We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad bit expensive, but a beautiful hostel”
Review of Posada Don Carlos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ciudad Bolivar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Don Carlos
Ranked #1 of 10 Ciudad Bolivar B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A tad bit expensive, but a beautiful hostel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is like a museum. It's a tad overpriced compared to other accomodation, and you have to pay if you want to use the kitchen, but sitting in the courtyard makes you really feel like you're in Venezuela early in the last century.

- yesmads.com

Room Tip: Room 8 fits 3 people and has a kitchenette and a fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
2
41
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Callao, Venezuela
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent accomodation, beautifully restored colonial era building in the centre of the historic city of Cuidad Bolivar, with a superb hosts Martin (the owner) and Alvaro his right-hand man.
From here one can take the posada organized trips to the Angel Falls and Rio Caura.
It's also a short walk to the Plaza and a rocky promontory from where one has spectacular views of the Puente Angostura (especially in the evening).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Martin, the owner, has an incredibly beautiful posada. It does, as one guidebook says, look a little like a museum and is a beautiful place to relax of an evening (in Venezuela, of course, you can't really do uh else). However, his staff were a little rude, and the guy responsible for transferring us to our angel falls trip tried to stiff us for an additional ride and left us stranded at the airport with no knowledge of what to do when it appeared our flight may be cancelled. So, great place to stay, but booking tours direct is a bit risky...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Ever since my first visit when I arrived at night, after having been lost in Venezuela for a week with minimal Spanish, it has always been a pleasure to return to Posada Don Carlos. It's a place of grand patios where time seems to have stopped in true Marquesian style. It's a place to enjoy before, after or in between trips, with help-yourself beer and probably the best wifi around the Gran Sabana.
Having been to Roraima and the Akopan tepuis before, this year we decided to take the challange of climbing Auyan tepui. Since our time in Venezuela was limited, I did all possible research in advance, contacting guides and fellow travellers. When Alvaro from Don Carlos heard what we were up to and offered to organise the 12-day trekking and circumnavigating tour for us, I was initially sceptical. I knew they'd been running shorter excursions for years but what we wanted wasn't quite the usual stuff. On the contrary, what we wanted was a tailor-made trek on the hard-core side, where every detail matters, and - to make it more difficult - in a small group of four, where price matters a lot too. In a country which runs at its own very special 'tiempo venezolano' where nothing is predictable, Martin, Alvaro and their friend Gert who came with us all the way, worked wonders. Yes, the climb was tough, much harder than Roraima and it doesn't get much easier once you are up on the plateau where a 5 km caminata might easily take up the best part of a day, but it was worth all the pain. Being looked after all the time, and knowing that the trek had been made as safe as possible, made all the difference (I have to admit that Gert's fresh pancakes under the El Penon rock for breakfast was a significant extra too). All in all, a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoltanRozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights either side of a jungle tour. The rooms are basic, but large, clean & comfortable. The Posada is a little run down, but charming and spacious. Breakfast is hardy & generous. Dinners are also offered and very tasty. Can not say enough about the staff. Very helpful and friendly. They arranged our jungle tour, helped with bank transfers & money exchange, as well as our onward travel. Would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Posada Don Carlos is very well equipped. The rooms are large, clean and include air condition. It is also great that we could do our washing. Posada Son Carlos offers a stylish bar and seating at a cosy courtyard. It is both quiet and safe. We were taken care of by the Assistant Manager who organized our trips, drove us to the station, bought our bus tickets and ordered a taxi service. He was available the whole day and also spoke English. After returning to Salto Angel, we took our luggage and were allowed to stay in the Posoda until the evening, have a shower and relax in the hammocks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gorgeous posada, good location for ciudad bolivar. The city itself is quite charmless but the posada is located in the old town which is the nicest area.
Rooms are very nice, food is good and the posada is close to a few restaurants.
It isn't cheap compared to other places in Venezuela for a private room but does have a budget hammock and bunk area which is very good value.
Just take care when booking tours as neither our angel falls tour or subsequent Los llanos tour went as they were supposed to. Angel falls problem was definitely not the fault of the posada but we were assured there would be an English speaking guide for Los llanos which there wasn't. Advise booking los llanos in Merida as it is cheaper and you will leave with your guide!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Carlos

Property: Posada Don Carlos
Address: Calle Boyaca 26 | Casco histórico a 30mts plaza Bolívar, Ciudad Bolivar, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Ciudad Bolivar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ciudad Bolivar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing