We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel overview - great experience”
Review of Kristoff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kristoff Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maracaibo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel during a business trip. Compared to the previous hotel I stayed in Caracas, this hotel was top notch! Lobby is clean, bright and comfortable. When I have arrived, my room was being cleaned. There was a vacuum cleaner working in the room by itself and the cleaning people were talking outside of the room. I was initially worried about the cleanliness of the room based on this observation but I was proved wrong during my stay since the room was taken care of good. The furniture and amenities in the room were great. I had a very good sleep in the bed. The whole hotel looks very modern including the room. Pool area is very comfortable. The only problem was the mosquitoes after dark. The breakfast buffet was perfect. All the food tasted very good. Fast food by the pool was also good. The staff was helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from stairs and elevetors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassit303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 312 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I spent here 10 days
there's a gym
nice pool (with bar!) and nice location
the room was clean and quite big
The line to breakfast was quite boring
Fair prices for this kind of hotel
Kind front desk
A couple of times, during the afternoon, there was no water to have shower but it's a common problem everywhere in Maracaibo
Because of the air conditioning you could walk in some area with 10°C (I don't know exactly but it was really cold considering that outside usually it was a 40°C day) but it's kind of typical in this city (the air conditioning commercial says "Maracaibo es la ciudad mas fria de Venezuela")
I really enjoyed being here
I would stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dario T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I've been many times here. The facilities are nice, lovely enviroment, nice bar next to the pool and in front of the lobby.

Cool: you can use the pool 24/7!!!
Gym has a wonderful view of the pool!!
Check out after lunch (1:00 p.m.)!
Wonderful location!

Good: front desk staff :) 5 stars
Nice place to stay is a big hall from lobby to the pool, some stores and an airline office.
During night you coul stay outdoors next to the parking lot.
Indoor restaurant next to the pool (indoor only, Taloba). Try the rissotto (kind of italian rice with mushrooms and white Sauce)

Not so nice: the rooms need more atention, many furniture details.
room service is slow

Not nice at all: poor pool service. this hotel use to have nice guys there, i don't know why management let this happen. Almost an hour waiting someone get close to our table and even more waiting for the bill.
Line to breaskfast. ??? And poor one! No bacon or mermelade. Try some Mandoca (brown sugar, white cheese and some tipe of white corn something) with Palmita (white domestic cheese). Poor service.

Room tip: always ask for the new rooms. They might offer you a cheap one, RUN AWAY!!

Security tip: don't walk alone during night, ask always for a taxi after 9:00 p.m.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuchot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I travel to Venezuela frequently for work, usually Caracas, Valencia, Maracaibo and Maturin. The usual quality there is mediocre at best. Caracas used to have great quality hotels a few years back but recently they´ve gone down the tubes like pretty much the rest of the country, especially Maturin where service has always been horrible be it in hotels restaurants, taxis, or whatever.

I hadn´t been sent to Maracaibo for over a year and a half, and last time I did I stayed at another supposedly 5 star hotel and the result was more of the same that I had grown accustomed to in that country. A man I met at the airport there suggested I try the Kristoff next time.

Thank God I remembered his suggestion and the name of the hotel when I had to go back to Maracaibo last week. THIS IS THE ONLY HOTEL THAT HAS AN AMERICAN QUALITY STANDARD. I stayed at one of their VIP rooms and was very pleasantly surprised. Incredibly chic. The service was very good, not impecable, but damn close enough taking into consideration the country you´re in. The pool area at night makes you feel like you´re in a posh South Beach hotel. I stayed there for hours every night. Trust me, you´ll find nothing better to do than that in the city.

I´m not really a blogger type person, but I must give these guys credit for giving me a wonderful surprise in a place I didn´t think that possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I was born in Maracaibo, but been living in the States for the past 10+ years. Recently used this Hotel facilities for my Wedding and personal/relatives stay. My wife is from Maracaibo.

Certainly the city has not many hotel options to choose from, this due to political/economical issues the country is facing at the moment.

The hotel is centrally located, close distance to most places of interest in the city, Hotel is renovated with contemporary look, rooms are very clean and modern, living areas are nicely kept, small convenience stores around lobby/pool area, couple of nice restaurants, nice pool area, overall very clean. Security noticeable at hotel entrances and secured parking area, something to look for when you are staying in Venezuela, Nice breakfast! Yeah might high in cholesterol for US standards, but that's just the nature of thel food from this region fo the country, I enjoyed it for a change!, of course you can also go with the usual scramble eggs, pancakes, fruits and o.j. If you prefer.

We booked different types o rooms from the most basic, to 2 queens to the deluxe suites. If you want a nice, renovated, modern look, book above the basic. Otherwise for basic needs you'll be ok. Both the 2 queens and the suite had nice bathrooms, comfy and clean beads, modern decor.

Service was very good, Nixi Franco from event planning did a excellent job and level of attention to our needs was outstanding.

I do quite a bit of international business/personal travel/hotel stays, and I must confess I wasn't expecting to find this quality of Hotel in my Hometown. Very well done by the management, honestly your best option to stay in Maracaibo. I might be coming back next year to visit relatives and might be using this Hotel once again.

Crown Plaza Maruma might be a tiny bit nicer, but in a VERY inconvenient location and on pretty humble/poor neighborhood, distant from most places in town.


  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GlobeTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Due to Venezuela's political turmoil and severe violence, it is wise to consider that the country lacks tourism, poor maintenance of infrastructure and especially lack of hospitality towards the few tourists that dare to travel to Venezuela's main cities. Therefore, considering the political situation, this is one of the few clean, friendly staffed hotel that Maracaibo itself has.

As a further matter, it is very expensive - do not blame the hotel itsel - but blame the inflation the country is suffering from which makes it a very expensive hotel for the service they provide.

Finally, the hotel is in a sort of " safe area" or relatively calmer area than other hotels, the breakfasts are decent and as said, do not blame the staff for being sort of unfriendly, but blame the political situation itself; so far is the best hotel I recommend in Maracaibo for 3/4 nights of staying.

Room Tip: For Venezuelan standards the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drs88bbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Pool area was great, nice and relaxing.

Rooms were nice , only negative was the closet area was not well lit , couldn’t see at night because of the positing of the room lights

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kmjr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maracaibo hotels
5.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maruma Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Maracaibo
InterContinental Maracaibo
#1 of 15 in Maracaibo
846 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Real
Hotel Costa Real
#7 of 15 in Maracaibo
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Cumberland Maracaibo
Hotel Cumberland Maracaibo
#11 of 15 in Maracaibo
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Doral
Hotel Doral
#1 of 7 in Maracaibo
16 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Maracaibo Suites Hotel
#5 of 7 in Maracaibo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kristoff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kristoff Hotel

Address: Ave 8 Santa Rita entre calles 68 y 69 | Maracaibo, Edo. Zulia, Maracaibo 4002, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Zulian Region > Maracaibo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maracaibo
Price Range: $43 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kristoff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kristoff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristoff Hotel Maracaibo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing