We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place with lots of options” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Don Carlos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ciudad Bolivar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Don Carlos
Ranked #1 of 10 Ciudad Bolivar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely place with lots of options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a beautiful place in an old colonial house. Theres lots of sleeping options, from hammcks to dorms, to rooms with fan or AC. Laundry, kithcen use, wifi and computer, bar. It was a bit quiet when i was there, which was fine because i just wanted to chill for a few days. They seem to have got rid of the dogs everyone was complaining about, and replaced with cats.

I stayed in the open dorm on the terrace. You get a nice breeze at night, but i got bitten to shreds by god-knows-what....so suggest you put a mosquito net up if you have one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    42
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
2
38
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Check In: the maintenance guy who let me into the hotel was more helpful than the young, too-cool-for-school punk that finally showed up. He proceeded to ask what I wanted (pretty sure that was obvious and the maintenance guy had just told him).

He acted as if this was the first time the hotel had ever had a guest. He seemed annoyed and confused when I asked for a room with a/c. He walked away then came back and sat back down at his desk to begin playing video games on his iPhone 5. Still standing there I asked if I had a room. 'Cuatro' he said, not looking up. This staff sucks big time.

The stay: I'm trying to figure this place out. There are three drunk European men hovering around the bar and a bottle of whiskey. There is a well endowed woman laughing loudly in the patio and for whatever reason she just came and rattled the door to my room. That got the dogs barking. Now a man is playing a ukulele and singing what sounds like Flamenco. I'm putting in earplugs (my room is right on the street with no windows) and going to bed. Oh wait, now someone has decided to add a tambourine and drums to the ukulele Flamenco. Sigh.

Overall advice: come in, look around, it's beautiful, but don't stay here. It's overpriced and run like a circus.

Stay at Laja Real. It's not in the center of town, but is run like a real hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelMalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Canaima national park. We arrived on a Sunday morning and the town was dead, so we were just happy to find someone to speak to!

The Good:
The actual premises is gorgeous. The courtyards are fantastic, a lot of antiques randomly around the place. Bar room very interesting - a small museum!
Location not bad at all - just around corner from Plaza Bolivar but it seems to be dead around here at best of times let alone a Sunday (despite cathedral being right on it...)

The Bad:
Needs a bit of maintenance. Was shown to our room which had ac. Moved in and no ac :( So got moved and ac worked but barely. Ended up putting a sheet over the unit and tied to handrail and that (other than making a cool cubby house) trapped the cool air in the bed-zone for a bit. If didn't do that it would be pointless paying extra for ac room.
The was no drinks at the bar! It's a beautiful old room and there was nothing there except for a 2L bottle of coke??! Not sure why...
The guard dogs. I am a dog-lover so was happy to see a few of them lying about enjoying the courtyard. What was immediately apparent though is that all of them have fleas. Big time. We didn't have any problems with fleas in room fortunately though but beds were up stairs in a split level room. The biggest problem is that the rotweiler has a problem with people wearing hats. Seriously. We walked out of room and this dog just went mental and charged us!! We stepped back into room and locked door while the staff tried to calm the fella down. When the dust settled we were then told don't wear hats inside. You've been warned!

The Ugly:
The staff. People skills not their forte. The whole checkin process was weird. He didn't seem to care about his job or was too tired but so were we after an all nighter on the arctic express (once you've been on a long distance bus in Venezuela you'll understand!) so we took the room. Price quoted was more than the price listed as you enter the complex so had to pick him up on that. We then walked around looking to go to Canaima and nothing was open that we could find so booked through these guys. Was given a price then when came back was given a significantly higher price to which I had to negotiate down to the originally quoted price! Didn't have a problem lying straight to our faces about details of it and other details I believe he genuinely didn't know and got it wrong. Then got back and had to fin own way back to hostel and despite us making it clear we wanted to keep the room for our return and was written in reservation book, the room was given away. Well done guys. That was the straw that broke camels back and we left. I wouldn't recommend booking anything through these guys.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Posada Don Carlos, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I am very sorry, that you had such a bad experience at our place. Looks like everything that could go wrong, went wrong with you. Our dog even barks at me when I wear a hat and also dislikes rastafarian hairdos. But she has NEVER bitten anyone, otherwise she would not be in our guesthouse anymore. In the 11 years of operation we never had a break-in or any other incident and are the only guesthouse in town with this record. So she is there for your security and many guests, after a short introduction enjoy playing with her.
The week you came we had several power surges and two of our four aircons were out of order, because the compressors went bad. So we had all these rooms reserved, and you unfortunely were the unlucky one to receive a room with a fan. Again SORRY. If you ever come to Ciudad Bolivar again I promise, that I will make it up to you. sincere greetings, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I would like to recommend very much the “Posada Don Carlos” located in the old part (Casco Viejo) of Ciudad Bolivar, Venezuela. It is very save.
This old house, was completely renovated by their owners. In each corner you will find a very personal and nice decoration or small detail.
The patio invites you, just to relax & enjoy a cool drink. Not forgetting the old & cozy Bar, full of history.
They offer rooms (= they are gorgeous !) for every budget: spacey, with air-conditioning; or only with ventilator; or if you prefer, you can sleep as well in hammocks …
The Posada does not have a “restaurant á la carte”, but if you tell them in advance, they will arrange a wonderfully & tasty breakfast, lunch or dinner for you.
They are also very helpful with trips to the surroundings and can organize great Tours to: Canaima, Angel Fall; Rio Caura; Orinoco Delta; Los Llanos; Roraima; visits to indian communities, etc.
The owners & the staff are very nice, helpful and always friendly. Whatever you need, they will help you out, solve your needs & comply your requirements.
The atmosphere is very relaxing and secure. You will meet a lot of people from all over the world.
Résumé: a highly recommendable Posada. If you travel in Venezuela, you definitely should not miss to stay at the “Posada Don Carlos” ! I just loved it and felt like home !

Room Tip: all rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The posada is in a convenient location in the historical part of the city. It costs between 30 - 50 bols for a taxi to/from the bus station and around town. We booked into Room 4, a triple with a/c and private bathroom. The loft style room was clean though the a/c not effective. For a party trick, wear a hat around the rottweiler - not a whole lot of fun, having to make a hasty retreat to our room until the staff could calm the dog down and explain what happened. Apparently it's worse if you wear a mexican-style sombrero. We were very happy with the tour we arranged with the posada to Angel Falls. Unfortunately upon our return Room 4 which we had reserved was allocated to another customer in front of us. We chose to stay at Dona Carol Posada on other side of Plaza Bolivar. And despite this place having a shared bathroom, the a/c worked well and at a significant discount was better value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is like a museum. It's a tad overpriced compared to other accomodation, and you have to pay if you want to use the kitchen, but sitting in the courtyard makes you really feel like you're in Venezuela early in the last century.

- yesmads.com

Room Tip: Room 8 fits 3 people and has a kitchenette and a fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Callao, Venezuela
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent accomodation, beautifully restored colonial era building in the centre of the historic city of Cuidad Bolivar, with a superb hosts Martin (the owner) and Alvaro his right-hand man.
From here one can take the posada organized trips to the Angel Falls and Rio Caura.
It's also a short walk to the Plaza and a rocky promontory from where one has spectacular views of the Puente Angostura (especially in the evening).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Bolivar
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#3 of 6 in Ciudad Bolivar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
#5 of 8 in Punto Fijo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Carlos

Property: Posada Don Carlos
Address: Calle Boyaca 26 | Casco histórico a 30mts plaza Bolívar, Ciudad Bolivar, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Ciudad Bolivar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ciudad Bolivar
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing