We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Caracas Cumberland
Nearby Hotels
$149
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$48
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$63
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$324
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel(Caracas)
$148
$52
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$98
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$402
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alex(Caracas)(Great Value!)
$58
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
4
43
45
19
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
43
45
19
38
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 149 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

i arrived early in the morning 19th nov 2012 and went to the front desk. i did not speak spanish but there was a member of staff who could speak enough english. he said check in would be 2:30pm and directed me to a nearby restaurant. at 2:30 pm exactly i was checked in. i had to deposit 50 BsF the local currency for the tv remote. on entering there was a kitchen with refrigerator, kitchen counter and sink, and a cooking stove. parallel with the kitchen was balcony with a table an a couple plastic chairs. the view is of the city's buildings and the distant avila national park. then the next section was a den with a sofa and some chairs. after the den was the bedroom with television and wide closet space, and ample lighting. there was a touch tone telephone with a list of numbers for services and the reception desk. next to the bedroom is the toilet and bath. it was clean to use but i did not get warm water. next to the hotel is boulevard de simon bolivar a nice shopping area. i did not recognize the breakfast dish served at the hotel so i only ate milk and kelloggs cereal. i checked out of the hotel early on the 21 nov 2012 and one of the staff whistled a taxi for me. i paid 280 BsF to the taxi and was off to the international airport.

Room Tip: i stayed at 1302 on the thirteenth floor but i could still here the traffic and people talking loudly.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Im a Hotelier for over 25 years and I know whats going on in this kind of business, first of all upon arrival ( around 3:30 PM ) I have to wait over 40 minutes to get my room, i asked several times what the problem was and the only answer was SOON WILL GIVE YOU THE ROOM very bad attitude of all staff, rude and sad faces. Once i got my room ( i booked a suite ) the shape was horrible, carpet dirty, curtains old and were smelling like old, air conditioned old and not working property, sheets dirty, many lights did not work, shower old and dirty, water from shower was with no pression at all , did not have towels in the room, and when i asked was told to wait ( got the towels al 9 PM ) did not have iron and when i ask was told they did not let clients to iron in the room, and was offered to iron my cloth with the maid for a fee that i have to pay in cash at the moment, i had a meeting the following day so i need to pat the maid.
the free breakfast was taste less and i could continue on and on

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chepele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were advised not to go into Caracas and so just transfered through the airport on to our next destination Los Roques - everything was fine.
A friend decided to take the risk and went in to stay a night at The Cumberland.
She was robbed of all her money as she arrived at the hotel probably by the taxi driver and only just managed with the help of the hotel staff to get back to the airport for her flight out the next morning.
I would hate to be working for the tourist board of this country as it would appear that the capital city is now a 'no go' area for international travellers.
My advice is to fly straight through or at the very least only stay at the Hotels immediately adjacent to the airport which ,unfortunately, are some of the most expensive in South America.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Rooms are smelling as the carpets are quite dirty.The breakfast, internet connection and hotel services in general were quite poor. Rooms on the left side of the hotel are exposed to 24 hour noise from the large aircond. machine at the ground floor. Lifts are suspect, breaking very often. We did not have any problem in the area, and went out for walk at midnight. This hotel is not worth 100 dollars a day,

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Believe the horror stories about this hotel, it is by far the worst I've ever stayed in. I knew that Caracas was a dangerous city before I went, but nothing could prepare me for the sheer feeling of dread everytime I stepped outside into the street. It is situated in one of the most dangerous and crime ridden parts of the city, the Sabana Grande area. Even the home office warns people not to stay in that area, I found that out after I went there.

The hotel itself was rundown, dirty and noisey, the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful and hardly any spoke a word of English, the breakfast (which was included in the price was inedible. The only good thing was the restaurant in the evening, the quality of the food was much better.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stu-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews