We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Catimar
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It'll do!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013. It was ok just about. The airport pick up was there waiting for us which was good. The hotel was ok. It was clean and safe. Not overly friendly but ok. We did arrive at about 11.30pm and were starving, the restaurant was shut but they did make us pasta and chicken which was good of them. My husband did want the risotto but the waiter was very insistent that he couldn't have that as it takes 45 mins to prepare! But they did cook for us. The room was basic but clean, the bunk beds were a little wobbly. The ensuite was dated but adequate until the water went off mid shower!!!! We also stayed at MUE VETEX VARGAS. Which was much better, similar price but more friendly and better rooms, the restaurant there is pricey but it saves venturing out onto the streets. Worth paying over the top prices for peace of mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    63
    118
    29
    40
See reviews for
50
110
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice because it was recommended and I paid the rooms in advance.

-the transfer: airport - hotel: if you don't see the van in the upper floor, you better call the hotel to verify the are going to pick you up. you might have to wait about 30 mins... even thought the hotel is close by.
hotel - airport: be clear at the reception about the time and be downstairs 15 mins before the time.

-The staff: at the reception they are not very friendly; I showed my invoice and they guy wanted me to pay... I have to explain again that I already paid for the room and then he "checked" in his system and finally found my reservation. Really??? so be aware you need to be patient.
the second time that I had to stay there I call a day in advance to make sure that everything was clear but this didn't help because when I got there I had to wait 15 mins until they found me in their computer.

- the room: the double standard is very small. the bed is so small that me and me husband couldn't fit I am 5.5 and my husband 6.7. So, if you are similar sizes I suggest to get a double matrimonial, a room with two double bed or a queen and a bunker bed. so you both can sleep.
the rooms were clean, the air condition works fine, the washroom was clean and had hot water.

I had stayed in cheap places but with good service. If you stay here you got to be very patient with the staff and have low expectations in general. Then you will enjoy your night.

Room Tip: if you are traveling with your partner and want to sleep comfy ask for a room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Catia La Mar hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've been to Venezuela many times and this is the only hotel we stayed so far because it is close to the airport and safe. we stayed for the next flight to Merida El Vigia and back to United State. Its not the best hotel but its good, the restaurant in the hotel have good food but don't ask for a rare steak they can't seem to get it right lol and the waiters sometimes good sometimes not good. we keep staying there because we're used to it since 2010 and the safely. the hotel is next to the beach but we don't walk outside at night time at all. we stayed there about 4-6x a year but in and out. they do have a free transportation but we normally catch the taxi to the hotel but use their free transportation to the airport, i believe it runs every hour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeylaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Ordaz, Bolivar, Venezuela
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a decent way to stay a night between flights, everything is clean, the restaurant is decent (and has a great view) and the hotel has free transportation between the hotel and airport (once you have your bags it's better to call the hotel to make sure they will pick you up). If you are desperate to go to the beach you have one just crossing the street (not a nice one but a beach at last)

Room Tip: If you smoke ask for a room in the 5th floor, there you can get to the roof to smoke and see the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not good value for money if you are from outside Venezuela. This motel should be used only for overnight stays in between flights. They had free pickup from the airport but they made us wait for more than an hour and only took us to the hotel with in a van with 50 other people even though the distance between the hotel and the airport was only 2/3 miles. The rooms and bathroom were clean enough but the bedlinen and blankets could definitely be cleaner. All said, this is probably the only choice for decent overnight stay in Caracas near the airport. Restaurant serves good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugal_travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It is a simple and cheap hotel for wait for your flight, the restaurant have a great food and the bedrooms has AC, and the most important, the hotel has your own transportation between the hotel and airport avoiding the terrible taxi service from Caracas.

Room Tip: Make some change at the airport, pay with Bfs is more worthwhile than paying in U.S. dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volmar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for a night before our flight back home from Caracas. It was purely a functional stay and everything was perfectly adequate. the room and hotel were clean and tidy and the shuttle service to and from the airport prompt and easy to organize.
The hotel is not in an area with many amenities, not really any shops or places to eat. there is a small beach at the front but is not really the type to be lazing on or for a swim. You can get snacks and drinks at the hotel but of course there was a make up on the price. I would not recommend the restaurant eat before you get there.

Room Tip: a single night is fine dont use as a base for your holiday stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lck_bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catia La Mar
Hotel Ole Caribe
#2 of 2 in Maiquetia
212 reviews
Costa Real Suites
#1 of 1 in La Guaira
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Las Quince Letras Hotel
#43 of 86 in Caracas
61 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#14 of 86 in Caracas
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Catimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Catimar

Property: Hotel Restaurant Catimar
Address: Av. Principal de Puerto Viejo, Catia La Mar 1162, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Catia La Mar
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Catimar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a hotel near the airport. The hotel is in front of the beach. We have a restaurant. We have Wi-Fi and TV in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Catimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catimar Hotel Catia La Mar
Hotel Restaurant Catimar Venezuela/Catia La Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing