We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose a different hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Caracas Cumberland
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Reviewed January 5, 2009

The staff of the hotel ( reception & restaurant) is very rude and not willing to help. The rooms have never been renovated since they openend this hotel. Extremely dirty carpets, broken bathroom facilities and aircondition.
The breakfast is unacceptable.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank honestgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

First, the front desk staff also do the accounting and too often they were too busy with the accounting to address any problems that I had such as the telephone in the room didn't work and there was no hot water in shower or bathroom sink. They also state they have a 'bar' but didn't tell you that they had not had a liquor license for 3 years and could only sell fruit drinks. I stayed for 8 days and for 3 days stayed in their 'suite' which had a kitchen but the stove did not work and a shower/bathtub that you had to 'climb' into which a handicapped person could never do.

They only had two small elevators for a 16 story building which allowed for 3-4 passengers (less with luggage) at a time.

Their prices were lower than most downtown hotels. Now I know why. Never again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JCJ_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
13
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We stayed two nights here in June. The hotel is in a really unsafe area. The rooms were awful. I don't think they have been done up since the hotel was built- robably in the 1970's. The bathroom door didn't close, the bath was dirty and the shower was a trickle. The airconditioning unit was loud and the carpet had numerous stains on it. Only some of the lights in the room worked. The staff at reception were however friendly and helpful. This hotel is really bad value and my advice to anyone going to Caracas is to stay in Las Mercedes which is a much safer area.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2006

A good contribution would be if they close this place. Nothing runs there: The boring recepcion, bad (very) service, old rooms (even the baths), telephones...When you ask for some help, they give you the worst one(sometimes less useful, less rational, obvious solutions or the most expensive!) options. I never had been in a place like that.

Stayed: January 2005
5  Thank Ricardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2005

We were very surprised at the size of the room and there was no street noise to keep us awake at night.
We tried to book in at the Lincoln Suites but we had so much trouble trying to make the booking and even after making 4 long distance telephone calls to the Lincoln Suites we decided it was fruitless as the staff had very little command of the english language and we decided to opt for another hotel.
The Hotel Caracas Cumberland was just off Sabana Grande and there were many restaurants quite close to the hotel.
At no time did we really feal unsafe in the area except perhaps late at night when we would take a taxi.
We stayed there for 6 days and had a great time seeing the sights of Caracas which was arranged for us by the tour desk gentleman at the hotel who spoke perfect english - our tour guide was Rueben. The tour prices were very reasonable and the hotel accommadation price was very reasonable considering that it included breakfast for both of us as well.
All of the reception staff were very friendly and most of them spoke good english and were very helpful.
We found a restaurant called the Hereford Bull where the manager spoke perfect english and out of the thousands of meals we have had in overseas countries this was the absolute best meal ever and the price was very reasonable at around US$50 for both of us including wine and about 5 courses. We have been to many of the steak restaurants in the USA and all througout South America including Chile and Argentine and this beat them all and it was at a great price. We want to go back to Caracas just to go to this restaurant! Our second best meal ever was at La Barras in Montevideo close to the Holiday Inn Hotel. Hillary Clinton had dined there and they had a rather large photo of her on the wall with all of the restaurant staff being in the photo as well. Prices at this restaurant were even cheaper than the Hereford Bull and they sure know hot to cook a steak in South America and beats the USA steaks in quality and price every time.
In summary we had a very nice time in Caracas thanks to the hotel staff which were very helpful.... Next stop Guatemala City.

Tom & Dianne.. Coffs Harbour Australia.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank tonmtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank André B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leudo G, Director General at Hotel Caracas Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Santanaindira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leudo G, Director General at Hotel Caracas Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
Sabana Grande
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
#19 of 86 in Caracas
123 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#17 of 86 in Caracas
150 reviews
El Rosal
The Hotel Caracas
The Hotel Caracas
#62 of 86 in Caracas
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Hotel Waldorf
Hotel Waldorf
#25 of 86 in Caracas
12 reviews
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Chacao
Hotel Chacao & Suites
Hotel Chacao & Suites
#8 of 86 in Caracas
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caracas Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caracas Cumberland

Address: Segunda Avenida de Las Delicias de Sabana Grande | Entre Av. Solano y Libertador, Caracas 1000, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > Sabana Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Price Range: $20 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caracas Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Caracas Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing