We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap night between flights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Catimar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a decent way to stay a night between flights, everything is clean, the restaurant is decent (and has a great view) and the hotel has free transportation between the hotel and airport (once you have your bags it's better to call the hotel to make sure they will pick you up). If you are desperate to go to the beach you have one just crossing the street (not a nice one but a beach at last)

Room Tip: If you smoke ask for a room in the 5th floor, there you can get to the roof to smoke and see the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 271 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not good value for money if you are from outside Venezuela. This motel should be used only for overnight stays in between flights. They had free pickup from the airport but they made us wait for more than an hour and only took us to the hotel with in a van with 50 other people even though the distance between the hotel and the airport was only 2/3 miles. The rooms and bathroom were clean enough but the bedlinen and blankets could definitely be cleaner. All said, this is probably the only choice for decent overnight stay in Caracas near the airport. Restaurant serves good food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frugal_travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It is a simple and cheap hotel for wait for your flight, the restaurant have a great food and the bedrooms has AC, and the most important, the hotel has your own transportation between the hotel and airport avoiding the terrible taxi service from Caracas.

Room Tip: Make some change at the airport, pay with Bfs is more worthwhile than paying in U.S. dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volmar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for a night before our flight back home from Caracas. It was purely a functional stay and everything was perfectly adequate. the room and hotel were clean and tidy and the shuttle service to and from the airport prompt and easy to organize.
The hotel is not in an area with many amenities, not really any shops or places to eat. there is a small beach at the front but is not really the type to be lazing on or for a swim. You can get snacks and drinks at the hotel but of course there was a make up on the price. I would not recommend the restaurant eat before you get there.

Room Tip: a single night is fine dont use as a base for your holiday stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lck_bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very good hotel for a long layover. Situated close to the airport, cheap (as for Caracas prices), free shuttle, clean sheets, hot water, air-con, tv. If you don’t expect anything more (the surroundings are not very attractive), just want to get some rest between flights, it’s the best place you can find in Caracas. I arrived at 5 AM and although the shuttle does not operate after 11 PM, I called the hotel and a driver came after 45 minutes. Also, although the check-out is at noon, the hotel offered me possibility to stay 2 hrs longer so that I can get enough sleep :) I really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was impressed with this hotel, as I expected some shaggy hotel (just like many hotels near airports are) but it wasn't! hotel was clean, shower was amazing (nice, pressurized, hot water). price is excellent, location is 10 min away from the airport. The shuttle on the way to the airpot was not there... granted we arrived 4 hours late and could not communicate with the hotel (this is why I only rated the hotel 4 stars). On the way back to the airpot, the shuttle worked fine! 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I think everybody who stays there just stays for one night. Generally, the flights to Los Roques, Isla Margarita, Curaçao and Aruba are in the morning, what explains why so many people spend one night there.
It's not a bad hotel. It's just OK. Small but clean room and bathroom, air conditioner and a bed that is also OK.
No breakfast included, which is the only thing I think is bad there.
Well, as I could see by plane, Caracas isn't a beautiful city at all. So the location is also ugly, but at least it's very close to the airport. The good side is that they offer free transfer. For me, it worked perfectly. Nothing to complain about it. They warn people that it's necessary to confirm the reservation 24h before arriving there. I confirmed the stay and also the transfer, maybe that's why I didn't have any problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatianaRoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catia La Mar
Hotel Ole Caribe
#2 of 2 in Maiquetia
217 reviews
Las Quince Letras Hotel
#46 of 86 in Caracas
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Costa Real Suites
#1 of 1 in La Guaira
77 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Catimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Catimar

Address: Av. Principal de Puerto Viejo, Catia La Mar 1162, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Catia La Mar
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Price Range: $16 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Catimar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a hotel near the airport. The hotel is in front of the beach. We have a restaurant. We have Wi-Fi and TV in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Catimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catimar Hotel Catia La Mar
Hotel Restaurant Catimar Venezuela/Catia La Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing