We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
169
11
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
11
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ker downey king solomon wild dogs game viewing kanana camp carmine bee eaters the staff were extremely helpful several reasons large table okavango delta pre dinner drinks deck overlooking the river outdoor bath rooms are beautifully appointed under canvas electric fence boat trip
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 186 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2015

We had a fabulous family get together at Camp Okuti from 29 December 2014 to 2 January 2015.
We are residents of Botswana with adult children living in USA and UK and decided to get together in the beautiful Okavango Delta. The management and staff of Camp Okuti certainly extended themselves beyond the call of duty to make our stay a wonderful, unforgettable experience for all. We certainly hope to visit again!

Room tip: This is a place where you must switch off from all connectivity so it is best that there is no wifi. December was hot season and the rooms are not air conditioned.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDeSilvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2015

Sadly, I just stayed one night in the amazingly beautiful lodge!

The ROOM was stunning!! It was huge, clean and tidy, had an outside shower (beautiful at night), a fantastic view from the veranda, an enormous and comfortable bed (I slept like a queen :D ) and was very quiet.

The PUBLIC AREAS such as the restaurant, fire place and living room (well, the room with the couches) were also very comfortable.

The STAFF was super friendly, helpful and welcoming and even sang a welcome song when I arrived! Everyone always tries (successfully) to let you have a fantastic time.

The FOOD was terrific!! I mean like really, really delicious!

The ACTIVITIES: You have two activities per day: one in the morning and one in the afternoon. You can choose between Game Drives and Boat Rides. Since I only stayed one night (wouldn't recommend that, far too short) I could only do the Game Drives. Those where excellent though! We saw a lot of wildlife and the wetlands of the delta are just beautiful! The guides teach you a lot and always spot even the tiniest animals. Also, we had tea breaks at very lovely spots.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anomaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2014

Very comfortable camp, and the friendly staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our guide, Solani, was experienced and full of information. He showed us lots of beautiful birds and animals, which we'd never have seen without him. There were only 6 guests when we were there, and it was nice that we ate all together with the staff. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skinner a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2014

We stayed at Okuti for two nights during our trip to Botswana.
The camp was one of the highlights of our trip. Everyone from the staff was super nice and the did a musical performance one night that was just great not cheesy at all.
The design of the camp is very clever and the barrel like structure you stay in all overlook the lagoon.
Our guide Nando was also great you could feel that he really loved his job. He had a story to tell and information to pass on all the time. We saw leopards, lions, wild dogs, etc. on the frives and lots of birds. etc. on our boat trip.
This is definitely the place to sty if you are in that region of the Okavango delta.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gkrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2014

Okuti Camp is just 15 minutes from the airstrip so not long after you land, you are welcomed at the camp by half a dozen staff singing their welcome to you while they dance. Lovely!
Okuti is quite big compared to some of the other camps we stayed at but that didn’t take anything away. The ‘tents’ are very spacious and well appointed, and one thing that I really liked was the choice of an outdoor or indoor shower – even in the extreme heat of the afternoon an outdoor shower will cool you down and make you feel better. From our deck in the evenings we sat and watched the fireflies and listened to the hippos talking to each other. We had two very restful nights here as the camp is surrounded by fences and so the elephants stayed away.
As with everywhere we stayed in Botswana, the staff were excellent, and committed to making sure that all guests enjoy their time there. Our guide, Solly, (or King Solomon as he introduced himself) was brilliant – he had a great sense of humour and was very good at spotting game that the rest of couldn’t see at all, including a leopard in a tree – it was the highlight of that game drive. Solly is well known – we visited two other camps after Okuti and everyone at both of them knew him. Each guide only looks after two groups, maximum 6 people, which works extremely well.
The meals were excellent, there was a full range of drinks in the fridge except for cider which would have been lovely in that hot weather. The sundowners were exceptional as Solly found some beautiful locations to watch the sun set, and the game viewing was also very good. There is also the option to go out on the delta in a boat, and we did this one evening – we saw elephants crossing the water, plenty of hippos and colonies of birds as they settled down for the night, all in the same area.
No wifi at Okuti but there is a computer in the lounge where you can check world events and emails if you wish. The lounge is well situated to catch any breezes and has big overstuffed sofas, just made for relaxing with a cold drink on a hot afternoon.
One small thing is that the safes are not the modern type, they unlock with a key, which would be fine except that we found it impossible to take the key off the ring which also had the room key, which is left with the staff when you go out for your morning activity. It would be good to have the peace of mind that no-one could access your belongings in the safe and I recommend that this issue is addressed.
I highly recommend this camp – we felt that we were living in the lap of luxury, and knowing that we would not be visited by elephants overnight was great.

Room tip: all tents are the same but if you want real peace and quiet choose one further away from the communal areas and kitchens.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mzurisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews