We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not perfect but clean and staff friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Brisas Paraguana
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Punto Fijo
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not perfect but clean and staff friendly”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed in 2 different poolside rooms ground floor. Noisy at weekends from function room. Food good quality. Staff very friendly and once you get to know them some do speak English. The A/C either on or off, it does get very cold if you leave in on overnight and I'm from Scotland. The A/C started leaking at the weekend but only fixed Monday when handyman came back, still worked just had a wet carpet that the maids kept coming in and hoovering. It is a bit out of the way and too far to walk to the centre, tried that and failed. The room was clean and the ladies always came up to ask if i wanted my laundry done. Room service very good. My main complaint would be the failure of the Wifi in the room, if it fails at the weekend may not be fixed until Monday. This means you've to sit in the Lobby and access Wifi from there. Was there over two weeks and although quite a few small frustrating events mentioned above I will be going back there next week as at least i now know how to sort most of them out and the helpfulness of the staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    15
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
11
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Brisas last week for 5 nights. The public areas are beautiful : The function rooms, main lobby, pool area, bar, dining rooms all were very nice.
The staff was very nice and pleasing.

The hotel is closed off and you get a secure feeling.

Taxis serving this hotel are safe.

Understood this to be the best hotel in Punto Fijo and the breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is excellent.

Wifi in rooms and in lobby and restaurants. Failure of electricity is common in Punto Fijo but hotel has its own back-up.

Food is good and not pricey.

Can recommend to all travelling to Punto Fijo.

Room Tip: Had ground floor and room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

There are not too many options in Punto Fijo to stay at. The Brisas de Paraguana Hotel is a good reliable alternative for short stays, mainly business. The room was pretty decent and very clean. It could be better if the owners did a bit of remodeling, mainly in the bathroom which had some discolored tiles and some cracks in the shower. The air conditioning is extremely cold and does not regulate. Eventhough the electric power is off and on all around the city, the hotel does have its own plant which supplies travelers with this basic service. The restaurant is very good with many good options in the menu. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, although none of them speak english. The location is good and far away from the busy and noisy main street which displays loud reggaeton music at all times.There are no comercial businesses around and the city itself is not constructed for walking; once you arrive here you must stay in if depending on taxis.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for one month while working in the area. The street side of the hotel is unlivable due to the loud music from the liquor store parking lot across the street. It's fairly quiet early in the week but gets progressively worse as the week goes on. Friday and Saturday nights are ridiculous.

Most of my co-workers got sick from the either the food or the water while staying here but l was fortunate and had no problems.

The housekeepers will raid your refrigerator as well as store their own food in it.

There are numerous problems with the rooms. In mine the AC was either full on or you turned it off. The thermostat didn't work and it leaked several times. A co-worker had mold in his room. I had various bugs in my room from ants to flies to mosquitoes.

I was unable to use my main credit card as they will not allow charges from this hotel due to numerous fraudulent charges in the past.

The only good thing nearby is a restaurant across the street (next to the liquor store mentioned above) which is excellent.

None of the other hotels in this area are much better from what I hear.

Avoid this place like the plague!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SlickFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

I spent four months in Hotel Brisas in 2008, as well as two months in 2006, while working in Punto Fijo. This is quite a large hotel, which officially has 4 stars, at least in the Venezuelan rating system. It would probably be a one- or two-star hotel in Europe.

The rooms are extraordinarily plain and furnished in a 1980s US motel style. There is a big difference between the rooms on each floor, so it pays to "shop around" for a good one. For two months I had a room on the first floor, in which the air con thermostat didn't work. This meant I couldn't have the air con on at all at night (too cold) and by morning everything in the room was completely saturated by the humid air. A room I eventually found on the third floor provided the luxury of a working thermostat and 24 hour air con.

The rooms are quite shabby and not particularly clean. Cleaning staff don't appear to have access to a vacuum cleaner (I certainly never saw one) and as a result the carpets are quite dirty, especially under the bed.

The hotel's basic services leave a huge amount to be desired. I experienced a week without hot water in my room. The hotel has at least one (and as many as a dozen) power cuts a day, although it does have its own diesel back-up power. The internet service is very hit and miss. I would say that there is a connection for on average 5 days a week. There is wi-fi in the rooms but it doesn't work at all. The lobby connection can be good, particularly late at night, but most of the time it is slow and unreliable. I experienced a ten day period with no internet access. There is no point complaining about the internet service; it is a very low priority for the staff, particularly as it is provided free-of-charge.

The pluses: the staff are very friendly, while not always able to solve problems - this is Venezuela after all. The restaurant (with the exception of the dreadful breakfast buffet) is pretty good and is probably the best hotel restaurant I've eaten in in Venezuela. The menu could do with some more variety, but it's more than adequate for a visit of a week or two. I had no issues with the food from a cleanliness point of view.

The hotel swimming pool is very small and is usually crowded with boisterous children, making it impossible to use it for exercise. There is no exercise room in the hotel, even though the hotel's website advertises one.

The hotel is very popular for conventions and if you are unlucky enough that your stay coincides with one of these you will feel completely over-run by hundreds of incredibly loud, jabbering delegates making the lobby (and the only internet access area) a virtual no-go area, as well as completely overwhelming all of the hotel's services, especially the breakfast buffet.

From a value-for money point of view this hotel is shocking. It is not helped of course by the completely artificial exchange rate of the bolívar against the dollar and euro. I paid approximately €90 a night and that was one of the cheapest rates available. Some rooms go for many hundreds of bolívares. A modest lunch in the hotel restaurant costs in the region of €35.

Having said all that, this is still probably the best place to stay in Punto Fijo. I didn't see anywhere better. If you have to visit Punto Fijo, you will probably stay here.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the restaurant food.
  • Disliked — The poor facilities (internet, hot water, etc.) and the room decor/facilities.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank an_spalpeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punto Fijo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Palmas Inn
Hotel Las Palmas Inn
#2 of 8 in Punto Fijo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
10.7 mi away
Villa Caribe Paraguana
Villa Caribe Paraguana
#4 of 8 in Punto Fijo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
#5 of 8 in Punto Fijo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Paraguana
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Paraguana
#3 of 10 in Paraguana Peninsula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brisas Paraguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brisas Paraguana

Property: Hotel Brisas Paraguana
Address: Av. Prieto Figueroa | Av. Manuelita Saenz, Punto Fijo, Paraguana Peninsula 4102, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Central-Western Region > Paraguana Peninsula > Punto Fijo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Punto Fijo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brisas Paraguana 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Brisas Paraguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brisas Paraguana Punto Fijo, Venezuela - Paraguana Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing