We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Continuing the saga”
Review of Okuti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okuti
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Continuing the saga”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our second camp on the trip to Okavango absolutely lived up to the standard of the first. No complaints whatsoever except we wanted to stay longer. Aubrey was a superb guide. The staff were so helpfull and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkRobA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
80
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I cannot begin to share our amazing memories from the Okuti Camp. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our every moment with the Okuti staff was impressively informative and interesting. We loved the communal dining experiences and delightful menus. Our guide was knowledgable and informative. Our room/tent/house was beautifully decorated and private, with a view that kept my camera busy.

Room Tip: All of the rooms/houses are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Okuti is a delightful camp. The staff are extremely attentive and welcoming and our guide Solly was knowledgeable, accommodating and good fun. The rooms are very comfortable and the views wonderful. Things do go “bump” in the night but we are in the middle of a game reserve and the camp is “open”. The nets are effective and we did not get bitten but you do have to get used to the very large insects that want to share any light you have – this is true of any camp in Africa so not a particular issue here. I learnt to use light in the evenings very sparingly!!

As others have said the lighting is very low (not enough to read at night) but this is true of all the camps we went to in Botswana and this was one of the better ones. The vehicles are well equipped, spotless and afford marvellous views of the animals as they are tall sided vehicles and open.

The chefs are excellent and we were well fed. The wines on offer were also very palatable and mainly South African in nature. Dinner was a little formal for our liking and we would have preferred a more relaxed approach but that is personal choice.

In summary - a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkers234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Really good lodge. Fantastic staff and the rooms are so unique. Good food and a great service. Everything you could want from a lodge. Beautiful location but the forest does make wildlife viewing difficult. A really peaceful space to enjoy the amazing scenery. Special mention to our guide Isaac, really made our trip. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent two nights in this intimate resort in the Okavango delta. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. The views onto the river were wonderful. What a treat it was to sit on our balcony and listen to the chirping of the birds and insects while watching the reeds in the water sway in the wind. There is very little light at night in the rooms so be prepared to go to sleep early! The food was the best I ate during our entire 3 weeks in Africa. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. My husband felt ill one night and the kitchen staff prepared him a lovely meal for his room. Our guide Isaac was very good. He drove for hours to find a male lion for us. Animal sightings were not as plentiful as in Kruger Park but we were very fortunate to be able to see lion cubs, the male lion, a family of young hyenas, and an eagle owl. What I loved about this resort was how peaceful it was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Camp Okuti for 2 days, on our first trip to Botswana. The camp is situated along a river, and the rooms overlook the river. The views are amazing especially at sunrise and sunset.

Lovely decor, thatched roofs and traditional furnishings make this camp one of a kind.

The variety and quality of foods was amazing too. And they were very careful to accomodate any dietary restrictions, which we had mentioned while booking.
All the staff were extremely helpful, and took very good care of us.

Our Safari guide was excellent too, and not only showed us many animals, but also told us a lot about their life, their habits etc.

We would love to go back again sometime!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Moremi is a wonderful place. The okuti camp is nice. We were on honeymoon and unfortunately we did not received the expected treatment. We visited different camps in botswana and the only one without honeymoon treatment was the Okuti camp! upset! The positive note is about the guide Solly who was very prepared and skilled. Not to go on honeymoon ..go to Kanana

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
38.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
9.0 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
47.0 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#32 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okuti

Property: Okuti
Address: Xakanaka, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okuti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Okuti you will discover the treasure trove of wildlife that inhabits the Moremi Game Reserve, one of Botswana’s prime wilderness areas. The ceiling fan cooled rooms have en-suite bathrooms and both indoor and outdoor showers. Each room has a magnificent view of the Xakanaxa lagoon. Public areas include a dining room, sitting room, swimming pool and campfire.Game drives are conducted by specially adapted four wheel drive vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Okuti Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing