We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Okuti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okuti
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Really good lodge. Fantastic staff and the rooms are so unique. Good food and a great service. Everything you could want from a lodge. Beautiful location but the forest does make wildlife viewing difficult. A really peaceful space to enjoy the amazing scenery. Special mention to our guide Isaac, really made our trip. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
85
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent two nights in this intimate resort in the Okavango delta. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. The views onto the river were wonderful. What a treat it was to sit on our balcony and listen to the chirping of the birds and insects while watching the reeds in the water sway in the wind. There is very little light at night in the rooms so be prepared to go to sleep early! The food was the best I ate during our entire 3 weeks in Africa. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. My husband felt ill one night and the kitchen staff prepared him a lovely meal for his room. Our guide Isaac was very good. He drove for hours to find a male lion for us. Animal sightings were not as plentiful as in Kruger Park but we were very fortunate to be able to see lion cubs, the male lion, a family of young hyenas, and an eagle owl. What I loved about this resort was how peaceful it was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Camp Okuti for 2 days, on our first trip to Botswana. The camp is situated along a river, and the rooms overlook the river. The views are amazing especially at sunrise and sunset.

Lovely decor, thatched roofs and traditional furnishings make this camp one of a kind.

The variety and quality of foods was amazing too. And they were very careful to accomodate any dietary restrictions, which we had mentioned while booking.
All the staff were extremely helpful, and took very good care of us.

Our Safari guide was excellent too, and not only showed us many animals, but also told us a lot about their life, their habits etc.

We would love to go back again sometime!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Moremi is a wonderful place. The okuti camp is nice. We were on honeymoon and unfortunately we did not received the expected treatment. We visited different camps in botswana and the only one without honeymoon treatment was the Okuti camp! upset! The positive note is about the guide Solly who was very prepared and skilled. Not to go on honeymoon ..go to Kanana

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Friendly staff, knowledgeable game drive guides (Nando Nando), excellent food. Eating with the staff is a brilliant way to learn about Botswana as well. Staff singing and dancing was such fun and the pre-dinner drinks around the fire great for meeting other travellors. Free bar as well although drink in moderation needed due to the early starts (the hot water bottles were a lovely touch). See if you can do the day long drive - we too saw a huge pod of hippos with Nando and ate lunch under the trees where they sleep. Driving over Third Bridge was an experience after the elephants had trashed it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank binnsini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The meeting at the airport was great and our guide Solly (short for Solomon) was terrific. Entertaining, knowledgeable and effective. So many highlights, but seeing a lion eating a buffalo was the most incredible. The lodge is excellent, with nice lodgings and an excellent place for dinner and sitting around the fire. Would have been good to have more protection from the cold in July (there balcony has netting not windows) but we still had a great time. All the staff singing to us when we arrived made us feel so welcome, and John was a very experienced and friendly manager who runs a tight ship.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MHuddart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Okuti, although it was my least favorite of the three camps we visited in Botswana. This had nothing to do with the staff or service, but rather the location within the national park.. Because of being inside the park, they operate under different rules than the other two camps we visited--i.e. no driving off road, which means you can't get as close to the animals, no night drives, and many more vehicles in the park since it's open to everyone, including people doing their own camping or driving in for the day. That said, the staff was outstanding--it's a small camp, and very friendly. The food was excellent, served family style at dinner, with the guides and management joining the guests at the dinner table. One of the days we had a day-long game drive in which we were gone for 9 hours and went way out in the park, where we felt much more like we were in a private reserve. That day we saw a huge pod of 45 hippos! We had an excellent guide, Nando, and enjoyed water activities as well as the game drives. The rooms were beautifully decorated and felt very luxurious despite being in a tent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
9.7 mi away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#2 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
273 reviews
38.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
219 reviews
22.5 mi away
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
Belmond Khwai River Lodge
#9 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#15 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
83 reviews
46.9 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
224 reviews
47.0 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okuti

Property: Okuti
Address: Xakanaka, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okuti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Okuti you will discover the treasure trove of wildlife that inhabits the Moremi Game Reserve, one of Botswana’s prime wilderness areas. The ceiling fan cooled rooms have en-suite bathrooms and both indoor and outdoor showers. Each room has a magnificent view of the Xakanaxa lagoon. Public areas include a dining room, sitting room, swimming pool and campfire.Game drives are conducted by specially adapted four wheel drive vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Okuti Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing