We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid camp managed by a welcoming and fabulous team”
Review of Okuti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okuti
Certificate of Excellence
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Splendid camp managed by a welcoming and fabulous team”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in April for three nights at the Okute Camp with our 9 year old daughter. This camp is splendid, perfectily situated with postcard views and managed perfectly. The team at the Camp made the difference and were fabulous. The rooms are very large, even with balcony and clean. Food and wine at the camp were excellent. We have seen lots of wildlife in particular by Jeep. We recommend this camp in particular for families with children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkusL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
87
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to Okuti camp, so said a 5 star camp. We enjoyed the trip but expected more from the camp itself. Rooms were very nice but there was no bath as you would expect in a 5 star place. Also if you wanted to dry your hair with a hairdryer you had to go to the lounge where there was no privacy. Food was average, there was no choice and I also found there was no atmosphere at the camp.
But it was not all bad, we enjoyed the drives with our guide Solly, which I must give an extra thumb up to do a good job. He went out of his way to find leopards, lions etc. etc. and this made up for everything else. Thanks to Solly we had a trip we will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleBelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having spent 2 nights in the desert the delta was a total contrast and okuti is perfectly situated to take in the environment. Looking over the xackanaxa lagoon the room was not what I would describe as a tent it was beautifully constructed with carved hardwood indoor and fleshing out door shower nice touch.
Saw the big five and my best leopard with kill until wild dogs and baboons turned up though he soon returned to finish up.
Food was fantastic and brought to you with African song which helps remind you where you actually are!
Great staff and guides add to the whole experience

Room Tip: All rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our second camp on the trip to Okavango absolutely lived up to the standard of the first. No complaints whatsoever except we wanted to stay longer. Aubrey was a superb guide. The staff were so helpfull and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkRobA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I cannot begin to share our amazing memories from the Okuti Camp. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our every moment with the Okuti staff was impressively informative and interesting. We loved the communal dining experiences and delightful menus. Our guide was knowledgable and informative. Our room/tent/house was beautifully decorated and private, with a view that kept my camera busy.

Room Tip: All of the rooms/houses are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Okuti is a delightful camp. The staff are extremely attentive and welcoming and our guide Solly was knowledgeable, accommodating and good fun. The rooms are very comfortable and the views wonderful. Things do go “bump” in the night but we are in the middle of a game reserve and the camp is “open”. The nets are effective and we did not get bitten but you do have to get used to the very large insects that want to share any light you have – this is true of any camp in Africa so not a particular issue here. I learnt to use light in the evenings very sparingly!!

As others have said the lighting is very low (not enough to read at night) but this is true of all the camps we went to in Botswana and this was one of the better ones. The vehicles are well equipped, spotless and afford marvellous views of the animals as they are tall sided vehicles and open.

The chefs are excellent and we were well fed. The wines on offer were also very palatable and mainly South African in nature. Dinner was a little formal for our liking and we would have preferred a more relaxed approach but that is personal choice.

In summary - a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkers234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Really good lodge. Fantastic staff and the rooms are so unique. Good food and a great service. Everything you could want from a lodge. Beautiful location but the forest does make wildlife viewing difficult. A really peaceful space to enjoy the amazing scenery. Special mention to our guide Isaac, really made our trip. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
9.7 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
275 reviews
38.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
22.5 mi away
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
84 reviews
46.9 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
27.7 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okuti

Property: Okuti
Address: Xakanaka, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okuti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Okuti you will discover the treasure trove of wildlife that inhabits the Moremi Game Reserve, one of Botswana’s prime wilderness areas. The ceiling fan cooled rooms have en-suite bathrooms and both indoor and outdoor showers. Each room has a magnificent view of the Xakanaxa lagoon. Public areas include a dining room, sitting room, swimming pool and campfire.Game drives are conducted by specially adapted four wheel drive vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Okuti Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing