We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melia once again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is another quality failure on behalf of Melia.

It just took one night to realize that there is a serious service issue at this facility.

The air conditioning system did not work properly, towels were stained and just make it even worse dust all over.

After several attempts, no one from the front desk seemed to care therefore there was no attention to my demands for assistance.

Again, it just took one night only to comprehend that charge paid did not match expected quality I was expecting from Melia.

A true shame that Melia hotels is not attentive to whatever is going on at their properties worldwide.

Happy traveling all.

Cheers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Gerente de Calidad at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive a cordial greeting on behalf of the Quality Department of the Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel. We wish to extend our most heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at our Hotel. Facts as those you describe are not live up to our standards.

We appreciate your collaboration to demonstrate us your dissatisfaction, because so we can take corrective action with the points that tells us.

Staying at your disposal I send you the contact of my office to assist you in any requirement for a future reservation:

calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@solmelia.com.

Sincerely yours,

Lorena Valera
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wasn't really impressed. We had problems at the check in counter with our credit card, took nearly an hour (and an overseas call) to have it rectified and it turned out to be a problem with the Melia's credit card terminal. No fridge in room, room was very dusty (vents etc), no toilet paper...I was really disappointed. Wouldn't return unless I had no other choice

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Mr. Lee,

Please receive a cordial greeting on behalf of the General management of the Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel. We wish to extend our most heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at our Hotel. Facts as those you describe are not live up to our standards. We appreciate your collaboration to demonstrate us your dissatisfaction, because so we can take corrective action with the points that tells us.
Staying at your disposal I send you the contact of the quality management to assist you in any requirement for a future reservation:

Lorena Valera
calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@melia.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I Stayed in this hotel for one day for bussiness. The rooms are very old and smoking is not permitted anywhere. You have to go outside the hotel. That's funny in one of the most dangerous cities I've ever been. The beakfast is absolutely incredible. One of the best things.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtGio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Mr Arturo,

Receive a cordial greeting on behalf of the General management of the Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel. We want to get our sincere apologies, concerning the problems cited in your stay with us. We continually work with our partners to ensure we provide the best quality of service to our guests. We appreciate that has expressed us your dissatisfaction; this way allows us to take corrective actions in this regard.

Staying at your disposal, please get the contact of the quality management to assist you in any future reservation request:
calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@solmelia.com.


Sincerely yours,

Lorena Valera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed another night on April 28th for one night on the red level. Smooth, fast private check in, clean comfortable room, delicious room service food. This is one on my favourite hotels. We stayed in 1614 with a great view of the city and pool. Can't wait to go back again. Thanks again Gran Melia.
P.S. the new elevators are really nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwyrwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guet,

Receive warm greetings from the team that integrates the Hotel Gran Melia Caracas.

We wish to express our deep appreciation for your stay in our Hotel and the valuable time has been devoted to write to us. Feedback and suggestions are of vital importance for us because in this way we can improve the quality of our service.

Staying at your disposal, please get the contact of the quality management to assist you in any future reservation request:
calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@solmelia.com.

Regards,

Lorena Valera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

CONS : The check in service was horrible, we were in a group and the hotel was expecting us, but they weren't prepared, took almost an hour to allocate rooms. Complete chaos. Also at checkout, there was more chaos. The front desk is a nightmare and was dreading to stay here.
PROS: Luckily the misery ends at the front desk. The rooms are superb to say the least. A little dated but they have old world style. The bathtub curtain railing was broken, but the maintenance guy was there in about 10 mins and fixed it asap. Room service was pronto as well. Had a very nice burger, with some very oily fries. Infact everytime we ordered in the service was pronto. The breakfast spread was nice. You can sit indoors or in the open from where you have a fantastic view of the mountain and cable car. In front of the hotel there is a nice pedestrian area just across the road.
Overall a nice hotel if you forget the front desk.

Room Tip: Remember to pay by cash. There is a huge difference in conversion rates. They don't tell you thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akshay_Wadke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Mr Akshay,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel as the place to stay.

We really appreciate all the good aspects you have mentioned. We actually feel so proud to know that you found some of our services amazing.

In the other hand, we really apologize to have not reached your expectations in some of our services. We would like you to know that we will take in consideration all these negative aspects in order to improve our product.

Once more thank you for your valuable comments and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and be able to reach all your expectations by far.


Sincerely yours

Lorena Valera
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It is located one block away from Sabana Grande subway station, which is very convenient considering walking around Caracas is not safe, and El Recreo mall is attached to the hotel. The room is typical of other Meliá hotels, all in classic wood and carpet on the floor. There is no fridge and no free internet connection available in the room. The breakfast is amazing with all kinds of breads, cakes, churros, fruits, juices and so on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Gerente de Calidad at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel as the place to stay.

We really appreciate all the good aspects you have mentioned. We actually feel so proud to know that you found some of our services amazing.

In the other hand, we really apologize to have not reached your expectations in some of our services. We would like you to know that we will take in consideration all these negative aspects in order to improve our product.

Once more thank you for your valuable comments and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and be able to reach all your expectations by far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have been there for several times and I always enjoyed all the services they offer. The hotel is very central and not noisy. Excellent food and wine. Prompt services. I look forward to going there again when I will be in Caracas next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taurus t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Receive warm greetings from the team that integrates the Hotel Gran Melia Caracas. We wish to express our deep appreciation for your stay in our Hotel and the valuable time has been devoted to write to us. Feedback and suggestions are of vital importance for us because in this way we can improve the quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caracas
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#7 of 86 in Caracas
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Caracas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Address: Ave Casanova, Urb. Bellomonte, Caracas 1050, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Recreo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#5 Family Hotel in Caracas
#7 Best Value Hotel in Caracas
#8 Business Hotel in Caracas
Price Range: $85 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Melia Caracas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Melia Caracas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Caracas
Caracas Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing