We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated...!”
Review of Hotel Avila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Avila
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overrated...!”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel is totally overrated, it was one of the greatest hotels in Caracas a long time ago but poor management has degraded the overall state of the hotel over the years.

The hotel is located in a quiet zone of San Bernardino, the climate is pretty cool and fresh all year around since it is close to the Avila. On weekends the hotel is used for events and weddings pretty often.

The common areas are average, it has a small lobby with a few couches to sit, a small bar/lounge with a flat screen tv to drink cocktails, a restaurant and a large pool. The architectural structure of the hotel is comforting, but its disappointing to see the poor state in which the hotel is currently in.

As far as the rooms go I stayed in a suite on the ground floor, the size of the room was decent, the furniture was simple but old, with AC and a ceiling fan. Sadly some of our room amenities did not work at all, like our tv and one of the lampshades. You could see the poor craftsmanship on the work on the walls for the water pipes of the AC, the bathroom had cracks in some tiles. The only thing that was truly exceptional about this room was the bed, it was huge, spacious and comfy.

Breakfast was included, a typical Venezuelan style buffet meal, it was great, and some sweet pastries and cereal and fruit for international guests. Keep in mind that this hotel is not cheap at all and its regarded as one of the best hotel in Caracas that is why this review is so harsh as it definitively did not meet my expectations for the price I paid and the expectations I had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josethernandezc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
22
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I think most in this hotel wa average. I got one without AC, and it was not a problem. The price offered by email was different from the price I received when in person. I am glad i didn't pay in advance because the price in person was lower.
Breakfast was included and it was pretty good.
They had parties going on over the weekends, so I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want to rest.
There was wifi but only in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Good hotel to escape the noise of Caracas - an oasis in an upmarket part of Caracas.
Close to the Teleferico and lovely Museo de Arte Colonial. For some it might be a little off the beaten track. About 30 bolivars from Plaza Bolivar by taxi. Not a cheap option and so good for mid-budgets. Can be crowded with conventions - especially at weekends.
The website does not work on reservations at the time of writing and best to ring to book ahead.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank nom001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in the July of 2008, for I was doing research in Venezuela. This hotel I found was comfortable, the service was relatively good, the rooms were also clean. Although, there was no air conditioner in the room and therefore was hot alot of the time. If you want a hotel that is actually without at night in Caracas, this is the place to be and it is quiet pleasant with all its gardens. They have a small internet facility, this can be annoying if you want to actually want to do something in a hurry, however it is better than nothing. The reception staff are English speakers, so it is good for when you get stuch with your Spanish and I found the concierage helpful when I ever needed a taxi into town. However, when you go to the restaurant I took a book with me, for you will need to actually do something while waiting for your food and if you order something please be prepared to ask again for it. The hotel quite a while away from the city, therefore there is not a lot of choices in terms of food. The travel agent at the hotel, named Jose Maria did not give me the correct amount of money needed, she gave me only 2 Bolivares for 1 US$, instead of 2.15 Bolivares. She also charged my mother and I double the normal rate to travel to Los Roques. Therefore, I would recommend that you not use the travel agent in the hotel. The hotel overall was relatively well priced.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

If finding a cosy yet reasonably price hotel is a real challenge in Caracas (this seemed to be our impression based on all the hotel reviews), then we must say we were rather pleased with our choice on Avila. However, but for the black-market exchange rate, we would probably feel this place is over-priced (or anything in Caracas for that matter). The hotel is situated in a crescent, kind of up the top of the hill, far away from the big streets and traffic. So it is indeed very peaceful (a little oasis as other reviewers described). However, this also means that you are not really close to anywhere on feet, or near the metro - taxi is the only choice. The room is spacious, with a long balcony, but the furnishing is still like in the 70's. The breakfast is in open terrace next to the pool which is sunny and airy, and where the wifi works the best. [For $$-exchange, the travel desk in the hotel may help you with that, despite the fact the rate may not be the best (i.e., $1: B$5). Alternatively, there are plenty at the airport before you approach the offical exchange counters, even some of the trolley-guys working there may well as you for exchange... So no matter what, get some $$ changed before you step out the airport as the govt ex-rate is just a joke!]

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janyvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We started off a Venezuelan escorted tour by spending two nights in the Hotel Avila, Caracas.
We arrived late afternoon after a long flight with a several hour stopover in Madrid airport.
Caracas is a huge city set in a valley surrounded by hills. Shanty towns climb up the slopes, with shacks literally built one on top of the other.
The Avila Hotel is set in a lush garden protected from the hustle and bustle of the city outside.
Our original room had a wonderful view over the city skyscrapers, but unfortunately we had to move when the toilet cistern flooded the bathroom, and we ended up in a room on a floor lower with the view obscured by trees.
There is a very welcoming bar in the hotel where we got to know the rest of our party who were going to be spending the following fortnight with us.
Dinner and breakfast was included in the hotel rate and both were plentiful.
Unfortunately Caracas is not the type of city where you can wander around looking for somewhere to eat, as we were in fact warned not to venture outside of the hotel gates. Even if the area appeared safe, within a few steps you could be stepping into a highly dangerous shanty town where gullible tourists like us are an easy target.
Unaccustomed as were to this type of warning, we heeded the guide and spent both evenings in the hotel.
We did spend a day touring the city with a guide, however there were not too many memorable sights and we were all looking forward to getting on with the tour of the country.

  • Liked — Peaceful location in Caracas
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Although Caracas gets hot, you can keep screen doors open for cross ventilation. We rarely used the ceiling fan. Amazing breakfast buffet. Safe location not far from downtown (accessible by a short bus or taxi ride). An oasis in the chaos of Caracas. Our only complaint was that we had asked the hotel to arrange for a taxi to pick us up at the airport. The hotel does not arrange this formally; instead, one of the employees asked a friend of his to do it - and the friend forgot. Given the reputation of airport cab drivers - including the official ones - nice hotels would do well to arrange airport pickup. Guests would be willing to pay more in order to feel safe.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — no airport pickup
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank profegringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
143 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Waldorf
Hotel Waldorf
#30 of 86 in Caracas
10 reviews
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avila

Property: Hotel Avila
Address: Av. Jorge Washington San Bernardino | P.O.Box 629, Caracas 1010A, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avila 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Avila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Hotel Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing