We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to stay, near maiquetia airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Consider to stay in this hotel instead to go to caracas city.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with view to the sea
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertoColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 766 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

The reception was very good. Internet is OK if yiour gold or you have to pay for it. Breakfast was OK, but not for the price if you have to pay for it. If your Gold or higher your good otherwise it csn be pricy. Room was OK, but nothing stood out as being beter then average. Nice pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor overlooking the beach
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Good: 15 min to the airport, nice view, nice pool, you can charge the taxi to the room ( no common in venezuela )
No good: the service in the restaurant is the worst! We wait for a fried fish 40 min and was wasted, easy drinks like Pepsi and beer last 15 min, the people in the lobby have no idea what the wifi password is.
Let this clear, it's not the personnel, it's a supervision problem

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuchot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed one night before heading off to Los Roques. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the airport. How short depends on the time of day, as traffic around the airport is chaotic.

The room was perfectly adequate. The bathroom was large and included a nice shower area.

The hotel is right on the coast and has its own large pool. There's a nice bar with a large terrace that overlooks the pool. The restaurant is downstairs at pool level and has an both air conditioned indoors section (quite chilly) and a covered outdoor area that is better. The food was OK, and included some local specialities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We needed to spend a night in Caracas airport area, waiting for our connection flight to Barcelona/Puerto la Cruz.
Marriott playa grande is only a couple of miles away from the airport, overlooking the sea and a small marina.
Rooms are ok, food service at restaurant is a bit slow but after all we only needed one night ret.
Expensive as everything when you consider the official rate of change.
When needed i shall stop here again.

Room Tip: Require the cheapest available as all rooms are about the same.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KinPa_1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The star rating clearly does not mean a thing nowadays. This hotel would rate as a 3 star hotel in the US. The things that are wrong with this hotel has to do mostly with the rating it supposedly has and the money you get charged for that "quality", the location and most important for me, safety. They do give you a small safety sheet when you arrive but they should include to that list not to trust staff with your bags. We left the bags in our room while we were checking out and a small handbag had a French perfumes and souvenirs we just got in Paris. One of the perfumes was gone by the time we arrived to our final destination, which needless to say, that bag never left our side after leaving the hotel. So if you enjoy getting robbed at a "5 star" hotel, do stay here.

Regarding my issue with the location is that just because you are near the beach doesn't mean it is always nice. While you get to the hotel you realize you are in an enclave in the middle of a poor "barrio".

By the way, I was in contact with the hotel security staff and they promised to give me an answer in 72 hours. I'll post an update if I get any answers.

Room Tip: Get a room in a different Marriott, the one in El Rosal, Caracas is excellent.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed here at the beginning and the end of our trip to Venezuela. Very good hotel by Venezulean standards. close to the airport, helpful staff. There is a store and a cafe opposite the hotel. The cafe does great pizza so if you don't want to eat in the hotel there is an alternative. The pool area is very pleasant with sea views.We walked the area around the hotel in the daytime and felt safe.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catia La Mar
Hotel Ole Caribe
#2 of 2 in Maiquetia
215 reviews
Costa Real Suites
#1 of 1 in La Guaira
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Restaurant Catimar
#3 of 6 in Catia La Mar
270 reviews
Las Quince Letras Hotel
#44 of 86 in Caracas
61 reviews
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande

Address: Avenida El Hotel Playa Grande, Catia La Mar 1162, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Catia La Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Price Range: $97 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Venezuela Playa Grande Hotel Catia La Mar
Marriott Catia La Mar
Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande Catia La Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing