We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LIDOTEL Centro Lido Caracas
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I think the hotel is over-rated in the reviews on tripadvisor.
I travel widely in Latin America, and in Venezuela. This is my first time at the Lidotel, and I compare it to the Marriott in Caracas as well as the Gran Melia. I am seven days through an 8 day stay.

The only really excellent thing about the hotel is the great gym and steam/sauna area. As a gym buff, this is important to me.

I had a VIP room. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean much of the time (spotting maid service), the bathroom was OK (big leaks in the shower). Internet service was slow at times.

The hotel is connected to a mall that also has a grocery store, which is convenient. It is in a safe location.

There are two major weaknesses. The food is below average to awful. The breakfast buffet is very weak: cold, runny, greasy eggs, white bread, and always the same. The coffee is undrinkable. I invited a guest to the hotel, and we he had a cup, he gagged and spit it out. I ordered a plate of spaghetti one night, and told them I needed sauce without sugar in it (I am a diabetic). They served me spaghetti with a can of cheap tomatoe sauce with tons of sugar - and charged $20. Very weak food morning and night.

Service is oddly cold. No one makes eye contact, says hi or good morning, and so on. I can handle that, but attitude is weak here.

The Marriott is more expensive, but has much better service and food.

The Gran Melia is the same price, and also has better food and service, though its location is weak.

The only thing to recommend this place is the gym. If you're not into that, stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 183 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

I went there on a last moment trip, which I thought that could not get a decent hotel..... But let tell you that this is one of the best hotel that I have stay in my entire life.... I can hardly wait to go down to Caracas and stay there

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlos016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

I was really satisfied with my overall experience at Lido Hotel, as the majority of hotels in Caracas it's really expensive.
Breakfast is included in the rate, the food selection is always the same so after a week it really becomes boring, but the quality of the food is really good.
As a guest you have access to recently remodeled gym, with state of the art new equipment (Hammer Strength and Life Fitness).
I read some concerns about access security to the hotel, during my stay they just implemented card key access restrictions to all floors.
The lobby bar is small and with no ambience at all.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sole_Management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Nice hotel that is in a shopping mall in Caracas in front of the Embassy suites and a block away from JW marriott. One of the best areas (and safest) of Caracas. Small hotel with good service, very good rooms, a cheaper alternative to the Marriot. Good for foreigners

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Siroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIDOTELCUSTOMERSVC, Manager at LIDOTEL Centro Lido Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for talking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to strive for excellent service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2006

This is a boutique style hotel located above a shopping mall in Caracas opposite the Embassy suites and a block away from JW marriott. I stayed in a well appointed suite which was HUGE by any standard and very clean. The views however are not impressive ( my room overlooked and aboandoned lot).

The food in the restaturant was decent especially breakfast however there are several other dining options in the mall and in the surrounding area to explore as well.

Alhough my stay went without incident I was concerned about security given that one of the mall entrances was in the hotel lobby and security did not seem to monitor people coming and leaving however I was assured that hotel security has things well in hand.

As a guest you also have free access to a very modern and well equiped gym located in the mall. You can access from the fourth floor of the hotel ( if I recall correctly).

Overall my stay was good and I would stay there again. The property and rooms have more character than the Marriott or Tamanaco and the food in the restaurant is better- the Marriott and Tamanaco however have better facilities ( business center, pool, executive lounge etc....)

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Frank1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIDOTELCUSTOMERSVC, Manager at LIDOTEL Centro Lido Caracas, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for talking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to strive for excellent service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank CAPOTEROTE87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aallende045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#17 of 86 in Caracas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
La Candelaria
Hotel Waldorf
Hotel Waldorf
#25 of 86 in Caracas
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LIDOTEL Centro Lido Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LIDOTEL Centro Lido Caracas

Address: Av. Tamanaco | Urbanización El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela (Formerly LIDOTEL Hotel Centro Lido)
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#5 Business Hotel in Caracas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range: $102 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LIDOTEL Centro Lido Caracas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our flagship property, The Lidotel Hotel Centro Lido, is a 5-star property that offers discerning travelers a welcoming place to stay while in Caracas. Tastefully decorated in a classic European decor this centrally located hotel offers many amenities not easily found at other hotels within the city such as our Signature Lidotel Royal Beds, spacious accommodations, a full-service spa and the largest, most modern fitness center featuring state-of-the-art cardio and workout equipment. All of our guestrooms and suites feature a work desk with lamp, complimentary wireless internet access, large marble bathrooms and upscale amenities to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your LIDOTEL Centro Lido Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing