We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”
Review of Sango Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sango Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We wanted to go mainly for wildlife watching and it was the perfect place. Although nothing is every guarenteed, our guide really tried to find the animals we were most hoping to see and gave really good information about them. We saw wild dog, leopard, and a lioness and her cubs, as well as many others.
If I am traveling in the area again, I will go back to this camp. The tents were clean, the camp staff really took our input as to what activities we wanted to do (they even organized a night drive because we asked), and they prepared delecious meals, snacks,and drinks, I was never hunger, that's for sure. All of our experiences with the camp from food to game drives and mokoros were top notch.
My one complaint is that tents were closer together than I was expecting.The camp is right on the river and we were often able to see elephants and hippos and they did come up on the river bank at night so maybe that is why the tents are spaced as they are, for safety.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    31
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
139
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have spent two nights from 13-15 of August 2012. We regret so much that we haven't booked for more days in Sango camp.

The game drives with Beast was absolute the top days of our safari trip. Beast is one cool bushman with soul, a very expericened guide. We have spotted female leopard, with her kill and with her young pub during our very first game drive off-road in the private concession. In Moremi park we have spotted 3 adults wild dogs with other 8 pubs hunting zebra, lions, honey badger... and even a chameleon! Thanks Beast for this wonderful memories!

The chef cooks very delicious food. Loved the welcome and goodbye song and dance. Every member of the staff has their own dance move.

Shower with one buket warm water was one unique experience in August in Khwai, but we felt that we have contributed to run the camp eco friendly. Pity that we haven't got chance to visit the local village.

We would recommend Sango camp to everyone and we would love to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in early August 2012. It is run by the local village and our guide was Judge, who also happens to be the big boss. The tents all face south overlooking the Khwai river and there were frequent animals visible and also visitors at night including an elephant. The camp is small and they have a welcome song! The tents are functional but whilst we were there there was a cold snap and it got to 4C at night. It was very very cold. They have flush toilets but the showers are bucket showers and on those cold days it was...cold. They are working on a solar hot water system which will round out the camp perfectly.

There is too much food and there is a communal fridge to stock up on water, soft drinks or alcohol.

The game in the concession is good and in the concession you can go bush whacking which is good to get nice and close to the animals. There is a lot of good game in the reserve where we saw 2 lots of cheetah and 2 leopards and a pride of lions. All the other guides are very nice and friendly, especially Joel or "Jo-el".

This placed is family oriented and it was clear that everyone was having a great time. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We loved our 3 nights at Sango and wished we could have stayed longer. Sango is truly exceptional and our kids felt welcome. It is an amazing place with easy access to both the Kwai concession and the Moremi game reserve. Beast was our guide and he was brilliant. We would love to be back at Sango at some point in the future. Many thanks for making our stay so exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in Sango camp in May 2012. Joel was our guide and was outstanding, not only as a guide but on a personal level also.Just a very nice person, as were all of the camp staff. The food was very good, dinners were always a special experience sitting with other travelers from around the world. the staff put on a singing show one night that was a lot of fun and another night they went through the effort to arrange a "bush dinner" complete with linens and candles.The cabins were large with very comfortable beds. We would go back without hesitation

Room Tip: we chose a room away from the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a truly amazing experience at Sango. We traveled with our two children, ages 7 and 9. The staff were wonderful with the children, especially our guide Face. The tents were comfortable, the food was delicious, and our guide Face was truly amazing ability to track and spot animals. We enjoyed every moment of our stay and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent four nights at the Sango Safari Camp with our children. We stayed in two of the six tents that are equipped with everything you need for a pleasant stay. The service is excellent, the staff very kind and the game drives are outstanding. - We definitely would stay again at the Sango Safari Camp if we will be back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
16.3 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
46 reviews
56.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
219 reviews
23.3 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
83 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
#10 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
176 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Sango Safari Camp

Property: Sango Safari Camp
Address: Khwai Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sango Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sango Safari Camp is nestled in the shade of the trees overlooking the Khwai River. Situated on the outskirts of the traditional village of Khwai and on the border of Moremi Game Reserve, the camp offers you the perfect base from which to explore the wildlife and culture of this unique habitat. This intimate safari camp is named for the Sango Family, some of the original inhabitants of the Khwai area, and now part owners of the camp. You will have the chance to learn first hand about the unique lifestyle and experiences that come from living and growing up in one of the most wildlife rich areas of Botswana. Accommodating 12 guests in 6 en-suite meru tents Sango Safari Camp is designed in the style of the classic tented safari camp of days gone by. With its open-air bucket showers, hand crafted furnishings and classic styling Sango Safari Camp aims to rekindle the atmosphere of the luxury mobile safari camp, successfully blending the rustic with the luxurious. With the Khwai River forming a natural border between the world famous Moremi Game Reserve and Khwai Concession, animals can travel freely through this vast unfenced wilderness. Situated on the river overlooking the Moremi and with access to both these magnificent wildlife areas, Sango Safari Camp is focused on delivering an exceptional wildlife experience. The camp’s location allows guests to take advantage of a host of wildlife activities which include; open vehicle game drives both in the Moremi and in the Khwai concession area, guided bush walks, and night drives. With a combination of permanent water, seasonal floodplains, open grasslands, riverine forests, and dry woodlands this incredibly rich habitat supports a diversity and abundance of mammals and birds rarely matched in northern Botswana. Sango Safari Camp invites you to share in this bounty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sango Safari Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing