botswana). The camp was dry, but had ellies right at the water hole of the camp. Ruddie and Michael did a FANTASTIC job and OK the worker there was so very professional and welcoming and attentive! We were there for 3 nights. Sightings were the BEST WE HAD IN 18 DAYS ON SAFARI TO ZIMBABWE, AND BOTSWANA!!!!!!!! Saw 3 leopards, 2 huge lion kills, many ellies, and giraffes!! It was a truly amazing time! The camp is great, but the SKYBEDS were a luxury beyond belief! A real bed with frame, on top overlooking a watering hole...very quiet and beautiful! The cuisine was to die for at the skybeds as the female chef was INCREDIBLE!! Best in Africa thus far!!! Followed a couple of kills and had an encounter with 9 lions eating a carcass with 30+ hyena taking it away...WOW!!! Also, the two hides were incredible, would over to have slept there...so close to all the animals zebra, ellies, giraffe, antelope, and many birds....eagles. It was the BEST!!!! So glad that we went there!!! THANK YOU!!! No wild dogs but the drives were incredible...and the guides were amazing! Thank you AMOS!!!!!!!! The pool and the grounds were lovely, great mid range safari feel in the bush!!!!

Room tip: Rooms are a bit of a walk, but wonderful! Room #4 had great bird sightings....
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Hi Kristin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really do appreciate it.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed such fantastic sightings. The wildlife is certainly plentiful in the area, and the elephants in front of camp make things extra special!

Thank you also for your kind words about our staff. We've passed your lovely feedback on to them.

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

My wife and I stayed at this camp for 3 nights in July, 2019.

Hyena Pan is about an hour’s drive from the airstrip. There was not much game on the drive to camp - just a few elephants.

The camp was more basic than the other two camps we stayed at in Botswana. The tents were single walled with no other covering and as a consequence they were very cold at night and in the morning. They also needed refurbishing. The toilet was not very private as the privacy wall was see-through slats.

There was just one entree choice at lunch and dinner and a basic buffet breakfast was provided by the campfire before going out on the morning game drive. There was no wifi at the camp. Management did not appear very often.

There were few animals at the watering hole while we there - some hyenas one night and a few zebras at dusk one evening. There was a scarcity of game around the camp itself. On each game drive, we had to drive an hour before reaching areas with significant game. However, when we reached those areas, we had the best game viewing of the three camps we stayed at in Botswana - we saw leopards, cheetahs, and lions. The game drive guide seemed overly focused on finding big cats. On the first game drive, we passed a pond with a hippo in it. Three out of the four guests in the jeep had never before seen a hippo in the wild but the guide kept going. The guide’s English was difficult to understand. However, he was good at tracking and locating game.

The camp has an underground bunker at the edge of a watering hole for viewing elephants. Unfortunately, it was difficult to enter (through a hatch in the top) and it was dusty and dirty inside. Also, the elephants splash muddy water through the viewing ports so viewers may get wet. I think this was more of a gimmick rather than a good way to view elephants close up.

We opted for a mokoro canoe excursion on a river one morning. It was a very pleasant experience and the mokoro guide was excellent.

We enjoyed the game viewing at Hyena Pan but did not like the one-hour drive at the beginning of each game drive through an area mostly barren of game to get to decent game viewing. The camp itself was more basic than we would have liked.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank paul201864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Constructive criticism is always greatly appreciated since we strive to offer an unparalleled experience in all of our camps.

The camp is situated within Khwai Private Reserve, an exclusive concession with an abundance of game, and very few humans. Hyena Pan comes in at a far lower price point than any of the other properties within the concession, and thus is not luxurious. In our experience many travellers actually revel in the 'rustic' and 'back to basics' charm of the property. Finding it a welcome antidote to their normal lives. In terms of wifi, we find that most of our visitors prefer to connect to nature and their surroundings rather than an inbox. Having said that, imperative messages can always get through our communications systems, and if that's required guests should consult the management team who will be happy to help.

It's unusual that you found the game viewing around camp itself quiet, as usually there's a rather splendid backdrop of hippos and elephants to soak up, with the haunting echoes of whooping hyenas to provide a soundtrack. It's fantastic that upon reaching the game drive areas you enjoyed so many sightings. We dedicate a lot of time and effort to ensuring that our guides are at the top of the game, and they should be flexible in adapting each drive to guests' specific wishes.

The wildlife viewing hide is one of the most popular features of any camp. When we install such a feature, we do everything within our power to ensure that the animal's welfare is the top priority. First and foremost we are a conservation company, which is why many people opt to travel with us rather than our competitors. That does sometimes mean that the elephants splash a bit of mud guests' way, but most visitors find that part of the fun and rather thrilling. The extraordinary photographic opportunities that ensue certainly make up for a splash of mud.

It's great to hear that you had a fun mokoro excursion. They certainly offer a fantastic way to take in the local surrounds.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future. Perhaps your agent might be able to point you in the direction of one of our more luxurious camps in the future.

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

Words cannot describe sitting in the lounge area on the terrace only a few metres from the visiting elephants. We were given a really friendly welcome, out tent was very well appointed and comfortable and the meals we were served were excellent. Our game drives were superb with excellent and knowledgeable guides - the highlight being watching a mother and daughter leopard feeding on a monkey. The only disadvantage, as we were self driving, is the long sandy track to the camp, but we managed it without a hitch.

Room tip: All tents are similar
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Hyena Pan, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Hi Chris,

thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really do appreciate it.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we agree that the elephants are a wonderful addition to the camp, which they've rather adopted!

Your leopard sighting sounds spectacular, and we hope to be able to welcome you back for more of the same before too long.

Kind regards,
Pru - Hyena Pan marketing team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews