We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Casa Grande de Angostura
Nearby Hotels
Casa Grande(Ciudad Bolivar)
$106
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Ali Baba Hotel(Ciudad Bolivar)
Hotel Laja Real(Ciudad Bolivar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
20
34
8
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
34
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallfully air conditionedroof terracewatch the sunsetsmall plunge poollau laustayed one nightcomfortable bedsfishnice restaurantinteriororinocowifi
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 63 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Yes, the hotel courtyard is gorgeous, however the rooms are small (tiny double beds against a corner, making it impossible to get of bed without waking up your partner), very dirty carpets and freezing centralised air con that cannot be tuned.

The staff was not particularly helpful either. We arrived from an overnight bus from Boa Vista (Brazil) and although the hotel was virtually empty they told us that we could check in at 2 or 3 pm.

That same evening we asked them to call a taxi (you shouldn't hail a taxi in the streets at night) to go for dinner and after 1 hour wait, no taxi driver showed up and we were stuck in Casa Grande (allegedly the best hotel in the historic centre of town, even though it cannot guarantee to get a taxi on a Sat at 7:30pm). The hotel stuff did not seem interested in helping us to find any dinner; we asked for delivery, we asked if their restaurant would throw something together. All their answers were evasive, negative and non-commital. Finally a travel guide staying in the same hotel, feeling truly sorry for us, went to the hotel kitchen and sweet-talked the cook to put together some fried chicken and salad, for which we paid handsomely.

Definitely not worth the prices.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Monstita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Every detail of this restoration, especially the lobby, was well done for an aesthetic appeal. I was told it had formally been an ancestral home as well as a one time Red Cross Building. The bedroom was small but with comfortable beds and a modern attractive bathroom. Surrounding area a a bit disappointing. I had expected more in the way of the Historic Quarter of Ciudad Bolivar. The rooftop terrace was a better way to spend an early evening before dinner. In the atmospheric dinning room I ordered the fish which tasted very fresh came as a generous serving. However watching the sunset over the huge Orinoco River on the rooftop was a treat more memorable than the food.

Room Tip: There is not an elevator so you may want to choose a room on first floor off the lobby if you have a lot of luggage. A steep circular staircase goes up to the other rooms and rooftop.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meharvey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Newly renovated, authentic posada in the old town of Angustura,. Next neighbourhood still lacks the restoration. Close to the refitted main square. Rooms clean but bit small. Breakfast is modest, but good stopover between Caracas and Canaima. Gives the Cuba feel with the flats and houses similar next to it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andras V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Cute hotel in the older part of Cuidad Bolivar. It seemed like a renovated warehouse, decorated nicely with traditional furnitures, cute artifacts. Its situated in the older part of town amidst rows of colorful houses. Rooms are clean and well furnished, a bit small. If the restaurant in the hotel is closed then its a bit difficult to find a place to eat within walking distance. Not too far from the airport, only a 10/15 mins taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frugal_travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Really lovely converted building. Looks like it might have been a former warehouse.Comfortable accommodation.Wonderful view of the Orinoco from the roof top. Good quiet air conditioner. Free Wifi in reception. Room safe. Food OK, but nothing special. A good choice for stopping off on the way to or from Canaima.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews