We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent camp”
Review of Khwai Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khwai Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great camp, the welcome and farewell from the staff are memorable and beautiful. the famous Pilate absolutely deserves his legendary status. We came with a specific mission to photograph wild dogs (this was our third trip in three years to attempt this) and Pilate went way beyond what could be expected to make this happen, including missing dinner and going out tracking at night on foot alone. And boy did he deliver!!!! With great thanks also to Quest. We also saw leopard (treed by the wild dogs), ellies, birds and the usual game animals. The tents are very comfortable (with bucket shower) and your verandah looks out on the river which was somewhat dry at the time we went. The food is healthy and not too much which can be a problem in other camps where you end up going home weighing much more than when you started.
Of the 10 different camps we have stayed in so far, Kwai is the one I would recommend most highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tent 1 but all seemed to have very good views and similar level of comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kye88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Kye88,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Khwai Tented Camp and taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we are delighted you had a wonderful time with Pilot and that he found the Wild Dogs you had specifically set out to find. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future!
Take Care and Kindest Regards
Khwai Tented Camp and the team at African Bush Camps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this camp as part of a safari tour of Botswana. The camp is situated on a island reached by a wooden bridge. It is quite remote being two hours drive from the nearest airstrip.

Very similar style to the other camps we stayed in. However, the local staff were really excellent and friendly. The room/tent was spacious and comfortable albeit we didn't have the best room and had no view (see below). The food was very good and dieting is not a concept of these types of holidays !

We were amused by the local delinquent elephant called Gabriel or Mr G who would spend a fair amount of time terrorising the staff and quests by charging everyone.

I would strongly recommend this camp.

Room Tip: Avoid Room/Tent 5 as it has no view. The best are rooms 1,2 and 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NABAVEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear NAB34
Thank you very much for visiting our Khwai Tented Camp and for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your time with us. We are delighted you had a wonderful trip with us, found the staff friendly and the tents comfortable. You will be pleased to note that Gabriel (aka Mr G) continues to entertain guests with his antics around the camp. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Thank you and Kindest Regards
Khwai Tented Camp and the team at African Bush Camps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just arrived back home in the states and we can't stop thinking about our fabulous time at the Khwai Tented Camp! It was the highlight of our trip. My husband and I traveled with our three teenagers and they loved it as well. The staff was friendly and willing to do anything to make us happy. Messi, Quest, Mwamo, and Terrance were all terrific! They treated us better than family and we loved getting to know them all. "Mother" cooked delicious food in the kitchen and was very accommodating. We even had a traditional dinner on our last night which was really fun!
We saw leopards multiple times, lions, hippos, zebras etc thanks to Mwamo's determination. He is an excellent tracker! The Moremi Park was not far and we managed to go twice which was excellent for game viewing.
We thought the tents were clean and in great condition; certainly, big enough for my husband and me. The kids stayed in the cottage and were very comfortable there. We never had a water or electricity issue nor a coffee or food issue. Everything was terrific and I would highly recommend giving it a try. Would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank br558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanBushCamps, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear br558,
Thank you for visiting Khwai Tented Camp in June and it was a pleasure to have you and your family with us during your time in Africa. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time and found Khwai Tented Camp to be the highlight of you trip and that our Team made you feel "at home with family"! We are fortunate to have excellent wildlife sightings throughout the year at Khwai and we are grateful you had the opportunity to see leopards and lions during your time with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Khwai Tented Camp in the future.
Take Care and Kindest Regards
Khwai Tented Camp and the team at African Bush Camps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Khwai bush camp. It wasnt long enough as there was so much to see. Our guide was the renouned Pilot,an expert tracker, who did all he could to make our short stay exciting and on the first morning he found us a pack of wild dogs and we watched them devour a kill. Also saw so much more, lion, crocodile, elephants, hippos etc.
The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the decking outside
the tents was so tranquil.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our second visit at khwai tented camp. This time at the new location. Beautiful area. It is a real Bush camp. The food was very good, tks to Temptation, the whole staff very friendly. The tents are clean. You can sit outsite in front of you' re tent looking over the River, watching the beautiful area.

If you like real bush life....then khwai is a good place to be , there is hot water from buckets, no swimmingpool, and no internet etc. the way real bush camp must be.

We only know guide Pilot, for us....he is the most outstanding guide we've ever met. This was our second time with him, and again he made our staying very special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernaDienaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all, it is necessary to mention that this camp is not a semi-permanent camp anymore moving every x days. It is a real permanent camp since a few months. It is important to mention it as this is not what was mention on the website when we booked our trip.

We have been travelling with a group of 10 to Khwai Tented Camp during Christmas 2012 and all of the 8 adults have been very disappointed about the camp facilities (tents, common area,...), the view you have from your tent and the dining area (actually there is no view as it is a very closed place with no wide area / plain) and mainly about the service that was terrible!

The official price per night is $500 per person during the green season but as South African residents we have received a reduced price of $300 per person per night. Given the full price of $500 per person per night, we were really expecting to arrive in a very nice and luxury camp. Especially as African Bush Camp website mentions about Khwai that: “The camp has an aura of romance reflected through the elegant furnishings of colonial and tribal eras, and yet provides modern comfort and full service. Luxury semi permanent camp, Hemingway style. You will enjoy spacious and comfortable tented accommodation on wooden decking, with oversized twin beds and private en-suite bathrooms.”

However this is what we really have experienced:

1) The staff knew 10 guests were arriving as we had booked all the camp except 1 tent (and they knew we would be there any minute as the ranger came to pick us up in Khwai village), however they welcome us with 7 refreshing towels instead of 10. Three towels were missing but they would not move to bring 3 additional ones.

2). The gardener took my husband, the kids and I to our cottage. During that time, our 6 friends had to wait 30 minutes to be brought to their tent because Messi the manager wouldn’t show them their tent as long as we were not back from our cottage in the dining room.

3) My family and I were in the cottage when the waitress came and ask us to go to the dining room for high tea (we couldn’t have time to freshen up a bit or unpack or suitcase). When we arrive in the dining room, there was no high tea, only our friends who were very upset about them not allowed to go to their tents. When we arrived they finally all went to their tents, and we were left in the dining room on our own with nobody giving us any explanation about daily routine (game drive, lunch / dinner time,…).

4.) After an additional 45 minutes (still no high tea), we all decided to go on a game drive. When we were about to go in the truck, Messi, the manager came to say that high tea was served for everybody in the cottage (while it was supposed to be there 45 minutes earlier in the dining room!)

5.) Regarding the accommodation, the tents are absolutely nor luxurious nor spacious. They are probably the smallest tents of all the camps we have been through Botswana and South Africa. Very disappointing given the price paid. Especially as in Lynianti, another camp from African Bush Camp, the tents were approximately 3 times bigger and 10 time more luxurious for the same price at the same period.

6.) On the first evening, as from 9PM until the next day 11AM, there was NO water at all in the camp.The staff told us they forgot to fill up the water tank (whereas they knew 12 guests were arriving on the 24/12), however the management of African Bush Camp told us it was due to a technical problem... So nobody could shower, brush their teeth nor flush the toilets during 14 hours! This is TOTALLY unacceptable when you pay $500 per night per person (or even the discounted price of 300$ per person per night for SA residents).

7.) There is no hot water in the bathroom. We have to ask the personnel to bring hot water. Ok it is mentioned on the website however what is not mentioned is that most of the time they would look at you relatively annoyed and only bring one bucket of hot water while you are 2 persons in the tent willing to shower.

8.) In general, the personnel was friendly but relatively inefficient. They would not understand what you asked or you would have to ask 3 times before getting your coffee or your drink. One of my friend decided to skip the morning game drive in order to relax at the camp. She could not get breakfast when she woke up, she had to ask 5 different persons to have coffee,…

9.) Only lodge where there is no coffee, tea, cups,… in your room to make yourself a coffee but also none available in the main dining area.

10.) On the second day, I could not find my green drinking bottle that they give us so we can refill it all the time with water. I asked one of the waitress if I could get another one as the one on the counter were used and belong to some people that had left the camp obviously some days before! She just grab one of the bottles that were there since several days, with the name of an unknown person on it and told me that that one hadn’t been used (despite the fact that somebody had put his name on it and it was half filled with water since several days showing clearly that someone had been drinking from it)! When I asked if someone could at least wash that one she really seemed upset and annoyed! Fortunately, Temptation, the cook, was near us and told me immediately she would bring me a new one!

11) I gave some laundry to wash, I got my laundry in return but also half of the laundry from another room! I brought the laundry that wasn’t mine back but I was missing 2 of my husband’s underwear and one of my socks that nobody could find!

12) On the departure day, we asked for a breakfast at 7AM as we had a long drive to Lynianti. When a group of 10 people has to move and pack their suitcases, not everybody is ready at the same time so some are at breakfast at 7, other at 7.15, others don’t eat… however they would not prepare nor serve breakfast as long as everybody was seated! When everybody finally was there for breakfast, they started bringing plates and cutlery and we end up getting our breakfast at 7.45 with not enough food served. There was eggs for 6 persons whereas we were 10! We had to wait another 15 minutes to get some more eggs.

On a positive note, there were 2 very efficient people in Khwai:Temptation, the cooker (the food was amazing) and Pilot the ranger (that unfortunately took care of 2 other guests).

I am also quite “happy” that we, as a family, went into the cottage and not in a tent as at least this one is specious and provides hot water.

After Kwai, we went to Lynianti Ebony Camp, another African Bush Camp lodge, for which we paid the same price during the green season. Our experience was completely different there as Lynianti is a real luxury camp with great service!

We gave the feedback of our very bad experience at Khwai Tented Camp to African Bush Camp management but none of their answers to us was very convincing. It seems that for every single of our remarks they have a good excuse that is out of their responsibility (e.g: service is bad: it is because the 2 other guests were very difficult and putting lots of pressure on the staff; no water: it is because of a technical problem; laundry dissapear: well we shouldn't have given underwear to wash,...) . We also asked for a compensation for our very bad experience and only compensation we got back is one night free for 2 persons while we were a group of 10 travelling!

In conclusion, if you have $300 or 500 per person per night to spend, I would advise you to choose another camp where you will have a better value for your money.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, you should opt for the family cottage as at least there is hot water and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laurence_Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were greeted by the staff and treated like royalty! Ike, our guide was an amazing tracker. We saw 3 leopards, (one with a kill), two packs of wild dogs, a honey badger, several prides of lion, a Caracal cat and all of the usual animals.

The location, in Moremi Game Preserve and right next to Chobe National Park was a fantastic location. The tents are small and rustic and the lodge, an intimate place to relax. The staff is wonderful and they were eager to help us in any way they could. The food was outstanding and we felt very much at home!

Room Tip: All the are similar. If you take one farther away from the lodge, it's a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
23.9 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
288 reviews
57.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#13 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#23 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
10 reviews
64.4 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khwai Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khwai Tented Camp

Address: Khwai Community Area, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $460 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khwai Tented Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the perfect blend and co-existence between man and nature, where you will experience the best of wildlife in Botswana’s iconic Moremi Game Reserve combined with a taste of culture in the old village of Khwai.The camp affords small private groups, families or independent travellers within its capacity of only 8 beds.This is the old African safari experience that takes you back to experiencing Africa in a tent in a wilderness area.It is a combination of luxury camping and a permanent camp with the best wildlife highlights set in a community based wildlife resource area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing