We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic safari spot”
Review of Sango Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sango Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon in November 2012.
The staff were absolutely superb! We wished we had stayed here longer.
The tented accommodation was well appointed and spotlessly clean, but there is limited ventilation depending on the weather and it can get very warm in the rooms without a breeze. The food was also great with traditional options available from a buffet.
Guides were all very knowledgeable about the area and of course the animals! The small river out the front provided viewing from the camp including the occasional leopard. Drives within the reserve and Moremi are provided from this camp as well as mokoro trips and these were all excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dj24583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 252 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Wow, what a place!!! Sango should be the blueprint for all Safari camps. Set in pristine wilderness just outside the Okavango Delta, it has that raw wild feeling that is the essential ingredient for the authentic African experience (and too often missing). If you like the idea of a mobile safari but want some home comforts put Sango at the top of your list.
Accommodation is made up of canvas tenting on a supporting wooden structure with a good sized decking area overlooking the river – you will see game from the deck and this game will wander through camp at night so be forewarned !!!
Inside was far more “luxurious” than we expected: Nothing like a tent with wooden floors and furniture giving you that homely feeling. The bed was king-size and extremely comfortable and the linen was high quality and changed daily. The bathroom was similarly nice with flushing toilet, a beautiful basin area (for the ladies) and the compulsory outside shower with hot(ish) water from the newly installed solar heater. All this in a place that is truly in the middle of nowhere.
The food here is also fantastic, home cooked African fare served around the long camp table in the main bush tent all washed down with your favorite tipple from the bar. Night time was always good, having banter with our fellow guests and enjoying the bush stories from the guides who host the dinners. Your day will be breakfast; morning tea and snack; lunch; high tea; dinner. Prepare to put on weight!!!
Forget all the above though, you have come here to see animals – You can see them by game drive, mokoro or on a walking safari – this place is teeming with game and combined with the expert skills of the incredible Face (our guide) we saw pretty much everything. In fact when we landed there was an elephant at one end of the airstrip and a giraffe at the other. To give you a flavour: 2 prides of lions (one with a fresh zebra kill), a large male lion sleeping, wild dogs with pups!!!! 3 leopard sightings, buffalo, eagles, hippos, hundreds of elephants, kudu, ground horn bill, egret, heron, monitor lizard, crocs ………………… Think you the get the idea.
Finally, what really sets Sango apart is that it is run and part owned by the local community. Other places we visited a lot of the staff seemed down trodden due to the fact they lived away from their families for most of the year – for the guys from the Khwai this is not just a job but their lives and the difference it makes really shines through. Their passion is shown from the incredibly warm welcome songs (not the standard half hearted effort for the tourists) when entering the camp; to the intricate knowledge of the land and its animals born through generations of learning; to the hugs and farewells when that unfortunate time comes to leave.
And we were gutted to leave this place..........................We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WannabeMichaelPalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We loved this place! Judge and his team of staff have created a wonderful safari experience. It begins with a welcome: all the staff waiting to greet all newcomers with song and dance. The atmosphere is happy and relaxed; guests and staff share meals together and share the days experiences. The guides were extremely knowledgeable attentive. Our guide, Joel, was very expeienced and clearly loved his work: he made our trips into the bush so rewarding and we saw so much we lost count! We particuarly liked the fact that many of the staff came from the local village and that we had the opportunity to visit it with Joel, who introduced us to some of the people. Sango is done on a simpler style than many of the camps in Botwsana and we preferred this simpler less luxurious way of doing things. Having said that, it was not basic or uncomforatble in any way. The food was incredible - even to the extent of being able to provide a gluten and dairy-free diet for one of us. The tents were spacious and comfortable and the bucket showers geat fun! It can be noisy at night as the elephants break branches close by - but it's part of the wonderful safari experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magtow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Sango is a small, intimate lodge superbly run by a family from the nearby villlage, Khwai. We were welcomed by our guide and the manager, Face, who informed us we'd be having lunch with the elephants at 12:30! Sure enough, the elephants arrived on schedule! The tents are comfortable and well supplied. Face is a superb guide, very well informed about all the aspects that make a safari so interesting - the animals, birds, plants, surroundings - he is aware of them all.The staff entertained us well with dancing, and served us excellent food - not fancy but tasty and plentiful! Having the hippos walk up to the lodge and then along its length after dinner, near enough for us to hear them eating, was spectacular! Thanks to the whole family and staff for a fabulous time.

Room Tip: All are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at three camps in Botswana and this was by far our favourite. It is about one hour from Kesane by bush plane. Sango is hidden away and located near the village where the majority of the staff are from. When we arrived we were greeted by the beautiful voices of the staff singing us a welcome song - some breaking into dance. It was wonderful and so unexpected we just sat in the truck grinning like fools. The camp has six tents so you have a great opportunity to get to know the other guests over meals or on safari drives. Also the guides join the guests for meals which presents a wonderful opportunity to share stories of eachothers lives. The tents are well equipped with big comfy beds with amazing sheets - slept like lions. There are toiletries in the bathrooms and a solar powered shower. There is also bug repellent, bug spray for the room and an emergency air horn and the beds have mozzie nets. The daily routine is to be woken at 5:30, breakfast at 6 and then on the road around 6:45. When we were there the camp was not full and there were only two guides. Our guide was Bist, brother of Face (mentioned in other reviews). From my understanding Face owns the camp, and their father and a couple of other family members work there as well. They are very proud of Sango and that is reflected in everything they do. The morning drive or mocorro (canoe) trip ends around 10:45 (there is coffee/tea and a snack mid morning). You return to camp and lunch is at noon. Siesta is until 3 when a light meal (High Tea they call it) is served and soon after you leave on a drive until about 6:30. Near the end of this drive you stop for "sundowners" - the drink of your choice. Dinner is at 7:30 and your guide will collect you and return you to your tent after dinner. There are animals all around and this is for your safety. A bright flashlight is left with you every night. Must mention we never felt unsafe. It was very hot when we were there and we only needed a light jacket/sweater in the early morning or perhaps on the way back at 6:30. We wore sandals and shorts while on driving safaris and in the mocorros. Water was provided while on the drives and the guide had toilet paper and disposable bags for the "bush toilet". The guides also have ponchos for any sudden rain. In the afternoons it was wonderful to sit on our porch and watch elephants, impalas, hippos and a variety of birds grazing quite close. We did have an elephant right outside our tent eating a tree one night (4am) and from the main dining area we could see the hippos out of the water (with a flashlight) in the evening. The destruction of the elephants is everywhere nearby and in the village making you realize that this Camp is right in the middle of it - it was awesome! The food was very good and plentiful. All the drinks are included in the price, including alcohol. We took to putting some dinner red wine into the fridge when we returned from the afternoon drives as it was quite warm right off the shelf. There is power in your rooms in the evenings and the only charging station is behind the bar. Laundry was included in the cost and if you left it in the morning it was back by the afternoon. The animals were plentiful and our guide, Bist, always knew where to go. Check out the pictures attached. Sango Camp is highly recommended!!!!!! Email if you need more info.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaColwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Sango Safari Camp mid-way through our recent trip to South Africa, Botswana and Zambia and although we stayed at some more expensive places Sango left them all in the dust. The achievements of Face and his brother, father and family in establishing and leading a sensational team at Sango are truly humbling. I haven't even got to the game viewing yet which was unbelievably good thanks to the fact that Face and the other guides are in thsi area once again true professionals! We say 5 leopards in 3 days including two cubs; many elephants and hippos including from our exquisite safari tent's deck and at one point on a day that had begun with Face and a baby giraffe meeting us at the airstrip my husband excalimed "this looks like the garden of Eden"as we gazed across a panorama of zebra, giraffe, elephants and incredible birds. As a family travelling we coudl ask for nothing more! Thank you and best wishes to all at Sango and to the entire Kwai community !!

Room Tip: There are only seven tents so the key tip is to book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are going on safari and really want to do it right - this would be the camp that I would choose. From our greeting on arrival - both at the airstrip and the singing staff at the camp to our last minutes there, we were treated so well. The camp is lovely - natural and so comfortable at the same time. From our front deck we watched elephants and hippos. Our guide was Face and he was outstanding. He was interesting, knowledgeable and very respectful of the land and animals. Thanks to Face and his excellent driving skills we covered a lot of territory and saw an amazing variety of animals including lions, a leopard (and we will never forget her coming to lay down beside our truck - in search of a little shade, elephants, giraffes, hippos (right out front as we ate dinner), loads of impalas, bush bucks, painted dogs, kudo and more - and birds!

Our meals were good - not particularly fancy but good and tasty. We had coffee every morning with snacks part way through our morning game drive - and drinks and snacks at sunset at the end of our afternoon game drive.

An absolutely charming place. Thanks Joseph, Face and Judge for creating a truly wonderful experience for 'city folk' in such a natural way. Thanks for showing us your land.

Room Tip: All tents are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JarsBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
23.3 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
295 reviews
56.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
238 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#12 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#22 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
66.8 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
63.8 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sango Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sango Safari Camp

Address: Khwai Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $613 - $2,646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sango Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sango Safari Camp is nestled in the shade of the trees overlooking the Khwai River. Situated on the outskirts of the traditional village of Khwai and on the border of Moremi Game Reserve, the camp offers you the perfect base from which to explore the wildlife and culture of this unique habitat. This intimate safari camp is named for the Sango Family, some of the original inhabitants of the Khwai area, and now part owners of the camp. You will have the chance to learn first hand about the unique lifestyle and experiences that come from living and growing up in one of the most wildlife rich areas of Botswana. Accommodating 12 guests in 6 en-suite meru tents Sango Safari Camp is designed in the style of the classic tented safari camp of days gone by. With its open-air bucket showers, hand crafted furnishings and classic styling Sango Safari Camp aims to rekindle the atmosphere of the luxury mobile safari camp, successfully blending the rustic with the luxurious. With the Khwai River forming a natural border between the world famous Moremi Game Reserve and Khwai Concession, animals can travel freely through this vast unfenced wilderness. Situated on the river overlooking the Moremi and with access to both these magnificent wildlife areas, Sango Safari Camp is focused on delivering an exceptional wildlife experience. The camp’s location allows guests to take advantage of a host of wildlife activities which include; open vehicle game drives both in the Moremi and in the Khwai concession area, guided bush walks, and night drives. With a combination of permanent water, seasonal floodplains, open grasslands, riverine forests, and dry woodlands this incredibly rich habitat supports a diversity and abundance of mammals and birds rarely matched in northern Botswana. Sango Safari Camp invites you to share in this bounty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sango Safari Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing