We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed another night on April 28th for one night on the red level. Smooth, fast private check in, clean comfortable room, delicious room service food. This is one on my favourite hotels. We stayed in 1614 with a great view of the city and pool. Can't wait to go back again. Thanks again Gran Melia.
P.S. the new elevators are really nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwyrwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guet,

Receive warm greetings from the team that integrates the Hotel Gran Melia Caracas.

We wish to express our deep appreciation for your stay in our Hotel and the valuable time has been devoted to write to us. Feedback and suggestions are of vital importance for us because in this way we can improve the quality of our service.

Staying at your disposal, please get the contact of the quality management to assist you in any future reservation request:
calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@solmelia.com.

Regards,

Lorena Valera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

CONS : The check in service was horrible, we were in a group and the hotel was expecting us, but they weren't prepared, took almost an hour to allocate rooms. Complete chaos. Also at checkout, there was more chaos. The front desk is a nightmare and was dreading to stay here.
PROS: Luckily the misery ends at the front desk. The rooms are superb to say the least. A little dated but they have old world style. The bathtub curtain railing was broken, but the maintenance guy was there in about 10 mins and fixed it asap. Room service was pronto as well. Had a very nice burger, with some very oily fries. Infact everytime we ordered in the service was pronto. The breakfast spread was nice. You can sit indoors or in the open from where you have a fantastic view of the mountain and cable car. In front of the hotel there is a nice pedestrian area just across the road.
Overall a nice hotel if you forget the front desk.

Room Tip: Remember to pay by cash. There is a huge difference in conversion rates. They don't tell you thi...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akshay_Wadke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Mr Akshay,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel as the place to stay.

We really appreciate all the good aspects you have mentioned. We actually feel so proud to know that you found some of our services amazing.

In the other hand, we really apologize to have not reached your expectations in some of our services. We would like you to know that we will take in consideration all these negative aspects in order to improve our product.

Once more thank you for your valuable comments and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and be able to reach all your expectations by far.


Sincerely yours

Lorena Valera
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It is located one block away from Sabana Grande subway station, which is very convenient considering walking around Caracas is not safe, and El Recreo mall is attached to the hotel. The room is typical of other Meliá hotels, all in classic wood and carpet on the floor. There is no fridge and no free internet connection available in the room. The breakfast is amazing with all kinds of breads, cakes, churros, fruits, juices and so on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Gerente de Calidad at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel as the place to stay.

We really appreciate all the good aspects you have mentioned. We actually feel so proud to know that you found some of our services amazing.

In the other hand, we really apologize to have not reached your expectations in some of our services. We would like you to know that we will take in consideration all these negative aspects in order to improve our product.

Once more thank you for your valuable comments and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and be able to reach all your expectations by far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have been there for several times and I always enjoyed all the services they offer. The hotel is very central and not noisy. Excellent food and wine. Prompt services. I look forward to going there again when I will be in Caracas next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taurus t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Receive warm greetings from the team that integrates the Hotel Gran Melia Caracas. We wish to express our deep appreciation for your stay in our Hotel and the valuable time has been devoted to write to us. Feedback and suggestions are of vital importance for us because in this way we can improve the quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Ok, I have multiple comments about this hotel, I have stayed 4 times, and it is worst everynight.

If you call the international reservation number the price is 2 or 3 times cheaper than the rates that they offer at the hotel or the local phone number. If you must stay here call the international reservation number because if you arrive without a reservation it will be much more expensive. ($209 vs. $450). Also do not use the internet reservation system, they tend to loose those reservations too.

I arrived to the hotel at 10 am. They informed that if I wanted to receive my room at that time I should pay an additional 50% of the night price, although I have been charged for "guaranteed early check-in", in no other hotel I have been charged for it.

Once in my room there were NO towels of any kind (neither hand, body or face towels), I had to call a couple of times to get a couple of towels. The safe in the room was not working.

Room service: Extremely expensive, not so good. I ordered a burger and it was lacking lettuce, the tomato was hard and very thick.

My previous visit my reservation was "cancelled" Apparently there was an event or something in the hotel and they needed the rooms, I heard a bunch of guest with the same complain. After 6 hours without a solution I had to look for a different hotel because they had "No responsability, since it was my fault that the reservation was cancelled".

Location is good, you have a shopping center next to it, so you can buy stuff and eat. In general it is not a safe area, so be aware if you are walking on the street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Gerente de Calidad at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Receive a cordial greeting on behalf of the Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel. We want to get our sincere apologies, concerning the problems cited in your stay with us. We continually work with our partners to ensure we provide the best quality of service to our guests. We appreciate that has expressed us your dissatisfaction; this way allows us to take corrective actions in this regard.

Staying at your disposal, please get the contact of the quality management to assist you in any future reservation request:
calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@solmelia.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Guaranteed me a price on the phone on New Year's Eve and charged me double when I arrived. I was stuck and was infuriated but they offered no help whatsoever. Took 2 hours to bring ice to the room. Furnishings are nice, bedding comfortable, but jacuzzi tub was in need of repair. Supposedly a 5 start hotel. Service was 1 star.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allenbenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Gerente de Calidad at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Receive a cordial greeting on behalf of the Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel. We wish to extend our most heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at our Hotel. Facts as those you describe are not live up to our standards. We appreciate your collaboration to demonstrate us your dissatisfaction, because so we can take corrective action with the points that tells us.
Staying at your disposal I send you the contact of the quality management to assist you in any requirement for a future reservation:
calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@solmelia.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed here 4 times now and are never disappointed. The Royal Service on the Red Level floors is amazing with the private checkin service, morning breakfast and evening cocktails. Definatley worth the extra cost.The staff are all amazing (especially Maurely) at nice lady working at the Royal Service Check in desk. She is super friendly and goes out of her way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is right beside the shopping mall which is very convenient and safe. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. This is the only hotel that we would stay at in Caracas.

Room Tip: Book the Royal Servie Red Level rooms. Worth the extra costs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dwyrwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Gerente de Calidad at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Receive warm greetings from the team that integrates the Hotel Gran Melia Caracas. We wish to express our deep appreciation for your stay in our Hotel and the valuable time has been devoted to write to us. Feedback and suggestions are of vital importance for us because in this way we can improve the quality of our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caracas
La Candelaria
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#15 of 86 in Caracas
144 reviews
El Rosal
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Castellana
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
Cayena-Caracas Hotel
#7 of 86 in Caracas
74 reviews
Chacao
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Caracas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Address: Ave Casanova, Urb. Bellomonte, Caracas 1050, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Recreo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#5 Family Hotel in Caracas
#7 Best Value Hotel in Caracas
#8 Business Hotel in Caracas
Price Range: $90 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Melia Caracas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Gran Melia Caracas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Caracas
Caracas Gran Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing