We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Risky area for credit card use”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caracas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puerto Viejo Hotel And Marina
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I went in a two day business trip to Venezuela and, because of high occupancy in the area, ended up staying at this ho(s)tel.

It is located besides a sewer river which drains the city's waste into the hotel's beach and marina in the early morning; tidal changes make the waste go the other way in the afternoon.

The facilities, per se, are clean and well maintained although they show the signs of age. The pool area is inviting, specially in the hot local weather but the smell of sewer everywhere outside enclosed areas is suffocating.

I had two credit card expenses there: the hotel room and dinner at a spanish-ish restaurant that looks like a lighthouse, not far from the hotel, but not attached in any way to it.

At either one of these places, my credit card was copied and then used to buy airfare tickets in Aeropostal and US$1300 in groceries! They must be starving, or bringing food relief somewhere.

Normally I would rule out the hotel, but this time, they held my card for a good 40 min. to "solve a situation with my bill"

I would recommend to avoid this hotel based on my own experience since there are better hotels in the area for similar prices. If you MUST stay here, or go to nearby restaurants, do not use your credit card and absolutely take the $2 a day "safebox lock" to keep your valuables, it might be even worse to carry them on you at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Joey_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2007

The hotel looks like it was really nice at one time. The staff was very helpful and friendly. However, it has two big problems.

1. The unbelievable stench.
There is a water run off next to it where there is drainage running into the ocean. That drainage area is full of garbage and just stinks of trash and death. this hotel is one where the hallways are all outdoors. When you are in your room, the smell is not as bad, but when you go out of your room to get to the restaurant or the exercise room it stinks really, really bad. It is too bad too, becuase you would like to open your window and feel some of the nice ocean breeze, but the air there is not fresh. It stinks!

2. Damp
It is very damp. The sheets were damp, The towels were damp.

Other notes:

The restaurant was acceptable if you are hungry.

We weren't there long, but the view is very nice if you look out at the ocean and the marina, just don't look to your right at the garbage dump.

It has an exercise room but I was unable to use it because it was closed.

There was no internet that I was able to use at the time.

Stayed: April 2006
3  Thank bokee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Rafael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keith0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juanifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keydril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kele86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#17 of 86 in Caracas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sabana Grande
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
#19 of 86 in Caracas
123 reviews
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Viejo Hotel And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Viejo Hotel And Marina

Address: Puerto Viejo Hotel And Marina, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Number of rooms: 107

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing