We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is too expensive for what they offer. I always stay there one night when I need to travel from Venezuela. Before they offered free shuttle from airport but since 2013 they stop offering it. Rooms are big and clean. Need some maintenance of elevators and speed up check in. Food in restaurant is good. Not enough choice for room service, specially after 11 pm. Areas of the hotel are nice. The hotel is recommended for 1 night only if you must stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 766 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice while travelling to and from offshore. Overall a good hotel, nice comfortable clean rooms, with tv and a large bathroom, free wifi in public areas (you have to pay for it in your room) and a nice pool and café area. It also has a gym, however I didn't use this so cannot comment.

My one criticism is the restaurant. While the service itself by the waiting staff is good, the kitchen is very slow at sending out food. The restaurant was very quiet with only a couple of tables occupied yet it still took over 30 mins for a starter to arrive on both occasions I stayed. Ordering a sandwich at lunch by the pool was also a long wait.

Having said this, the staff are friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel overall.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markykark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had to stay there on December 2012 and January 2013 for 4 occasions, due to late arrivals and no connections to my my destination or early departure. I had no choice to book, since the Eurobuilding (better choice and nearest to the Airport is always full). The price is way too high for what they offer, the staff at the reception have no education on tourist service whatsoever. The food at the restaurant was expensive, but at least decent. The rooms are ok, clean and comfortable but not to the standard you expect for what you have paid. NO complementary internet even do they charge so high for a room!!. The shuttle service SUCKS!...had to take a taxi everytime.

Compare to the JW Marriot in Caracas that is a GREAT hotel, this one is a not the best choice, but if you cannot get a reservation at the Eurobuilding, there is no more decent and safe choice nearby so you have to get stuck with this one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family and honestly it was great comparing with all other hotels in Venezuela. The food was delicious. Rooms and facilities where excellent. The only problem is that it takes around 10 mins to get there and it could be a bit dangerous

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank csofia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, easily the best I have stayed at while in Venezuela. I usually stay there before leaving Venezuela and I have, so far, always enjoyed my stay. Good rooms, great food, and excellent service from bilingual staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

No need to travel to Caracas if you arrive oversees heading to Grand Sabana. Free airport shuttle in theory ( not always worked) : Modern intenational standard hotel close to Caracas Airport. Not a top class neighbourhood. Rooms are modern , mediumsized and clean.Free wifi.
Most of the rooms have partial seaview. 2 munites walk to alimentary shop with sandwich and pizza corner and bakery. Good alternative to hotel pricy restaurant. Free baggage room to leave them for a few days excursion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andras V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it is definitely a good place to stay around the airport. The rooms were clean as was the entire facility. It has a great swimming pool and gym. We were able to leave ours bags while we traveled to Los Roques - they then had a taxi bring the bags to the airport when we came back. It felt safe and compared to the Eurobuilding Express it was nicer - However the eurobuilding express is closer to the airport. Pay in Bolivares and not in $

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljavier34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catia La Mar
Hotel Ole Caribe
#2 of 2 in Maiquetia
215 reviews
Costa Real Suites
#1 of 1 in La Guaira
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Restaurant Catimar
#3 of 6 in Catia La Mar
271 reviews
Las Quince Letras Hotel
#44 of 86 in Caracas
61 reviews
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande

Address: Avenida El Hotel Playa Grande, Catia La Mar 1162, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Catia La Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande Hotel Catia La Mar
Marriott Catia La Mar
Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande Catia La Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing