We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Sands Botswana
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
177
169
82
27
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
169
82
27
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holewild elephantselephants comingdrink waterbe carefulelephant experienceon stiltsan amazing experiencedry seasonelephants drinkingfew meterstented chaletswithin feetyour eyesbar areasouthern africa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 484 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is not a negative review on Elephant Sand, but rather an explanation why I do not like it and sincerely believe the place should be closed down, or change the concept.
Obviously, the only attraction of the lodge, except the price, is the elephants. For foreign tourists who do not know anything about the bush, ecology, and elephants, it is a great place. Africa! Approaching wild enormous animals a couple of yards away like in wild life films, a picture dream! There is the problem. The danger is bigger than they think, the life of the elephants is threatened, as should an accident happen the herd would be jeopardised. An accident could (and have happened, the pool next to the restaurant in the guest area has been destroyed by thirsty animals) endanger all, elephants and tourists. Why? For the total non-respect of basic ecological rules: do not create an artificial waterhole, if there is no water, a small quantity of it brought by truck every day is not the answer, when the water runs out and elephants still look for water and smell the pole, a problem is created. No warning or protection of the tourists. Even tour operators do not warn their clients of the eminent danger.
Do not take my review as a greeny looking for doom and gloom, I love the bush, I love elephants and the lodge jeopardise both and the tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LaReyniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I recently camped at Elephant Sands as part of an Acacia Africa tour. This lodge/camp site is definitely in the middle of nowhere however for me this really added to the experience. I loved the serenity and peacefulness. It was exactly what I had needed after a few chaotic weeks. I was swimming in the pool and elephants approached the water hole, I was then reading my book an hr or so later and more elephants appeared.. whilst eating dinner there were elephants only metres away! To be so close to the elephants in their natural environment was sensational. You do need to be careful however and take care when walking to and from the bar/bathroom to your campsite. One evening an elephant was right in front of our truck and very close to the tents. Ensure that you do not keep fruit inside the tent as this may attract the elephants. Although the location may not be ideal for some and the showers were only drizzles of water, my experience at Elephant Sands was definitely a very enjoyable one and a highlight of my trip to Africa. Wifi was also poor but when you're in Africa, really does wifi even matter?

Room Tip: I camped so unfortunately I have no idea what the rooms were like. Camping was very enjoyable though and added to the safari experience.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahB0wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Campsite has ablutions. No drinking water or electricity. Restaurant/bar by the pool, wifi internet during daylighthours as electricity comes from solar panels. It's an okay place to stay - until the elephants show up! There's a waterhole right in front of the terrace by the pool/bar, and that's where the elephants come to drink. They get within 5 meters of you, with no fences, just the step to the terrace -which is too hight for them to walk up- so quite safe. Just beware, because they are also known to wander through the campsite.
2WD no problem when dry

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Elephant Sands was recommended to us and what a place. We were told we would see 30 or more elephant and we did. The little chalets were great and all overlook the waterhole as does the bar/restaurant where elephants congrgate. You could have reached out and touched them they were that close, infact one tried to get in the resataurant. Need to be carefull when walking around thats for sure. Food was good if a little disorganised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vengavamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Arrived at Elephant Sands 13th December for a two night stop. Had some lovely sightings of Elephants coming down to drink at water hole on both evenings. Travelers from foreign countries did spoil it a bit for others as they do seem to get a bit over excited and lots of screaming and shouting which does put the elephants on edge. Camp sites very basic and one can park and camp just about anywhere. Ablutions are of a fair standard. Nice stop for a quick stop before carrying on with ones journey.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews