We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aged and overpriced, but good service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas
Ranked #56 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
314 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Aged and overpriced, but good service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

After I heard this used to be a Hilton hotel I was looking forward to my stay here but I was disappointed by the old furniture, stained carpets and bedspread, and dim rooms. However, the service at reception (in English) was very good and breakfast and the pool were nice as well. Still I will probably not return to Alba on my next trip to Caracas... I think there are better hotels for 800bs a night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    53
    32
    31
See reviews for
26
42
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Was formally a Hilton, but is now a government hotel. Great lobby, stayed on 12 floor- Double room, B&B basis. Would recommend. If you are coming from the airport get the shuttle bus which is only 10BS.
PROS
Amazing service, each floor has 3 free wireless networks, cable TV, great location, good breakfast, great value room service.
CONS- none :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syrenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

The hotel provides a good sleep, a beautiful lobby, assistance in English if you need it, and a delicious free buffet breakfast which includes both Venezuelan and U.S. dishes. The staff is helpful and the location is good for anything you want to do in Caracas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Took four tries to get us an acceptable room (the first room they sent us to was occupied). Finally we settled on a room without a safe; took four days to get it working. During a busy weekend two of the four elevators failed, resulting in half hour waits to get to the lobby. The rugs in the rooms are quite shabby. There's no place to eat in the hotel on Sunday and nowhere decent nearby. The internet connection costs 40 Bs per day (USD$20 at official rate of exchange) for which you get essentially dialup speed. Sometimes they don't leave clean towels (but do bring them if you call). They don't even have a map of Caracas.
The location is OK if you want to go to two of the major art museums but otherwise not very good. Hotel staff will try to keep you from leaving the hotel at night due to dangerous neighborhood. This is exaggerated but there's nothing to do nearby anyway. One small plus is that there are refrigerators in every room. Another is that, at least, the staff is very friendly and tries hard.
In general, it seems whoever owns and runs the place is not willing or able to invest in a proper upkeep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodido47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caracas hotels

la paz
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Absolutely a mess. We left 3 days early. Staff was rude and service was the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel.
The hotel was run down and bad oders everywhere.
We did not leave the grounds due to the crime.
What a shame, the location seemed like it could have been a gem

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titopue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

Once a beautiful Hilton Hotel now a run down state owned dump. I booked in advance but upon arrival they disavowed any knowledge of my reservations and said they would have to charge me the "rack rate". It turned out the rack rate (one person) was over $250.00 a night. Shabby rooms, drab cheap paint, faulty plumbing,old tatty furniture from the sixtys, poor(expensive) food, dangerous area (I was told not to go out at night by hotel employees) . The staff moral was non existant because they were ashamed to work there . I would never under any circumstances go back there, even if it were free. It reminded me of hotels behind the iron curtain in the 60's, very depressing.
I was glad to leave.

Viva Socalism

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — condition of hotel and room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TexasGlobetrotter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and it keeps getting worse. During my last stay I was invited by another party, which had paid for my entire stay in advance. Still, the front desk asked me to submit a credit card for incidental expenses. When I left they did not provide me with a receipt, but they did charge my credit card for my entire stay. When I complained, they said they would resolve it, after three months of back and forth with the management, they still haven't reimbursed my credit card. this is absolutely the worst treatment I have ever received at a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greg0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#12 of 86 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
El Recreo
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sabana Grande
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
Hotel Chacao Cumberland
#28 of 86 in Caracas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas

Property: Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas
Address: Av. Sur 25 | El Conde, Caracas 1010, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Venetur Alba Caracas 4*
Number of rooms: 738
Also Known As:
Hilton International Caracas
Caracas Hilton International
Hotel Alba Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing