We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
210
24
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
24
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the entire staff wild dogs guide ken the river water bottles game drives an absolute joy charging points worked tirelessly to make sure cold running water genuine hospitality powerful shower damp towels excellent bed family cottage double bed two sinks
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 236 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2015

We stayed at the camp for three nights and... on arrival, I wondered what we'd let ourselves in for. We arrived in darkness and guides helped us to our tent which was set on the banks of the river under an acacia tree. We had single beds in our tent (very comfy) and a zipped off bathroom area with bucket shower - all amazingly good considering that we really were in the middle of nowhere. The meals served here were delicious and everyone marvelled at the high quality meals we were provided with in such a remote location - remarkable! There was also a corner bar and we were able to enjoy a gin and tonic with ice in the afternoon or evening - plus a springbok shot before bedtime, delicious! In the daylight, the location was revealed and the sights, sounds and emotions of the time we spent here will stay with me forever. We had an elephant walk close by our tent in the night and during the night we heard, hippos, bell frogs, baboons, hyenas and lions in the distance. The game drives each day were fabulous, we saw so many amazing animals and the adventure of staying in such a remote location was a wonderful experience. I will never forget this amazing place. The staff here were all wonderful, especially the cook and 'Mr interruption' the funny man. I would return again without hesitation, it's a totally 'one-off' experience.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JacquelineS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2015

The positives about Khawi.
1. Abundance of animals, great sightings and interesting animal behaviors observed. Lots of baby elephants, elephants swimming, wild dogs and hyena encounter, young male lions swimming, an African Wild Cat for the first time, different types of owls .... Great pictures due to animal activities.
2. Good food and friendly staff at camp.
3. Bee was our guide - fabulous! Knowledgeable and very strong guiding skills!
4. Great to be in a conservation area and be able to go off road. Also wonderful to go into Chobe and Moremi Parks.

This camp was very nice and we still enjoy tented camps the best. Six days were great here. A couple of interesting issues: At this camp I would say the lounge/dining are was a bit too small for the camp - about 6 people could sit by fire at breakfast or in the evening. We were put in a great tent with a perfect view with a hippo named Henry in front. The camp is managed by a couple from Belgium who were very nice and lots of local people work at camp which was also great. The camp seems to attract European travelers which meant for the first time ever we encountered smokers in camp for a couple of days. Most of our companions on the drives were wonderful except for two drives with a couple who would not stop talking - to us. It was also a little overwhelming when there was a great animal encounter and six vehicles would show up - I am sure it is like that at many places but that has never been our experience. I also find Botswana to be crowded on the past two trips so this may be a function of the popularity of the destination.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank patcal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2015

My first time in Botswana was fantastic. The Khwai Tented Camp is at a really beautiful location. The staff is helpfull, the managers do everuthing they can to make your stay the best ever. I will go back it was an experience of a lifetime.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marina052015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2015

Beautiful camp, amazing service, top-quality wildlife viewing, great flexibility. Kwai Tented camp is everything one could ask for from a trip to the Okavango Delta.

Location - I cannot emphasise enough how important the location in the Khwai private concession is. We spent time in both Khwai and the Moremi Game Reserve and the wildlife viewing in the former was far superior for us. Moreover, Khwai allows vehicles off-road creating a more wild and natural atmosphere when compared to Moremi, which requires drivers to stick to designated routes.

Camp - Accommodation is the perfect balance between comfort and rustic-ness. The tents are small, so forget ideas of TVs and wifi etc, but are very comfortable, with good size beds, own bathroom facilities linked to the tent, and improvised showers. Wildlife comes right through and around the camp, which is thrilling (and enjoyable because staff make you feel very safe by, for example, escorting you the short walk from dinner/bar to your tents in the evenings). Food was plentiful and very good, there is a good choice of drinks and wine offered, and the settings for both mealtimes and drinking are exceptional - think fire-lit 3 course meals in the middle of the bush, underneath amazing star-filled skies. The service is amongst the most attentive and helpful i've experienced, all the staff were very friendly and jovial which also added to the experience.

Game-viewing - the driver we were provided with by the camp was excellent at spotting and tracking game. We thought we'd honed our skills in Etosha a week earlier, but very rarely did any of the 5 of us spot an animal that Partner (our guide) didn't, even whilst driving the vehicle. It really made a difference having a designated guide that understood what interested us, when we wanted food, how long we wanted to be out for etc. Whilst we had our own Landcruiser, we left it in Maun and this was absolutely the right decision, Partner's driving was excellent, especially where off-road, and it proved far more relaxing for us over the course of the trip. Moreover, flying into the Khwai Concession was stunning and gives you the aerial views of the delta and animals that you see in pictures but not whilst on the ground (and on a logistical note, far more time-efficient).

The camp was expensive for us and for our trip, but was amongst the cheapest of the lodges in the heart of the region. Its Okavango and we decided we'd regret not doing it properly. In the end we all left very content with the value for money of the trip, and unclear what the more expensive lodges could offer that would justify paying more than the cost of staying and going on safari with Khwai Tented camp.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank David_B111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2015

Never having visited Botswana previously I can now not wait to return. The sounds, fragrance of the bush, wild life and the delightful people of Botswana will linger with me forever . Khwai tented camp was the piece de resistance.The managers of Khwai tented camp gave 100% and more to make our time there the best. The intimacy of only five tents added to the overall ambiance. Each meal was a delight. Not only was I given a private candle light dinner on the deck of our tent on my birthday but we also ate the next night by lamp light in the bush to the sonorous serenade of hippos. Our guide "Dutch" is also the best guide that my husband (who has been visiting game parks for 50 years +) and I have had the privilege to encounter. Dutch is so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about not only all the wildlife but also the terrain, flora, stars and general geography of the region. He is truly the David Attenborough of Botswana. Any future stay in Botswana for us will always include Khwai tented camp.

Room tip: All rooms are good and have excellent viewing.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews