We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad but maybe the best you can get in Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aqua-Vi Suites & Marina
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Puerto La Cruz
Reviewed January 12, 2014

How do you rate a hotel that is far from meeting most of people standard for a hotel room but is given the context in Venezuela and especially in Puerto La Cruz, one if not the best hotel? I guess by positionning your rating like I am doing.

Hotel Aqua-Vi is located in the middle of a very poor neighboorhood which is ackward to have a marina, bud I guess it made sense many years ago when they decided to build the marina.

The hotel room had to comfortable beds but you can see smoke burns here and there in the room including on the cover sheet. There was a nice view on the pool and was somewhat clean given the standard in Venezuela. I say hair in the shower floor.

Don't expect soap, body lotion and any of that.

There is a safe in the room which I didn't use because you have to ask for a lock at the lobby and you have no guaranty that there is not someone else with a double. I am use to safe that use a PIN.

Aqua-Vie has a pool, probably the best asset of the hotel but even the water was not clean. Service around the pool almost does not exist and when you can catch someone, the service is slow.

The menu is limited given everything that is missing or difficult to find in Venezuela.

Aqua-Vi gave us vouchers for the breakfast which was nice. The breakfast is limited. You can of course eat Arepas which is a very typical meal but don't expect the american breakfast with sunny side up eggs and bacon.

I would return for the pool.

The pricing was right, 1,200 Bolivars, which turns to $190 using the legal exchange rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and i stayed at the Aqua Vi for a few days in December 12 The hotel backs onto a marina which is nice. The surrounding area though seems a bit bleak, drab streets, potholes, ramshackle houses with graffiti walls and rubbish everywhere.The hotel seems to have good security . Room rate worked out at about 750b a night which is either about £120 on the official exchange rate of 6.5: 1 or about £30 if you work on the black market rate which is 25:1 . Check in was quite efficient but nobody seems to smile and no -one to help carry bags. There is a little shop just by the entrance with sweets and drinks. General appearance is clean and well tended. Lifts worked ok . Our double room was nice enough with a TV reasonable shower, clean towels and some basic soap. There was no remote for the TV but we got one from reception. There was a safe box but you need your own padlock. The cleaners did their job ok but seemed a bit disinterested. The breakfast area was nice with a range of Venezuelan favourites like black beans, plantains, fish tortilla, arepitas etc. There was also the usual fruit,yoghurt,and cereal and juice but the coffee was never hot. Excellent pool and lots of sunbeds. The place didn't seem very lively but we didn't spend enough time there to test it. Generally we were happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Having traveled and stayed at hotels throughout the world, and knowing the Venezuelan standards and after reading some of the reviews, I was skeptical about staying at this hotel. That Said, I must confess I was Pleasantly surprised after my stay there. the Staff was Courteous, and very professional. Made me feel welcome, and comfortable. the complimentary breakfast was ample in choices, good quality and served by people that not only took the time to make sure you were content, but to the point on taking an interest in the little things like "is your coffee too cold?, let me heat it for you". But, beware, it is a hotel with a marina, therefore, expect some of that musty smell. Hotel management could improve there. It was clean, well staffed, and overall I would rate it more than 3 stars...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mczaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Forget European standards in Venezuela. Aqua-Vi is a 2, perhaps 3-star hotel. It definitely was a great disappointment. Rooms are large, but not cozy with really old furniture and acient shower. They are clean, but lack simple amenities like shower gel and shampoo. Don't even think of renting a so-called suite, as it is just a slightly bigger room with 2 double beds instead of 1. Regular double makes a lot more sense. Breakfast is really poor by any standards with no fruit after 9 am, and that it is in Venezuela! Avoid eating in the local restaurant any other time of the day, it is no good at all. There are a few really decent choices in Puerto La Cruz downtown (Paseo Colon).
There is no beach nex to the hotel, or to be more exact it is only useful for numerous boats and yachts. You can take a water taxi to one of the islands (Mochima National Park) where the water is clean and so is the beach or drive approx 20-40 km away from Puerto La Cruz to one of the local beaches, which are beautiful and offer a great variety of really cheap fresh sea food and local beer, but get really crowded and dirty during the weekend. Hotel pool is ok, but smallish and crowded with children. I would not recommend this hotel, but by looking at the photos of Gran Hotel (which is a 5 star), I don't see a big difference. I guess their standards are simply low in the area. Do rent a villa and a yacht if you have enough cash!
Puerto La Cruz is an ok town and I bet it is just fabulous if you are one of the lucky villa and yacht owners, but I wouldn't recommend it as a tourist destination in Venezuela if you are there only for a short period of time, however it was cool to spend a few days in the place with no foreigners! Do take a walk on Paseo Colon and check out the canals. Local Mall, Plaza Mayor, is also worth a visit, esspecially in the evening when all the lights are on.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ato-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las Habitaciones de cara al lado de la piscina son una excelente opcion a nivel de vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones con vista la piscina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Flor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Sebastián T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto La Cruz hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina Suites
Hotel Cristina Suites
#1 of 10 in Puerto La Cruz
147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz
Hotel Venetur Puerto La Cruz
#6 of 10 in Puerto La Cruz
173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maremares Hotel Marina & Spa
Maremares Hotel Marina & Spa
#7 of 10 in Puerto La Cruz
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aqua-Vi Suites & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua-Vi Suites & Marina

Address: Complejo Turistico El Morro, Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > North-Eastern Region > Puerto La Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Puerto La Cruz
Price Range: $25 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aqua-Vi Suites & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aqua-Vi Suites & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing