We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Recommend, but be careful of which rooms you book” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altamira Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altamira Suites
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Caracas
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
192 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Recommend, but be careful of which rooms you book”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

I've been to Caracas 4 or 5 times and would recommend Altamira as best place to stay, BUT, you have to be really careful because they have 2 'classes' of rooms.....the 'regular' rooms are not good and I would avoid those at ALL COSTS....worn, dirty, just bad. However, the 'high end' rooms are really nice, modern, clean etc. and I have to say some of the better rooms I've stayed in. Also those rooms have access to a private lounge which is great.
But, for sure, the best reason to stay at here is the rooftop bar - 360. It is one of the coolest bars/views you'll ever go to and even if you don't stay in this hotel - definitely go up there for drinks...it's really awesome....make sure you go all the way up to the very top (outside)...great at night or day. And the food is not bad either - they do pizza's in the restaurant up there.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
9
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

I've stayed at this hotel for two weeks. The place it's nice. the rooms are big. and it's in a safe zone.

The service it's average, the staff it's quite polite. The breakfast it's really nice and the food it's good too.

They have a nice gym.

I really recommend you this hotel.

  • Liked — The Gym and the food
  • Disliked — The decoration of the rooms seems old.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Montecristo_Guate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

I recently stayed in the Altamira Suites in Caracas for 2 weeks and found it to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. I speak a little spanish, so it was alot easier for me to get by than it would be for someone with no spanish, but I found that when I got stuck, there was always someone from the staff not far away, who could speak english well enough for us to understand each other. I often ordered room service, and found the meals (although a little expensive) to be fantastic. Well cooked and quite tasty. And always delivered promptly. There is also a fantastic little cafe / bakery just across the road which makes amazing sandwiches and salads, which is a much cheaper alternative to dining at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and well maintained by the wonderful housekeepers everyday, overall very comfortable ! The hotel facilities were great, the pool is in a nice shadey area, with waiters always nearby to serve you a cool refreshment, and the "360" bar / lounge on the top floor was amazing, with great food in a comfortable, intimate setting and an incredible view over the city skyline. (But get there early as the spots with the best views fill up very quickly !) This hotel is in one of the safest parts of the city, (although I wasnt brave enough to walk outside at night), and the security guards do a fantastic job of making sure nobody gets in who is not supposed to. They will also call you a taxi at any time of day or night to pick you up directly infront of the hotel, and I reccommend getting a taxi through them to avoid being ripped off or robbed. The only half bad thing I could say about Altamira Suites is that my room was on the side facing the street, and it became very noisy in the mornings with all of the traffic, and cars honking their horns, but thats just a part of being in a big city.
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a stay in Caracas, especially foreign tourists and backpackers (although I reccommend you ask for a room on the mountain side, at the back of the hotel) and I will definately be staying there again on my next visit.
Overall I give this hotel a big 10/10 !!

  • Liked — The freindly and helpful staff, and the great security - I felt very safe !
  • Disliked — The noise from the road in the mornings
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

Great location but terrible service and terrible cost for value. Paid US$380/night only to get very mediocre and unfriendly service. Recepcionists don't smile and are impatient. The suites are large but generally impractical. Very small bathroom considering the size of the suite, no bathtub and miniscule shower. The cleaning of the room is poor. The same nail clippings in the corner of the bedroom stayed there for the 4 days of my stay. They don't alyways replenish the minibar. Restaurant service is ok when you can get their attention. The feeling is that they don't like working in the service industry and that the client is an unfortunate nuisance but necessity of their job. They don't let you explain what you want and are always in a rush in order to have as little contact as possible. I stayed on the executive floor and the waitress responsible was always sitting and watching TV when in I entered the lounge on the floor. The internet connection outlet is located behind the sofa and they do not provide a cable. So you need to move the sofa to plug in and then you can only work on the sofa...very uncomfortable. Tried to get breakfast at 5am...only to have it arrive at my room at 5:30am when I was checking out. The high point of the hotel is the rooftop lounge which is well frequented by locals. Once again the service is much to be desired and they do not have almost half of the menu items. Do not recommed principally when one considers the what one gets for the price one is paying. Certainly not a five star...at best an extremely expensive three star.

  • Liked — Rooftop Lounge
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caracas hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2006

Generaly speaking, it is really, really bad. Old furniture stuff, poor and too expensive breakfast buffet, no customer service at all, try to charge about almost everything (be prepared and aware), often incorrectly.

A nightmare where you pay for burning in Hell.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2005

In my time of business travel to Caracas, I LIVED in the Altamira Suites
for approximately three years. My longest single stretch without checking out was March 18, 2001 thru December 10, 2002.

The accommodations are comfortable though not luxurious. The hotel offers all the standard amenities you could ask for.

The two best attributes of the hotel are the staff and the location. The staff of Altamira Suites treated me as though I was a member of their family. Every request I had was met with courtesy and positive reaction. From the manager to the cleaning lady, they were all wonderful people.

As for the location, Altamira Suites is situated in one of the safest areas of Caracas, central to most major businesses and with loads of restaurants and clubs close by. The excellent Caracas subway is only three minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2001, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2005

Administrative services were very poor. Other hotel staff were very helpful and friendly but front desk staff lacked customer service skills. The rooms are clean but not five star quality. My credit card information was stolen from this hotel and $800 worth of merchandise was charged to it. Be very careful with all information when staying at this hotel. Better yet, chose a hotel which gives you more for your money and good customer service.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaila255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caracas hotels
Altamira
Hotel Continental Altamira
Hotel Continental Altamira
#16 of 85 in Caracas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Altamira
Altamira Village Hotel & Suites
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chacao
Hotel Chacao & Suites
Hotel Chacao & Suites
#11 of 85 in Caracas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
La Castellana
Hotel The VIP Caracas
Hotel The VIP Caracas
#13 of 85 in Caracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamira Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamira Suites

Property: Altamira Suites
Address: Transv. 3era. de Los Palos Grandes, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Altamira Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Altamira Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamira Hotel Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing