We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lodge but difficult for camping”
Review of Nata Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nata Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nata
Certificate of Excellence
Bobonong, North-East, Botswana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice lodge but difficult for camping”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Grounds a very nice. But camping with only a tent is difficult since there is very little shade. Tour out to the pans was a little disappointing. We just drove to the edge if a pans and we expected to drive a bit more in, however the suns set was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travler123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    170
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
63
152
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Nata Lodge for a couple nights while enroute to Kasane. I really enjoyed this lodge especially after having been bush camping and driving for days. The staff was welcoming too! Then we decided to have cold drinks & hit the pool. The pool area and bar/restaurant was tops. The food and service was great also. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and super nice. The outdoor shower was so great! I would recommend this lodge, with no problem! What a sweet little oasis.........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shredbetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is an excellent lodge on the Gaborone to Kasane/Maun roads. We have stayed in both the chalets and the tents and I found them comfortable, clean and in general a great place to stop in, especially if you want to avoid driving to Maun and Kasane in the dark on those roads with their donkey and pothole based challenges. If you are looking to explore the pans this is also a great place to base yourself. The tents especially are excellent value for money and are comfortable and essentially the Nata equivalent of staying in a tented lodge in the delta. The restaurant food is good and plentiful and staff friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safari and Guid... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We where so very pleasantly surprised with this little gem! After a long journey we where welcomed by very friendly staff and the chalets are really lovely!! There is a lot of attention to detail~ I don't think the pictures on the website do it justice. The pool was most welcome and the restaurant served great meals from an a la carte menu which we prefer to these huge buffets.
I would certainly recommend it & would have liked to stay an extra night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the middle of an overland trip through Southern Africa. When we got to the campsite two "security guards" came and sat and watched us set up our tents and settle in. They stayed until we left for dinner when they also left, in the morning they came back at around 530am and just sat and watched us. What made it worse was that our "campsite" was right beside the washrooms so we had no privacy in the washrooms or showers because those guys were sitting there constantly. We also went to the restaurant for dinner and it was terrible. Our server was extremely grumpy, she threw the bread on the table and she was clearly irritated at having to serve us. Overall a terrible experience here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasane, Botswana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped at Nata Lodge on our way from Francistown to Kasane and stayed at one of their safari tents. The accommodation was amazing, one of the best outside showers I have been to (nice touch the net on top), linen and duvet on the beds were amazing! Everything was super clean. I had the stew that came in a little potje and it was fabulous! Gobe the manager was absolutely amazing one step ahead of what we needed. For the first time since I have been in Botswana the pool had a perfect temperature, how do you heat it? Please share it with the other lodges!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twincactus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Before writing further I must unfortunately agree with one reviewers comments about the shop assistant at the lodges curio shop - very grumbling indeed.

Having said that Nata proved to be a delight after a full days travel. The reception was welcoming and the allocation of the accommodation, especially as we had not booked, was very efficient,.

We had planned on a nights camping and the shower and toilet facilities for the camp sights looked very well maintained and quaint. However I can recommend to the lodge that numbering and allowing booking of the sites would be a great assistance to travellers. Also the power points were not easily accessible and unless you carried a very long extension it is possible you would not have sufficient length to get to a site you might choose. (We carried a 25 Meter extension and it was not going to be sufficient to meet the needs of the site we would have chosen.

Nevertheless after two nights of previous camping we were happy for the opportunity to make use of one of the lodge chalets and they are very comfortable and with the aircon a welcome break from the exhausting heat that we had experienced. The showers in these chalets are also fun and after a long days drive not much can beat the warm water shower under open skies.

The lodge management couple in particular deserve special mention (Dianne and her husband) and their local knowledge when asked about excursion in the area and onward travel plans was exceptional and patient. Just what a weary traveller needs when the brain is in near shut down mode.

A well worth stop over when in the Makgadikgadi area or heading onward to Kasane or Maun. (But better still make it a two night stay and really relax at the inviting pool)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nata
5.3 mi away
Pelican Lodge & Camping
0.0 mi away
Northgate Lodge
Northgate Lodge
#4 of 8 in Nata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
177.9 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gweta Lodge
Gweta Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gweta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
0.0 mi away
Rivernest Boutique Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nata Lodge

Property: Nata Lodge
Address: A3 Highway | PO Box 10, Nata, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Central District > Nata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nata Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION & ACCESS: Nata Lodge is an oasis set among the Mokolwane Palms on the edge of the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans. The lodge is ideally situated close to the entrance of the Nata Bird Sanctuary, is just off the main road and 10km south of Nata Village. This is the junction to the Okavango, Chobe National Park, Victoria Falls Zimbabwe/ Zambia and Francistown areas. ACCOMMODATION: Nata Lodge offers 22 Luxury thatched chalets built on stilts and set in rustic African style, with bathroom en-suite including indoor bath and outdoor shower and now boats air-conditioning. 10 custom designed meru tents set on wooden decks with en suite bathroom and outdoor showers. All our beds are of twin bed configuration. 2 Family Chalets to accommodate 4 pax ( twin beds and bunk bed) and 1 Chalet has been built to accommodate not only the physically challenged but also those guests who require easier access to the shower and toilet. Our camping site boasts stylish semi open ladies and gents ablution facilities with hot and cold showers. FACILITIES: 50 - seater indoor restaurant with open air patio. Continental and English breakfast with buffets served over busy periods. Lunches consist of a patio/terrace menu with some of the old favorites and some new ones. Dinner menus vary between a la carte and traditional African buffet/ braais on busy occasions. The bar area overlooks our crystal blue swimming pool and offers a wide range of ice cold refreshments. Curio shop offers African crafts, jewellery, reading material, maps and clothing. Onward booking facility for accommodation and activities on the Chobe River as well as at Victoria Falls and the Okavango Delta. ACTIVITIES: Activities on offer are quad biking around the dusty tracks of the pans and surrounding areas and exploring the Nata Bird Sanctuary in our open 4x4 safari vehicles. The Sanctuary is a Community based project and boasts lots of birdlife species including spectacular sightings of Flamingos and Pelicans in breeding season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing