We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stop over”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elephant Sands Botswana
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nata
Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A stop over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a stop over place for a night. We stayed for two nights.not enough to keep you interested. Comfortable beds now but often their man who feeds the boilers simply didn't do his job and we went out ourselves to feed the boiler with wood. Food ok, limited choice but well prepared. If you go in the winter be prepared as the chalets get very cold in the night and early morning
Due to their design. Big game limited but excellent bird life all around. Good for the price and an alternative to the rip-off prices in Chobe and Vic Falls. Frank will take you on a nice game drive and even for experienced safari buffs can give good info.

Room Tip: 1& 2facing the water hole but all of them have a decent bush feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    139
    68
    21
    23
See reviews for
96
130
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Luckily we arrived there early enough to see some elephants at the waterhole right in front of the terrace. It's an amazing experience to stand less than 10m in front of an elephant-bull.

Accommodation was basic, the mossy-net hopefully renewed by now, outdoor ensuite bathroom with very salty water but we spent most of the time on the terrace anyway.
Dinner and b'fast was good, surprisingly good, given the remoteness of the place.

Service was friendly but slow, internet working but slow too,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vielreisende R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Elephant Sands is just the most wonderful and amazing place that I have been to to date. Where else can you sit and relax in peaceful surroundings while consuming a nice cold drink sitting by a fire watching Elephant come and go throughout the day and night, at times no more than a few mere meet away. You also get the added bonus of them walking right past your rooms or tent.

The rooms are rustic in design and are within view of the watering hole and offer great views of any animal that fancies a drink.

The bar and food are fantastic and the staff are willing to help with anything and make you feel very welcome on arrival.

The only downside to my stay was the very short time I was there, I was sad to leave and I and already planning my next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zebsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A great place to see elephants at a close distance direct at a water hole. The next morning over 15 wild dogs were laying around... just amazing!!
We had a great service (food, drinks, chat with the employees) including a private drive to the salt pan.

The rooms are OK (mattresses should be changed and the shower was cold, salty and no pressure).

PS: a sign direct at the street would be great, otherwise you may miss it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

A unique place, you won't get closer to watching elephants who come to drink at the waterhole, and walk right past your cabin.
The restaurant (compliments for the zambian cook!) had the best food we ever experienced on all our holidays, really fantastic.
The soggy, lumpy mattresses were the worst we experienced on all our holidays.

Room Tip: No electricity here, the generator stops at 2200. Wifi until then, but all concentrated around a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BantryBayGuesth0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at elephant sands, the staff was very helpfull and friendly, the bar had cold beers and there were plenty of elephants at the waterhole. The food was good at the restaurant. The chalets needed some maintenance. The chalets got hot in the evenings but not too uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiasSuurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were so lucky to stumble upon this place during our travels in Bots. So much fun, and the manager Roan was very, very accommodating to my group of 8 people. The Chalets were nice, but be sure to bundle up if you come during winter! Also, be PATIENT with the showers...the take some time to get warm. But hey, TIA.

Hopefully, though, you won't spend too much time in your chalet. The watering hole and lodge is where all the action is at. We must have saw 200 elephant in the course of one night come and go at the watering hole. At midnight, there was a pretty epic showdown between the eles and a kudu. All of this while enjoying a reasonably priced beer and a roaring fire...truly magical.

Food was good, as well. Breakfast was particularly delicious, and they let us braii on our second night, which was very considerate of our wallets!

Overall, worth every penny. A really basic, humbling African experience in the middle of the bush. Just what I wanted. Thank you from Fordham University, Elephant Sands. You won't be forgotten.

Room Tip: -Bring layers if it's winter -Be patient with the showers -Be comfortable hearing elephant aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nata
33.0 mi away
Pelican Lodge & Camping
0.0 mi away
Northgate Lodge
Northgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Nata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
164.1 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Qhwigaba Guest Lodge
Qhwigaba Guest Lodge
#10 of 16 in Maun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#16 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Sands Botswana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Sands Botswana

Property: Elephant Sands Botswana
Address: Nata Kasane Road | 53 kilometeres north of Nata, Nata, Botswana
Location: Botswana > Central District > Nata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nata
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Elephant Sands Botswana Hotel Nata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing