We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home in a beautiful setting”
other travelers have booked this property
South facing garden and sun terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing garden and sun terrace
Another view from the pool. View from the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
South facing garden and sun terrace
Another view from the pool.
View from the pool
Our comfy lounge at Christmas
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
Concarneau, about 40 minutes away
Family bathroom
The beach at the lake
Wood fired pizza oven, create your own masterpieces
Quimper, about 40 minutes away
Our favorite beach at Guidel, about 40 minutes away
Bedroom 3
The lake at sunset
The nest, a small bedroom accessed via the master bedroom
The dining area
Lane to the lake and our woodland
Sleep under stars on a comfy double bed in a handmade Yurt.
Festival day in a nearby town.
Yurt interior. if you want to use the Yurt please check it is free when you book the barn.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Langonnet, Morbihan, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Laura V
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I stayed here with a group of friends in May and had an absolutely fantastic long weekend. The house is a real home from home - comfortable, spacious and with everything you need for a perfect self catering holiday. Little touches such as the quirky antique furniture and the homemade pizza oven make it a unique place to stay. As do Niki and Miles who are a great source of local knowledge (the bakery in the nearby village really do bake excellent pastries and baguettes!). I plan to return next year with a baby in tow to check out the pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed nature of the hosts and how homely it felt.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review and congratulations on the new arrival. We look forward to seeing you all in 2016. I have the cot and high chair ready!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed in this beautiful house with a group of friends in early summer. It's set in a peaceful and beautiful area of French countryside, just outside a pretty town and within a couple of minutes walk of a lovely lake (with beach!) for swimming. The house itself has been very lovingly and sympathetically restored; it's very comfortable and was a perfect space for a group of friends. It has large indoor and outdoor dining areas and a brilliant pizza oven. The swimming pool was just being finished while we were there, it looks fantastic and will be returning to try it out. The owners are really friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, and they have lots of good tips for the area. My favourite was the coastal town of Vannes, which has an amazing food market and sells delicious fresh seafood which can be brought back and cooked at the house. We will be back!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thanks so much. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and the Fruit de Mer night will go down in legend. Really look forward to seeing you and your friends again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess K
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, gorgeous surroundings, totally relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed in The Ancient Dwelling with a group of friends in May. Six of us stayed, very comfortably, in the house - there was more than enough room for us all and even room around the dining table for another group of friends to join us for dinner.

The Kirkes have done an incredible job renovating what was a derelict out-house into a beautiful home. It has all the mod-cons you want for a comfortable stay but they've managed to retain all the character of the building.

We had great fun using the homemade pizza oven, playing with the resident dogs, cats, chickens and geese (!), and exploring the villages and towns nearby.

I had such an incredible time I'm heading back again in August and can't wait to try out the new pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Thank you for your review. It was great to see you and your friends. What a smashing bunch. Having fourteen around the dining table was a first for us but I think it was hugely successful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillHoon
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in rural Brittany”
Reviewed May 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed here with a group of friends for a few nights on a visit back to Europe. Got the ferry over and drove for about an hour or so down into Brittany. Situated in incredibly peaceful countryside, was a perfect spot for bike rides along quiet roads, stopping for beer and baguettes in local villages along the way. The nearest village is a short bike ride/walk away, with bakery, newsagent and pub. There’s also a local restaurant that offers take away, serving great French food (with loads of chips), the duck was my personal favourite. There’s a small town a little further on, which is slightly larger with more shops etc, although we found it best to drive there. There is a lake about 5-10 minutes walk away, very quiet and peaceful – and you’re allowed to swim there too. The coast isn’t too far away, but we didn’t feel the need to drive there in the end, happy enough to wander about the local forests, picnic at the lake, ride our bikes around the country roads and get a feeling of life in rural Brittany.

The house itself was just as described. A really nice renovated farmhouse that felt like a home straight away. The kitchen is open plan, so everyone can get involved, there’s a big table that serves very well for big group meals, playing cards etc. The beds were all comfortable, the bathroom was neat and clean and I can’t think of a bad thing to say about the place. The hosts were really friendly, and happy to tell us where to go/buy things etc. and what to do whenever we asked, but for the most part we kept ourselves to ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful farmstead in the Brittany Countryside”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

My friend and I stayed in the guesthouse in October 2014. The Guesthouse is massive with a table tennis table, kitchen, fireplace and multiple bedrooms. It's beautifully decorated and has a real rustic french feel. The farmstead is located in the Brittany countryside near a beautiful lake and the local town has amazing food and colourful characters. The Kirke's are a very friendly family and very welcoming. I'd recommend staying there to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding countryside
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All you could hope for in a French countryside break.”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived late in the evening,and received an enthusiastic welcome and introduction to the property which was very clean, well equipped and comfortable, with a "French" feel about it.The village was close-by, just on the other side of the lake which is at the bottom of the track which runs by the property.We walked with our spaniel to the village each day to buy our bread and croissants and one day we went on bikes.
The barn is in a very quiet and peaceful part of Brittany but close to many places to visit for a day out - our favourite place was Huelgoat and its forest.We did not use the swimming pool, but did make pizza in the outside oven which was great fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet country feel of the property
Liked least: The idea of a shared swimming pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike B
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
“Perfect for a relaxed holiday”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

I received a very warm welcome in The Ancient Dwelling. Niki and Miles are lovely people who seem to have adopted the mission to spoil you as much as you like. They have good tips on exploring the neigbourhood, where to eat and what to do, where to go surfing, etc. The house is very cosy and comfy, makes you feel at home instantly.
The lake nearby is perfect for swimming and having a little walk. I could take the dogs along, which was great. Niki makes ab-so-lu-te-ly delicious food in their traditional pizza oven, but you can try it out yourself as well. And the region is just stunning.
I had a very relaxed holiday and I would like to return one day.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing