We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wish we would have stayed longer!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sango Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sango Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Brindisi, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wish we would have stayed longer!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We wished we could have spent another day or two at Sango because that was the place where we did most of our game viewing. The guides at Sango put in extra time, taking us out whenever we wanted. We skipped dinner one night and had a long drive which made for 12 hours of game viewing on jeep and mokoro. We were able to see many animals even though we were there only a short time. We would DEFINITELY recommend Sango to anyone going. The food was great, the atmosphere was very much like a family, and the guides were very knowledgeable.

The beds were so comfortable...or maybe I was just so exhausted from all the time we spent looking for animals that I could have slept anywhere

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjkellerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
132
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our stay at Sango Safari Camp was very special. The Sango Family made it so.Our guide Face was extremely knowledgeable, patient with photo shoots,and an excellent driver, tracker and guide. His brother Judge, made us feel very welcome as did their Father, Joseph. We were a party of 6 and so had 3 mokoro polers, Jackie, Dixon and BB. They were very professional and knowledgable.....but fun as well. Our meals there were amazing!, served by Joseph, and it was like sitting around the Sango Family table ...everyone chatting about the day's events. The camp is situated on the water's edge,& at night we were lulled to sleep by the soft bush noises and the grunting hippos. Our rooms were excellent, clean and perfect in every way. The bedlinen felt luxurious, amazing pillows and snuggly duvets. At night we were all given a "bush baby" to take to bed. Perfect! All our group loved our stay,and especially the passion that the family/village shared with us. This eco camp would be the top of my list if we ever get back to Botswana. I would rate it easily, 10 Star!! Thanks Sango Team - you are Simply the Best!

Room Tip: I would say all rooms in this camp are equal. All face the water, are a good distance apart. The lin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie541226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Excellent 2 days spent in this camp run by the ancient river bushmen. Face & Jorge's knowlege of the bush is incredible and we saw the most game here, of the 3 camps we went to. Tales of their San heritage made for interesting dinner table conversation. Basic but comfortable and beautifully appointed tents. Situated on the edge of the Okavango delta they offer game drives, bush walks and mokoro trips as activities and they do try to accommodate your preferences. Face used to work at a research project sponsored by the Princes Trust, so his knowledge of predator behaviour is encyclopaedic. Will definitly go back for a longer period

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We experienced sango safari camp as one of the most beautiful and peacefull places in Okavango Delta with excellent guiding and service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allovertheworld33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had a great experience at Sango...very well taken care of by Judge, the owner and his brother, Face, our guide. The camp is really lovely and comfortable, right on the Khwai River. The entire staff was so friendly and attentive we felt right at home from our first minute there. Food was delicious, mostly served buffet style. We were able to take mokoros out on the river twice....just beautiful. The wildlife and scenery are outstanding in this area. We saw so much thanks to Face and Joel. The Okavango Delta was the highlight of our trip to Africa and Sango Camp was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

My sister and I spent three nights here and had a wonderful time. We were greeted by the staff who sang traditional songs, and could have been backup for Paul Simon they were so good. The food was excellent. The staff went out of their way to accommodate my sister who has some physical challenges (bad knees). Our guide, the camp manager and part owner Josh was informative, immensely knowledgeable and went out of his way to find amazing things to see.
Just remember there is no electricity nor continuous hotwater.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigMNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

was surprised with the service,was picked on transfered & taken care extremely well!

Marc one of the owners is so passionate about what he has built and genuinely cares about being eco friendly & respecting the serene nature. Its evident in the set up of the whole camp.Using solar lamps, sugar cane oil lamps, hot water on demand and tents without taking too much of the environment &no loud gas guzzling generators.Even as someone who doesnt really care, i was touched by the story and have a new found respect for what nature has given us

This doesnt however take away any of the joys of the luxury stay. The staff very super friendly and were always around to ensure we were taken good care, be it meals, drinks or any other service. They were always very friendly & the guides, esp one called FACE was very knowledgeable. They went out of the way to ensure we had a good game experience & also the mokoro trip was great

location is also perfect, drove one way from maun (cheaper), its 5 mins from the moremi reserve (where we saw 2 leopard cubs), its on the river (with hippos going up and down)

so if you want ultimate luxury and airconditioned rooms with 5 towel changes, dont go here. if you want a real bush experience without having to rough it...this place is the best value (cost wise it was half th price of other luxury places). Comfy tents/beds, good food , great guides, happy staff but no electricity or mobile networks

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
16.3 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
24.4 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
56.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
#23 of 44 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sango Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sango Safari Camp

Property: Sango Safari Camp
Address: Khwai Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sango Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sango Safari Camp is nestled in the shade of the trees overlooking the Khwai River. Situated on the outskirts of the traditional village of Khwai and on the border of Moremi Game Reserve, the camp offers you the perfect base from which to explore the wildlife and culture of this unique habitat. This intimate safari camp is named for the Sango Family, some of the original inhabitants of the Khwai area, and now part owners of the camp. You will have the chance to learn first hand about the unique lifestyle and experiences that come from living and growing up in one of the most wildlife rich areas of Botswana. Accommodating 12 guests in 6 en-suite meru tents Sango Safari Camp is designed in the style of the classic tented safari camp of days gone by. With its open-air bucket showers, hand crafted furnishings and classic styling Sango Safari Camp aims to rekindle the atmosphere of the luxury mobile safari camp, successfully blending the rustic with the luxurious. With the Khwai River forming a natural border between the world famous Moremi Game Reserve and Khwai Concession, animals can travel freely through this vast unfenced wilderness. Situated on the river overlooking the Moremi and with access to both these magnificent wildlife areas, Sango Safari Camp is focused on delivering an exceptional wildlife experience. The camp’s location allows guests to take advantage of a host of wildlife activities which include; open vehicle game drives both in the Moremi and in the Khwai concession area, guided bush walks, and night drives. With a combination of permanent water, seasonal floodplains, open grasslands, riverine forests, and dry woodlands this incredibly rich habitat supports a diversity and abundance of mammals and birds rarely matched in northern Botswana. Sango Safari Camp invites you to share in this bounty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sango Safari Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing