We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Mount Roraima

Mount Roraima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The tallest tepui (flat-topped, cliff-edged mountain) in Venezuela’s great plains, Roraima’s fog-covered summit has interesting black rocks, pools, gorges and wildflower gardens to explore.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

the 6 days trip is amazing, you can get better offer from Santa elena, dont have to book via internet before you leave

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank outmanbiabiabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    19
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a sight to see”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

nothing to dislike once you understand you are not in the comfort of home....it is the beauty of nature you have comed to enjoy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank waldobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Roraima with Backpacker tours”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Amazing trek but it was really tough for me as I don't trek regularly. Think climbing loose stones under waterfalls and on all fours for 3 hours straight. Great views though it really depends on the weather and season you visit. Finally I would advise you to shower whenever possible, especially on the first night at Rio Tek because base camp river is too icy for a shower. Once up on Roraima the streams are at a pleasant temperature for baths in the afternoon.

I went with backpacker tours and really enjoyed it. My English speaking guide was Alisia and she was really informative as well as patient and careful. Only complaint was that there was insufficient food for the 10 of us trekkers. Do bring additional cookies and sweets for the long journey!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hike of a lifetime”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went on a 6-day hike up and down Mount Roraima with Backpacker Tours, which is based in Santa Elena de Uairen, Venezuela. The experience was absolutely incredible. The views were stunning, and the guides made great food and did an excellent job of safely getting us up-and-down the mountain, in spite of rain.

My only critique? The guides did not tell us much about Mount Roraima's rich history and ecology. Stories were few and far between. Having said that, I heard that comment about all tour companies that were on the mountain at the same time that my group was.

Three notes:
-The hike is tough. I would not recommend doing it if you do not work out regularly.
-If you can't get a booking with Backpacker Tours, book with Kamadac--my friends did and were very satisfied.
-When you book a tour, ask for the price in US Dollars, Brazilian Reais, Euros, and Venezuelan Bolivares. You may save a lot of money by paying in a different currency.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hwhite1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“when the clouds clear.....wow!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I did the 6day trek with Backpackers and would highly recommend them. Balbina was an excellent guide and Keivik an amazing cook. Balbina as always full of stories and singing traditional songs. Keivik and the rest of the guys carried all the equipment and made sure we never went hungry and brought us hot chocolate when we were soaked and cold due to the unfortunate weather. Great guys!

And when the weather clears....wow, what a view, and a landscape like nothing you've ever seen.

Do the trek, and go with backpackers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Roraima also viewed

Canaima National Park, Guayana Region
Canaima National Park, Guayana Region
 
Canaima National Park, Guayana Region
Canaima National Park, Guayana Region
 

Been to Mount Roraima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing