We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
45
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews likes and dislikes mokoro boat wild dogs game drives african bush wonderful staff dudu albert dodo singing privilege nico safari lodge properties zebra guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 46 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Great safaris with every animal except the Rhino, very comfortable accomodation, loveable warm welcome by Dudu, Kaytee and all the other good singers. Excellent food - compliments to Chef LB and Chef Trish. We would have liked to stay on!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank angeladP4132XY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tradeABC, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Hi Angela,

Thank you for your review on Khwai Bush Camp. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With Regards,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2019

Dear Khwai Bush Camp,

It has been a remarkable 4 nights at Khwai Bush Camp. I am very much tempted to declare that all safaris have to be with African bush camp and them only haha, our agent promised that it would be a highlight of the trip and it truly was the best way to end our honeymoon at Khwai.

Kaytee was a truly fantastic host and a great conversationalist. He takes pride in the little things that count and the staff under him reflects these beliefs too. The camp is beautifully designed, maintained and decorated. Nothing is too small when it comes to attention to detail. It's also very comforting to see that part of the touristic revenue is funnelled back to the Khwai village. And the whole camp is solar powered! Every guest's needs is cared for and dining arrangements are carried out in a way that it feels like home. It has been a privilege to be a guest at Khwai Bush Camp and we hope to bring our family back in the future (plus visit other African Bush camp properties).
Q
Some minor points for feedback:
1. Our care was by host Dudu at the start, she did her job well, but there was a definite difference felt when Kaytee arrived. It may be wrong to compare the two, as each has their styles, but the intricate pleasure that Kaytee placed into making us feel treasured was deeply felt and appreciated. Thank you for the romantic decoration of the room on the 3rd night! And champagne that we shared with the rest of the guests (who had become like friends).
2. Meals were prepared in a fine dining style, something extremely hard to achieve in a bush camp enviornment. Perhaps that's why the soups were cold? Still delicious but just some small feedback! And I personally felt it was too dim (or maybe this was a romantic style that I'm not used to), would have preferred a more lit up enviornment to view my plating. Kudos to the chef though on the thoughtful presentation, dietary changes based on guests preferences and thoughtful pairing of wines, not easy to achieve in such a remote location.
3. Guide - now this is a difficult conclusion to arrive at. Moremi was our 2nd safari and a vastly different one compared to Kasane (drier and more open landscape, perhaps easier to spot wildlife in our previous safari) and again, may be unfair to compare our experiences with guides in different camps. We had Albert, who achieved a good experience for us. We saw plenty - wild dogs, countless bird species, antelopes, zebras, giraffe, hippos and so many lions. However it is worth a mention that it makes one wonder what we might have missed when guests spot wildlife that the guide doesn't that's not to say that Albert isn't a fantastic tracker, it just perhaps felt like he wasn't present/focused during the drives between locations. When he wanted to, the wildlife were plenty spotted. Or maybe I had too high expectations after reading reviews on other guides that guests had with African bush camps. Albert nonetheless delivered the safari well and professionally!

A very special mention to Mighty - who drove us to the airport to on the last day. We appreciated the little stops on to way to say goodbye to the animals along the road and especially was touched that he stayed all the way to bid us farewell from the tarmac. It truly felt like we were family members saying goodbye. It made the leaving of Khwai all the harder. That's what African bush camp does, it transforms a holiday into something very very special and unforgettable. We hope to come back one day.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Elainejmpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tradeABC, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2019

Good Day Elaine,

We can't thank you enough for sharing your fantastic review on Khwai Bush Camp.

I have shared this lovely feedback with our team and they will be thrilled to receive it!

We have also noted the above points and will send through to our operation team. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2019

Was there in October/November 2019 as an Africa-experienced single traveller for two nights to explore the neighboring Moremi park. After a stay at a tented camp, the stone-walled rondavel huts with mosquito-windows were a welcome add-on, especially since it rained quite substantially during the night. Animals including elephant, come very close to the porch (or walk trough the camp altogether).

The staff is thoroughly friendly, the guide, Mighty, one of the best I have ever had in the whole of Africa. Very knowledgeable and locally experienced, with a very good feel for interest of his guests and certainly willing to go the extra mile.

The activities were well-balanced, well-organised and the breathtakingly close encounters with elephant, crocs (on the Mokoro boat), Leopard and breathtaking hunting-scenes with wild dogs were among the best Safari experience I have had so far.

As anywhere in Botswana: Look out which season you are going - mine was perfect I could not have picked it better. A true five star location and service.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkaetzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tradeABC, Guest Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Good Day,

Thank you for this lovely feedback and taking the time to leave it. Isn't it fantastic to be surrounded by raw nature.

Will certainly share this with our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019

Our recent three day experience at the Khwai Bush Camp was way above the expected from the 5 star product I bought.
The attention we received from the outset made us feel like royalty. I am referring to Dodo our hostess, to Dee, Lolo and Onks the housekeepers, and Sandra and B the waitresses.Their attention and smiling faces followed us throughout our stay. We were treated to traditional Botswana dancing and singing. To Sandra and B the cooks who came at high tea to discuss our evening dinner menus, our compliments on outstanding gourmet creations. And all this in a Bush Camp in the heart of Africa, at the end of a dusty dirt road, with the grunt of Hippos in the background.
And especially to our superlative guides Albert and DT, what a privilege to have spent time out in the bush with such professionals. I am aware that this is their routine for all clients, but for us it was personal and an unforgettable experience. We learned so much from them, not only about lions but also about ant lions, of about how to be guided by animal tracks, about termite mounds, exotic birds, and of course the many animals.The early colonial explorers could not have penetrated into Africa without the guidance of such local experienced trackers.
To the company, the logistics was flawless from the beginning to end.
Expensive, beyond expectations, worth every penny.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joseph_lowe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tradeABC, Guest Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Good Day Joseph,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. I believe you have captured the heart of what we at African Bush Camps are trying to achieve.

Amazing to have such wonderful wildlife sightings!

We hope to welcome you back soon, all the best until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2019

From the welcome by the staff to the departure dinner, this camp was easily the best of our 6 week tour of Africa. It wasn't just seeing 4 of the big 5, and watching so much animal behaviour, our guide Sinka, explained everything we saw clearly and seemed to be able to find all the birds and animals we wanted to see. The host Kaytee just could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. All the staff created a pleasurable and friendly environment where we really felt like we were being taken in to their family. We will try to get back sometime in the future and can't recomment this camp too highly.

Room tip: All the rooms are good
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RobMelloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tradeABC, Public Relations Manager at Khwai Bush Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Good Day RobMelloy,

Thank you for leaving this lovely review, it is wonderful to receive it. I am thrilled that you had such a fantastic time!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews