We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short business trip to Caracas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caracas Palace Hotel
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A short business trip to Caracas”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was in an ideal location, centrally located with several nice restaurants and shops close by. The hotel itself was of a very high standard and the reception staff were attentive and professional. Unfortunately the same can not be said about the waiting staff in the restaurant. Slow to react most of the time, the breakfast crew were clearly uninterested and not enjoying being on the morning watch! Lunchtime was no different where I waited almost an hour for my meal to be served - which is amazing considering I was the only person in the restaurant.
The rooms were very well appointed but I was disappointed that there was no wi-fi available and had to rely on an ethernet cable which restricted movement.
The swimming pool was magnificent and such a welcome sight at the end of a very busy day. The fitness and wellness facilities were also excellent as were the staff.
I was there for 5 days and despite the the comments made about the restaurant services I would highly recommend this hotel for the accommodation service provided.

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the 8th or 10th floor you are only floor walking distance from the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
13
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I spent two weeks in the Caracas Palace Hotel while on a three month business trip to Venezuela. The hotel was fantastic; from the comfort of the room to the overall property facilities. I felt safe as can be and enjoyed their fine location as well as the ever helpful staff. An exquisite experience. I was there at the end of Sept. of 2012 to the first week of October 2012,for two weeks just prior to the election. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. I have travelled for thirty years on business worldwide, and this has to be one of the nicest hotels and experiences I have had while on the road. The other 2 and 1/2 months in Venezuela was spent in a remote area with limited choices, while working on different power plant projects. Given a choice, I would have been glad to have spent the entire three months at the Caracas Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the 12th floor with a view of the hotel pool below and a wonderful view of the Altimira Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Caracas Palace is probably the city's best hotel, though North Americans may be tempted by the familiar names of Hilton, Marriott, Renaissance.

I have spent years working in Caracas, and compare this hotel to the Marriott, the Lidotel, and the Gran Melia.

The Caracas Palace has the best service, facilities and location. As visitors of Venezuela know, in general customer service is not their strong suit. But the service is great at the Palace - from the front desk, cleaning staff, taxis, and food servers.

The room was very comfortable, with strong air conditioning and openable windows. Large workspace.

The gym/pools/steam bath/sauna area is great.

It is well located in Altamira.

The hotel accepts payments in Bolivares, which means their $450 advertized rate becomes $140 a night when exchanging dollars on the street. The more you exchange, the better the rate. For example, if you want to change $1500 to cover a week's expenses, you'll get a better deal (19 bolivares) than if you want to change 200 (may15-16 bolivares). Check lechuga verde website for actual rate. Trades will charge you at least 2 or 3 less if your going through middlemen such as taxi drivers.

There were a couple of areas for improvement, The internet was slow during the day - I'm not sure if that is a city-wide problem or hotel-specific. As is the custom in Venezuela, they only vacuum the floors before and after you leave. After a six day stay, I noticed this.

Overall, it's arguably the best place in Caracas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the night of the Old Year to the New Year and the room was just beautiful and clean! The New Year's dinner was just fabulous! Breakfast was very healthy and the staff very professional and always nice to the guests. The hotel is next to the elegant Plaza Altamira and the view over Caracas is just wonderful. I felt right away at home and I will surely recommend this hotel to any one traveling to Caracas. Caracas has very nice shopping malls like Sambil in Chacao and el Tolon Shopping Mall at Las Mercedes and dinner at the fine restaurants in Caracas is just wonderful. Enjoy!

Room Tip: It really depends on the quality of the hotel! I recomend 4 or 5 star hotels if you REALLY want to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wowoberde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Although this is not the best hotel in Caracas, nor the best bang for your money, it's location and good food make this hotel a great option if you want to move around by yourself and get to know Altamira / La Castellana, Las Mercedes and other interesting areas that are nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magarutoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Caracas is not the most safe city right now, so a hotel like this is great, since you can do your dinner or just have a couple of drinks, the bar is very nice and nice choice of drinks, high class bar.

It is a bit expensive, but great service, rooms are heaven, confortable beds, no need to go out to have dinner and I do not recomend to.

Make your reservations with time, is hard to get hotels in Caracas

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avicultura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here the last few nights and it is an elegant hotel with a quiet -- hard to come by anyplace in Caracas -- and soothing ambiance. However, what I really enjoyed was the right-sized (and quality) customer service. If you're like me, and not that I'm anti-social, but you can do without the employees jumping into your path to embark on a greeting and turn it into 5 minutes of pleasantries, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
Altamira
Hotel The VIP Caracas
Hotel The VIP Caracas
#16 of 86 in Caracas
136 reviews
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#8 of 86 in Caracas
74 reviews
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
Altamira
Hotel Continental Altamira
Altamira
Altamira Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caracas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caracas Palace Hotel

Property: Caracas Palace Hotel
Address: Av Luis Roche con Av Francisco de Miranda, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > Altamira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caracas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caracas Palace, the most luxurious hotel in Caracas offers the perfect location across Plaza Altamira, in the fashionable Altamira district, in the midst of the city's leading commercial and residential areas. Guest rooms offer views to the plaza and the city surroundings. Facilities include three restaurants, a state of the art SPA, a health fitness club including indoor and outdoor pools, extensive meeting and banquet space, and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caracas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing