We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location and the views”
Review of Campamento Canaima

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canaima National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campamento Canaima
Reviewed February 20, 2014

There is a reason why they built the first Canaima hotel in this location 30+ years ago. Imagine looking directly at waterfalls with table-top mountains behind them as you sip your morning coffee. The location is absolutely stunning. And it is literally across the street from the airstrip.

Note that the name is "campamento" which means, literally, campsite. It is much more than a campsite with clean (though sparsely furnished) room, and a good restaurant. But if you are looking for Club Med, you won't find one at Canaima. Also, please note that all food and beverages need to be flown into this village, so you won't always find your choice of drinks and snacks.

It is part of the government-run Venetur operation, so it may be a bit difficult to get reservations directly. Go through a local travel agent (in Puerto Ordaz or Cuidad Bolivar) to get the reservation, for the room, as well as waterfall tours. On the other hand, being part of Venetur, it means that you don't have to worry about getting over-charged by the hotel.

Service is a bit slow, so don't be in too much of a hurry.

Room Tip: If you go in the low season, you can have your pick of the rooms. There is a huge range of views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aram F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Campamento Canaima
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 84 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We did Angel Falls through another company and paid a fortune - when I told the owner of this place what we paid he nearly fell over!

You may need to look them up as Venetaur which is the name of the company.

We arrived in Canaima and were originally to stay with Kavac. We drove past this beautiful place and the jeep kept going to a complete dump! We nearly cried but my boyfriend suggested we walk to this place and have a look. We asked if they had space which they did and promptly rung the tour company to get us moved to Campamento! In doing so we went from 1 star crap to 5 star luxury in an hour!

The staff could not have been more helpful and the owner really helped us out when our tour company again messed up and we missed our flyby. He went above and beyond to ensure we saw the falls and had a lovely stay when he didn't have to and we will be eternally grateful for that.

The food is good and the usual kind of all inclusive but is well done and the restaurant views are spectacular. There was also a string quartet one night which was lovely. They don't serve alcohol but you can buy it from a nearby shop and they will serve it.

The rooms are lovely and spacious and clean and you are given fresh towels each day. We had a single and a double bed in our room. We were in a room on the beach which was very peaceful and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed there during the summer of 2012. As one of us is Venezuelan we could afford going to Canaima with Venetur, otherwise it would have been to expensive. The location of the campamento is breath-taking so that makes you happy when you get there. The service is crappy, though. Super slow receptionists and careless waiters. The last day we got at breakfast at 9pm (it closed at 10) and we were left eating arepas and butter only. Such a shame. The structure should also be renovated and integrated more in the surrounding environment as seen from the water or by the bay you notice how it is just how detrimental it is to the general landscape. Again, Canaima is worth a visit but probably socialist tourism is not the best solution if you can afford something more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres_and_Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel room was clean, unfortunately I don't know why they don't use mosquito nets ( which could make things easier) so you have to fight with mosquitoes or worse to spray the room.
The bathroom was ok, you could find toiletteries but no hairdrier. The window could not be fully closed so you could always find bugs inside. The bed sheets are clean, towels as well. The location is nice, you have a very nice view of Canaima. The restaurant is also clean and you have a good choice of food. The staff is ok, they don't know much about customer service so you don't always get the answers or instructions that you are looking for.
As everywhere in Venezuela, hotels are very expensive, almost European prices so you expect european standards, but unfortunately this is far away to be the reality.
I think the price should be lower for what you actually get!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcyJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have travelled the world and have stayed in both high and low end accommodation. Due to the remote location, our expectations in Canaima were relatively low. However, this hotel is not cheap and is at the high end of the Canaima accommodation options. Unfortunately, the staff here have absolutely no idea about customer service and, worse still, were outright rude to my wife and I during our stay. On top of that our luggage was misplaced for several hours due to staff incompetence. I won't list everything else that was wrong with this hotel (and there were many other issues) because I don't want this review to sound like an angry rant. Suffice to say, do your homework and consider one of the many other options before you book here. The cost of this hotel is not supported by the standard of accommodation or the level of service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a great time in Campamento Canaima with my family during our Christmas break. The stay was nice considering that you are in the middle of the jungle with no access other than by small plane. Staff was nice and the day trips to Salto del Sapo and Salto Angel were phenomenal.

The trip up the river to Salto Angel will be an experience that I will never forget. The water was low so we had to jump of the boat several times. The guides were hard working and made sure everything was in order.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close to the laguna as possible.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PimPamGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice hotel inside the Canaima national park. Rooms are clean and basic, each with a private ground floor balcony. Hotel has beautiful garden and is situated right on the Canaima lagoon with a breathtaking view of the Sapo falls and the lagoon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frugal_travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campamento Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campamento Canaima

Address: | western sector of the lagoon of Canaima, Bolivar State, Venezuela, 5 minutes of air runway Canaima, Canaima National Park, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Canaima National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Canaima National Park
Number of rooms: 113

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing