We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going back there in a hurry!”
Review of Posada Oleary

Posada Oleary
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maracaibo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Oleary
Ranked #2 of 7 Maracaibo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A group of us stayed for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were expected to pay the full amount in US dollars. We are Australian so why would we carry that? This was not stated anywhere when making the reservation. We were told the city bank could swap our money so we got a cab there and were unsuccessful. Luckily a couple who were with us had just flown through the US and had some dollars left so we were able to convince them to let us pay what we could in US and the remainder in Bolivars (their own currency!!) We only went to all this trouble because one of our friends was ill and we just arrived on an overnight bus from Colombia. This hotel is advertised as a bed and breakfast but there was nothing provided and we were told to go to McDonalds. There was not always water running from the taps. We weren't given anything to enter and exit through the gate at our own leisure which meant we had to rely on 24hr security to let us in and out, and he was not always reliable.

On the plus side, the rooms were very small but clean and the aircon worked well which is a must for Venuzela. The driver that they recommended spoke English well and was a great help throughout our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carm_silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

So when i travel i just usually pick a place based on an economical price. I just need a place to sleep. So I found this economical place with a great website.

I hadnt really looked at the rooms or the pics too much. When i got there it looked normal outside. but once i got in I felt like i hit the lottery! the rooms were awesome! super duper clean, modern, not too big but with a comfy bed, and a nice tv!

So many people told me venezuela was unsafe, which i think is partly true, i think its mostly at night. but i felt safe inside! (also as long as you dress down and do not show any valuables you should be ok in venezuela in the day.)

also I got to know the security guard, Cesar! we chatted alot! but he told me he really looks after his guests. He tells you where to go to get beer.

I got there in the early evening and wanted some local food delivered he got on the phone but the person that usually does that was not available so he helped me order some pizza and soda!

lastly the location is central. it is a block from the main street where you can take the local taxi/bus line to the vereda park and there you can take a tour of maracaibo on the tranvia for very cheap. or cesar or the person there can get u a taxi.

Room Tip: The single room is very small but comfortable, if you want to spend a little more ask for the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adrian_a_213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Johannie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patnumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
5  Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver53ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maracaibo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Real
Hotel Costa Real
#7 of 15 in Maracaibo
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cumberland Maracaibo
Hotel Cumberland Maracaibo
#11 of 15 in Maracaibo
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Maracaibo
InterContinental Maracaibo
#1 of 15 in Maracaibo
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maruma Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Doral
Hotel Doral
#1 of 7 in Maracaibo
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kristoff Hotel
Kristoff Hotel
#3 of 15 in Maracaibo
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Oleary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Oleary

Address: Av. Padilla con Av. Milagro, Diagonal al Hospital Central, Maracaibo, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Zulian Region > Maracaibo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Maracaibo
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada Oleary 2*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing